Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars15
4.8 out of 5 stars
Price:£24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 May 2015
The book is very easy to read, but I feel it's lacking in detail around every area covered. Fine for an introduction if you have little previous engineering knowledge, but if you're a "bearded man in a shed", you will want more relevant (more on that later) detail in every chapter.

I am not a professional race engineer (computer programmer by trade), and I bought the book in hope that it might help me understand suspension design for my scratch built track day project better. It did this to a degree with some useful formulas, but unfortunately it fell short on the detail in several areas.

On the point of relevant detail; the book has several skillfully created solid works drawings and autocad drawings of gearbox internals and differentials etc. This I feel is irrelevant, because those drawings will not make you understand more about how they work - they're just detail at the wrong abstraction level. A model of how a car reacts with open, slip and closed differentials in a given situation would be better. Designs and parts change all the time, where-as fundamental models remain static(ish).

In short, if you have little previous knowledge or are a driver with a team and you want to understand a little bit of what's going on, it's great. If you want more detail to be able to design and actually UNDERSTAND, it falls short.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2015
An excellent book. Well structured and going into just the right amount of detail for an introduction. The illustrations and photographs throughout are superb. A lot of thought has clearly gone into this book. Much needed as well, in a market dominated by older books on their 20th reprint. Note that it is a book of fundamentals though - don't expect to learn any aspect of a racing car in depth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
This book contains a whole heap of information about the broad subject of motorsport. It is broken down into many chapters which each covering a different aspect of motorsport with everything from data logging systems to engine components and even how to perform a setup on the car before a race day!
This book would suit any student studing on a motorsport course and is easy to read with the whole book being in full colour and broken down in to many sub-sections!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2013
Great book good detail. The book is split into 4 sections engine technology and chassis technology and aerodynamics and electronics.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
As an" build it and compete "in it, for about 60 years I often find that a a fairly recent text book enables me to understand the theory and the practice, By considring several engineering books I can usually build up a good picture of where the components interact. Recommended at the NEC racing car show I was very pleased with it and how with the Hillers various Fundamentals I was quickly up to date. Very good reading.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
Great book to get you up to speed with the motorsport basics
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
Excellent book which made me interested in how a car works, bought for the boyfriend because he has applied to uni for motorsport engineering. Clear diagrams, well explained. Text interesting as well as being detailed. Has recaps on each section and glossary at the back.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2016
Performs as expected. Pleased with purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2014
Covers in great detail most aspects of running a racing car, mainly aimed at modern racing rather than historics, not a criticism, just an observation! You could broaden the subject by including client liaison, transporting racing cars etc...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2015
Great book covering a good range of topics in Motorsport Engineering. Assumes a fundamental knowledge of vehicle systems, but that's to be expected. Great for those wanting to further develop their knowledge of race car systems, and all explained in an easy to understand fashion. I particularly like the chapters regarding intake manifold design, and the effects of component mass on power delivery. Fascinating! I hope we see some more from the author :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.