Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AQA A2 Law
Really great :)

My college supplied the 3rd edition Hodder education book written by Jacqueline Martin and Chris Turned (orange cover); and to be honest its not that good. (My college are switching this year to this one instead.)

The illustrative examples which examine each stage of the law are a really useful added extra. Though, I would possibly...
Published on 13 Jun 2010 by Ms. Jennifer A. Saunders

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not in colour and some of the case dates are wrong
This book that is for the A level course is nowhere near as good as the one for the AS course - which was great to use, very informative, easy to understand and well laid out.

This book lacks the coloured coded boxes down the sides that contain key words (in yellow), exam hints (in blue) and key cases (in purple). They're all grey and look the same, which makes...
Published 1 month ago by boots-2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AQA A2 Law, 13 Jun 2010
Really great :)

My college supplied the 3rd edition Hodder education book written by Jacqueline Martin and Chris Turned (orange cover); and to be honest its not that good. (My college are switching this year to this one instead.)

The illustrative examples which examine each stage of the law are a really useful added extra. Though, I would possibly say it is a little week on the synoptic part of the exam. But who really expects a text book to provide everything you need to pass the exam ...

So yes, if your looking for a text book for this course, i would highly recommend this one, good luck with your exams :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I would thoroughly recommend this new law book, 28 Sep 2009
By 
Janet Hardy-Gould (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is excellent. It explains the law so clearly and gives lots of useful exam tips from actual examiners. Buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not in colour and some of the case dates are wrong, 11 Jun 2014
This book that is for the A level course is nowhere near as good as the one for the AS course - which was great to use, very informative, easy to understand and well laid out.

This book lacks the coloured coded boxes down the sides that contain key words (in yellow), exam hints (in blue) and key cases (in purple). They're all grey and look the same, which makes identifying what you need much more difficult, and harder to remember.

Also, some of the cases listed in the book are given incorrect dates. Such as Williams 1991, when this case is actually Williams 1992. These dates matter in the exam and can lose you points if you get them wrong.

In Gittens 1984, the fact that he raped his step-daughter was omitted in the textbook, but it could be argued it was relevant to the case, in that the man pleaded not-guilty by means of diminished responsibility, rather than accepting that he'd murdered his wife and step daughter after raping her. Small facts like this totally sway how the reader sees the case and will use it in an exam. Simply killing two people after drinking and taking pills could be seen as a valid example of diminished responsibility, but the rape swings it back around again. When this is added to the fact that Gittens appealed his sentence (thus showing minimal remorse for what he did) it stops the case from being such a valid example of genuine diminished responsibility, and rather seeing this type of manslaughter charge as a cop-out.

It also says "a verdict of manslaughter was substituted for murder" making it sound like he was convicted of manslaughter and the charge was increased upon appeal, when it was the reverse - murder charge dropped for manslaughter one.

Also, in the case of Stone and Dobinson 1977 the book is really vague about what happened. In the AS book it says the sister was anorexic and needed medical care, in this book it simply says she was elderly.

This book falls way below the standards I have come to expect from the AQA approved books. I really enjoy working with this series, and do so in English, Religious Studies and Law. But this A level book is substandard and of poor quality. I'm happy to pay more for the coloured version, and I think it's a poor show on the part of the fact/case checkers for this book that there are several that are incorrect.

In the end I stopped using this book and used "AQA Law for A2 - 4th edition" by Jacqueline Martin and Chris Turner, with some additional help from the "A2 Law for AQA" by Sally Russell" and found them much better.

Bad call on approving this book, AQA, 2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Law text book, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AQA Law A2 Second Edition (Paperback)
This is the text book used for A2 Law. It is comprehensive and a good resource for revision. It contains all the cases required to know for the exams
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, essential for the A2 course., 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AQA Law A2 Second Edition (Paperback)
I've given this book a 5 star review because it does exactly what it says on the tin.

For the AQA Law course it is invaluable, I'm currently studying A2 Law and using this book day in day out.
It's very informative and covers pretty much everything you need to know for the course.

It was recommended to me by my Law teachers, as I used the AS version of the book last year.
If you're familiar with the AS textbook there is almost no difference between the two in terms of layout.
Although (it could just be mine) the one difference I did notice is the lack of colour in the A2 textbook. But when it comes to a textbook, you're not buying it for the pretty pages so it really doesn't matter.

An invaluable textbook that's good value for money, definitely worth the buy.
Recommended to anyone interested in or currently taking A2 AQA Law.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AQA Law A2 Second Edition (Paperback)
Very helpful and informative textbook. Highly recommended for any student studying Law at A2 level. Very good condition also, would buy from this seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great alongside class notes!, 15 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book is perfect for clearing up/summarizing points of law/cases and works well alongside class notes. Would definitely only use it for clarifying/revision though as the book alone would not be enough to assist a good grade. It's obviously a little outdated now and there is new case law missing which only the teacher would know due to new specification etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Never left my side., 16 Jun 2012
This text book got me through my law work and exams, making my lessons and exams a breeze, as well as being handy to have around the house. It has up to date, thorough information that is easy to understand and comprehend and will most definitely be joining me at university in September.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars law, 11 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a good aid for revision, have to know your stuff too for the book to be useful. good book to help improve your grade
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good law book!, 14 Nov 2010
I previously used a different law book, however this book is far better. It has amazing detail of cases and is written so that it is very easy to understand, without sounding like it's made for 'dummies' I would really recommend it! the only down side would be that its completely black and white which can be very boring on the eye. This isn't too much of a problem however as the text is in well spaced paragraphs which makes it less overwhelming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

AQA Law A2 Second Edition
AQA Law A2 Second Edition by Pam Whelan (Paperback - 5 Jun 2013)
11.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews