Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and insightful
I used this text to support a continuing professional development course in active learning that I taught to practicing teachers. The focus on an evidence-based approach was very effective in convincing the class that these methods can be applied in a manner that promotes greater student achievement, holistic development and an engaging, rewarding challenge to the...
Published on 7 Aug 2007 by John Joseph O. Reilly

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a good introduction to EBT, but by no means flawless
This book has excellent aspects to it. However, I have only given this book 3 stars, not to criticise for criticisms sake, but in order to prevent anyone being seduced by the title and assuming that the methods suggested in this book are based on iron clad evidence and to take the suggestions in this book as 'GOLD'. To the contrary, the majority of teaching suggestions...
Published on 10 Jan 2010 by Ms. K. C. Garde


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and insightful, 7 Aug 2007
I used this text to support a continuing professional development course in active learning that I taught to practicing teachers. The focus on an evidence-based approach was very effective in convincing the class that these methods can be applied in a manner that promotes greater student achievement, holistic development and an engaging, rewarding challenge to the teachers themselves.

There is a wealth of useful information condensed in this book with an immediate examination of the methodologies that are shown to have the greatest positive impact on teaching and learning. This encourages experimentation from the beginning and several of my students took to "Assessment for Learning" with a passion. In fact, formative assessment is examined throughout the text.

The structure of learning is thoroughly examined with context provided by a useful summary of the SOLO taxonomy. This emphasis on structure is continued throughout the text and on completion of our course most teachers had gained considerable insight into the epistemology of their subjects in a way that allowed them to encourage critical thinking skills in their students.

There are chapters on teaching "thinking skills" that should be read by anyone engaged in teaching as they are very thought provoking and provide practical advice as to how to add these skills to typical classes. The book is supported by an excellent website that provides additional information and useful handouts.

I have no hesitation in recommending this book as a thought provoking text. It is unfortunate that there are some editing errors that can irritate, and poor organisation in places - don't get frustrated though; I am convinced that careful reading of this book will add a richness to your teaching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delighted, 18 Mar 2008
By 
Tartan girl (Newton Stewart, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have found this book invaluable (along with Petty's previous book 'Teaching Today') in providing me with numerous ideas for active teaching. The ideas can be adapted for almost any subject and mean delivering sessions is now so much more enjoyable. The research findings behind these ideas makes so much sense and has completely changed my approach to teaching. Geoff Petty's website is worth a visit for additional information and video lectures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book needs a 6-star category, 16 Jan 2009
By 
Neil White - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is simply outstanding. It is the only education book I have read from cover to cover - and since then I have returned to different chapters on a regular basis.

Easy and clear to read, each page has great ideas that you can put into practice in your classroom regardless of which age group or subject you teach. The ideas are useful for teachers, heads of departments and senior managers.

The key is that the book tells you how effective each idea is likely to be so that you can focus your time efficiently - lots of these teaching ideas could be used as INSET for all staff.

A colleague new to the profession would do well to read Mr Petty's other book 'Teaching Today' first.

If the Government wants to improve education, it should give a copy of this book to every teacher and allow them 30 minutes a day to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential for teachers, 13 Feb 2008
By 
M. P. Bell (Cambridge United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you only buy one book about teaching - get this one.

Teachers are bombarded with books about teaching which claim success for the authors pet ideas. Rarely is any proper evidence offered.
This book is quite different. It simply looks at all the research evidence available and gives practical ways to implement best practice.

Petty has deep insight into the way children learn and has distilled key ideas and general principles.

He recognises that teachers do not improve by simply repeating other people's good ideas. He recommends (and gives evidence to back it up) that schools develop a culture of teachers discussing learning, trying out different ideas and sharing best practice. It is this dynamic which creates excellent schools - not the implementation of the latest government edict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for educators, 6 Jun 2012
This review is from: Evidence-Based Teaching A Practical Approach Second Edition (Paperback)
This is essential for educators; new, seasoned, tired, fresh. Essential.
Many educational books are hypocritically dull and boring or full of confusing elitist techno-speak. This book covers everything you need to be an outstanding teacher and it does so in a clear style.
I have spent (literally) hundreds of hours in CPD sessions when they would have been better off just buying me this book. A lot of what I thought I understood from my CPD has been made clear thanks to Geoff Petty, it's quite scary how much I have found out I only half understood.

The book does what it says on the cover. It discusses pedagogical approaches that have evidence to back them up, with examples, and with any possible caveats. The layout is clear, the language is clear and the examples are a big help. It is quite easy to flick to a page and read bits of the book without trawling the whole work which makes it useful as a reference guide. The book also discusses how the evidence was gathered and assessed for its effect size so that you don't have to take the authors word for it. Oh, and Petty's explanation of Hattie's meta-analysis was better that Hattie's explanation of Hattie's meta-analysis which led to another "oohhh...I see..." moment.

It's ironic that I bought this book just as I was having a clear out of my other books purchased whilst in teacher training many moons ago. You'll find them on Amazon marketplace soon. They're in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should have been called Teaching Tomorrow!, 23 Feb 2010
This review is from: Evidence-Based Teaching A Practical Approach Second Edition (Paperback)
Geoff Petty has done what he has said on the tin... my pupils have improved there grades considerably. It's so easy to get stuck in a rut with your teaching, Geoff actually inspired me to not only read what other people have tested in the education world, but actually put it into practice.

Whether you have been teaching 5 minutes or 50 years, buy this book! It will benefit not only you but your students as well! Geoff also gives you lots of support online at his website. What an incredible guy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a good introduction to EBT, but by no means flawless, 10 Jan 2010
By 
This book has excellent aspects to it. However, I have only given this book 3 stars, not to criticise for criticisms sake, but in order to prevent anyone being seduced by the title and assuming that the methods suggested in this book are based on iron clad evidence and to take the suggestions in this book as 'GOLD'. To the contrary, the majority of teaching suggestions in this book are highly extrapolated from a very small amount of individual data which (despite the authors claims) on detailed inspection has very little statistical significance. This is unfortunately as there is currently very little strong evidence in these areas of teaching yet.

The suggestions are however a good step in the right direction (we can do little else but extrapolate until further studies have been conducted) but bare in mind it is still mainly based on experience and common sense of the author. I believe teachers personal experiences with educating students, and trial and error of what works best for the individual teacher and an individual group of students is worth far more than this book can ever offer.
Nevertheless, this is a helpful adjunt to teaching and, where evidence based teaching is concerned, it is certainly a good introduction and step in the right direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring read, 4 Aug 2012
This review is from: Evidence-Based Teaching A Practical Approach Second Edition (Paperback)
Links science of learning into classroom teaching brilliantly. I would recommend this to new or experienced teachers alike; it promotes a style of teaching that is both effective and sustainable (i.e. you won't burn out following these methods). Can't recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great content but, for a second edition, still poorly structured., 9 Aug 2010
This review is from: Evidence-Based Teaching A Practical Approach Second Edition (Paperback)
As a mere NQT, I have found this book far more accessible and applicable than Hattie's 'Visible Learning', on which it is very strongly based. It's a great book that I'm sure I will re-read and re-consult many times.

The content is unquestionably great. But despite the (on the face of it) clear and useful use of differing forms of sub-titles, bold text, italic text, icons, summary boxes etc. - it remains rather poorly structured and, in places, I think *wrongly* (erroneously) stuctured.
For example: Chapter 9 describes 'Whole Class Teaching Methods'. p106 describes 'Model 1: Active teaching model'. But there's no subsequent subsections described 'Model 2:....' etc.
For example: Chapter 21 describes two constructivist approaches to teaching skills: Snowballing and Bridging. Snowballing has a subtitle in a plain, Size 12 font. Bridging is sub-titled in a different font, Size 16, and emboldened! I don't think this is a deliberate attempt at emphasising one approach over the other - it's an error in the hierarchical structure of the book.
Given the book's emphasis on appropriate graphic organisers and visual representations and the fact it's a second edition, this is really quite poor. It seems a weakness in editing/publishing, rather than of authoring.

But beyond these publishing 'errors' (?), I guess I found the whole book rather 'mixed up' and poorly structured ('poorly' is too strong an adjective, but 'weak' in any case). Very many topics and techniques are scattered and repeated throughout the book that makes it really quite difficult to go back and re-read a particular 'topic'.
This 'weakness' is, I'm certain, just a result of the ambitious-ness, novelty and breadth that the book addresses. But it does seem likely to me that in future years the author will find better ways of presenting the material (in probably a series of smaller books, or differently-structured chapters?).
In fact, perhaps, the (IMO) non-perfect structure is ultimately *helpful* in that it requires the reader to re-formulate the content into a strucure that makes sense to themselves (very contructionalist!).

To summarise, I am finding it very stimulating and educational, but believe it will have a relatively short shelf-life before being overtaken by texts adopting a better structure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EBT, 29 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evidence-Based Teaching A Practical Approach Second Edition (Paperback)
Very good. Gives all the necessary information on what tools to use for different teaching styles with an emphasis on what methods produce the best results. Those in the teaching profession already know all of the methods here but why don't we use them? All explained here. Well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa0071b0)

This product

Evidence-Based Teaching A Practical Approach Second Edition
Evidence-Based Teaching A Practical Approach Second Edition by Geoff Petty (Paperback - 23 Jan 2009)
21.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews