Customer Reviews


128 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


103 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely, warm and fuzzy novel
This is the 11th installment in Alexander McCall Smith's enchanting and uplifting series about a female detective living in Botswana. It is not necessary to have read ALL the other books in the series, but if you haven't read any, this is probably not the best place to start.

The structure is very similar to others in the series, with the familiar cast of...
Published on 4 Mar 2010 by Julia Flyte

versus
24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars comfortable or not?
I am a big fan of McCall Smith's No 1 Ladies Detective Agency series. I have always felt that the author captured the "voice" of his subjects perfectly, down to the nuance and unique inflections that are completely African. The warmth, humour, sense of values and pride of country that McCall Smith's characters display in such a convincing way are things that bring...
Published on 9 April 2010 by Jono Blaze


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

103 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely, warm and fuzzy novel, 4 Mar 2010
By 
Julia Flyte - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This is the 11th installment in Alexander McCall Smith's enchanting and uplifting series about a female detective living in Botswana. It is not necessary to have read ALL the other books in the series, but if you haven't read any, this is probably not the best place to start.

The structure is very similar to others in the series, with the familiar cast of characters appearing. There are essentially four interwoven storylines. Mma Makutsi's fiance Mr Phuti Radiphuti is in an accident and she clashes with his aunt over who should nurse him back to health. Meanwhile, Mma Ramotswe has several cases on the go. She is asked to investigate whether a husband is being unfaithful, to assist another man who has been swindled out of his money and travels with Mma Makutsi to the Okavango Delta to track down a safari guide who has been left some money in a will. However the storylines often take a backseat to discussions about teapots, new boots and the merits of the new blue van.

The book opens with Mr J L B Matekoni musing about road rage and the futility of reacting to it and it ends with Mma Ramotswe musing about how to lead a good life. "Do not complain about your life. Do not blame others for things that you have brought upon yourself. Be content with who you are and where you are, and do whatever you can to bring to others such contentment, and joy, and understanding that you have managed to find yourself."

It's a lovely, warm and fuzzy novel that lives up in every way to the others in this gorgeous series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Our favourite novelist does it again, 8 Mar 2010
By 
C. Catherwood "writer" (Cambridge UK and Richmond VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Our favourite novelist has done it again - another magnificent Ramotswe novel. Seldom is no.2 as good as no.1, but in this case no.11 is as good as the previous ten, and all the wonderful cast of characters whom we have come to love are back and with as much enjoyment as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lions and people, 8 Mar 2010
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Precious Ramotswe has several interesting cases to deal with in this latest story from Botswana. There is her friend the midwife who wonders whether her husband is having an affair; the unexpected commission from America which involves her going to a safari camp to track down a guide; and her own assistant Grace Makutsi has a problem when her fiancé is injured.

As usual, common sense and old fashioned values are essential in solving the various problems. In between interesting observations on human nature Precious reflects on the beauty of her own country and the way the old fashioned values still prevail with most people. Even in her husband's garage business the unruly apprentices are calming down as they get older and more experienced at their jobs.

I love the gentle humour of this series and the way Mma Ramotswe triumphs in the end through sheer perseverance and good humour and how she steers her prickly assistant in the right direction without offending her. There are lessons for all of us in this low key novel. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Love without freedom is like a fire without air. A fire without air goes out.", 21 April 2010
By 
Mary Whipple (New England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
"Traditionally built," and focused on the traditional values of Gaborone, Botswana, where she runs the #1 Ladies' Detective Agency, Mma Precious Ramotswe is genuinely "nice"-always believing in the goodness inherent in even the most challenging adversary, sympathetic without being a pushover, and thoughtful and intuitive in sniffing out the motives of her clients. As relaxed and considerate as the society she appears to represent, Mma Ramotswe believes that almost any problem can be made better if it is discussed over a cup of bush tea. In this novel, the twelfth in the series, Mma Ramotswe continues to rely on her understanding of human nature and her ability to communicate to solve her clients' problems.

She also relies on her coterie of friends and acquaintances-Mma Grace Makutsi, her homely assistant, still not married to furniture store owner Phuti Radiphuti; Mr. Polopetsi, the "unqualified assistant" to her mechanic husband Mr. J. L. B. Matekone; and Mma Potokwami, the demanding woman who runs the orphan farm, where Mma Ramotswe's adopted children once lived. Once again, too, Violet Sephotho, the one character for whom it is difficult to find redeeming qualities, is creating serious problems by bewitching gullible men.

Four revolving plot lines keep the reader involved and often amused: Mma Ramotswe's husband suspects that one of his customers may be having an affair, but before long, that same woman appears in Mma Ramotswe's office, wanting help because she believes that her husband may be unfaithful. While this story is unfolding, Mma Ramotswe receives a letter from a lawyer in the US, telling her that an elderly woman who had been on a safari to the Okavango delta four years ago is now "late," and that she has left a sizable inheritance to an unknown camp guide. He asks Mma Ramotswe to find the guide, a job that requires Mma Ramotswe and Mma Makutsi to take a trip to the delta for the first time. The trip is a welcome relief for Mma Grace Makutsi whose fiance, Phuti Radiphuti, has had a serious accident, and whose aunt refuses to let Grace see him. In the final plot line, still another new client appears at the agency, seeking help in rebuilding his life after an encounter with Violet Sephotho.

Filled with colorful detail about life in Botswana and even more colorful detail about life in the Okavango delta, the novel retains the warm and endearing charm of all the previous novels, even as the repeating characters continue to develop. Author Alexander McCall Smith has ultimately created an entire community in Gaborone, one which seems somehow familiar, despite its differences from our own lives. The coziest of "cozy" mysteries, this novel, like its predecessors will make lovers of this series feel as if they are "going home" again. Mary Whipple

Tea Time for the Traditionally Built: The No.1 Ladies' Detective Agency: The No.1 Ladies' Detective Agency, Book 10 (No 1 Ladies Detective Agency10)
The Miracle at Speedy Motors: No.1 Ladies' Detective Agency 09
In the Company of Cheerful Ladies (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency)
The World According to Bertie: A 44 Scotland Street Novel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars comfortable or not?, 9 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a big fan of McCall Smith's No 1 Ladies Detective Agency series. I have always felt that the author captured the "voice" of his subjects perfectly, down to the nuance and unique inflections that are completely African. The warmth, humour, sense of values and pride of country that McCall Smith's characters display in such a convincing way are things that bring positive reinforcement to the African image.

I must admit that I was slightly disappointed with "the double comfort safari club". That authentic "African voice" seems to have been somewhat lost here, with the characters slipping in and out of colloquial sounding English. The book also read, to me, that it was slightly rushed and so didn't really tug at many emotive strings in this reader as the previous book had. Maybe this was something to do with the content as well, which didn't draw me in too much.

I really hope that McCall Smith is not losing steam with Mma Ramotswe and her ilk, though. It is rare that such gems of books with African subjects become popular on a global scale and it would be a shame to lose the "magic" and appeal that made this series a worldwide favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A traditionally built episode, 24 Mar 2010
By 
Alun Williams "mathematician manqué" (Peterborough,England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
After being a little disappointed by "Tea-time for the traditionally built", I was hoping the 11th helping of the No. 1 Ladies would be more to my liking, and on the whole I was not disappointed. I especially enjoyed the first few chapters - as the thoughts of Mr J.L.B. Matekoni feature strongly, and then there is an accident which makes the tone a little darker than it sometimes is. As usual Alexander McCall Smith manages to make minor incidents a prelude to some entertaining Botswanan philosophy, such as Mma Ramotswe's reception of Grace's suggestion that they should exchange the teapots used for brewing the ordinary and red-bush tea. Later on Grace manages to wangle a pair of boots on expenses, which I thought was probably an oblique comment on recent shenanigans in Westminster, but which Precious puts up with with her usual good humour. I suspect that in the next episode Grace will finally get to marry Phuti, as in this one she has to fight to keep (or rather regain) her man, not with Violet, but with an Aunt who has taken agin her and is clearly hoping to prevent the marriage. Grace does have another run-in with Violet however.

Taken as a whole I've no hesitation in giving the series 5 stars, but by now I'm perhaps a little used to the style of the books to give any particular episode 5 stars. And I did feel short-changed on a couple of occasions, when strokes of good very good fortune enable Mma Ramotswe to resolve cases satisfactorily. There were some intriguing loose ends however, for example we learn that the late-lamented little white van has gone to a "natural mechanic" in the north of Botswana so perhaps it may yet return, so I shall no doubt be looking out for the next and perhaps final instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant read, 19 Sep 2010
This writer has a wonderful understanding of the people and customs of Botswana. His descriptions of the African countryside, with its flora and fauna, can be so easily imagined and enjoyed. The stories of the No 1 Ladies Detective Agency are told with great sensitivity and humour. I look forward to the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what you would expect, and no worse for that, 23 July 2010
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is the eleventh book in the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency novels featuring Precious Ramotswe, and it is exactly like the previous ten. This is no criticism. McCall Smith has found a formula that works, sympathetic characters and a niche market for detective novels which aren't really detective novels, but rather a gentle amble through the foibles of the human spirit in the company of some likeable people.

Unlike other crime series where the novelist has found a winning formula and made it stale (I am thinking of Janet Evanovich here), because the characters do not progress at all, McCall Smith keeps things fresh by allowing his characters to develop in their lives and personalities. Here Mma Makutsi, Mma Ramotswe's secretary and assistant detective, takes centre stage as we are swept up in the continuing drama of her relationship with her fiance Phuti Radiphuti and the fate of her evil nemesis Violet Sephotho.

In the background Mma Ramotswe carefully clears up the mystery of the legacy to a tour guide in the Okavango Delta, an unhappy marriage problem and saves a young man whose hopes of a happy future are about to be dashed by Violet. As always she manages it with maximum grace, minimum fuss and industrial quantities of red bush tea. Very satisfactory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Double comfort, 14 April 2010
By 
Susan A. Le Chat "Sue the cat" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As ever, as really good read. McCall Smith can be relied upon to spin a good yarn. Easy reading with great charm and the ever appealing characters, by now well known and loved. I am never disappointed by Mme Ramotswe and her co-conspirators in the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Charming and Gentle Series, 15 Aug 2012
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
The Double Comfort Safari Club is the 11th in the No 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series, and like its predecessors it is a gentle and charming tale of life in Botswana. These books can be read and enjoyed on a standalone basis, but I think it is an advantage to have read them consecutively to see how the various relationships of the principal characters has evolved.

This time round Mma Romotswe has a couple of cases to exercise her skills. She has been contacted by an American attorney whose late client has left some money to someone in Botswana who was kind to her and the task is to track this person down. The other case concerns a couple who are known to Mma R, and who apparently each suspect the other of cheating.

I was fortunate to visit Botswana a few years ago, and this series does very much capture the pace of life and the general philosophical outlook of the populace which considerably removed from what we are used to in the West. These are relatively short books and very easy to read. Most readers will quickly fall into the rhythm of these tales and will thoroughly enjoy them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7ad8da4)

This product

Double Comfort Safari Club, The  (Large Print Book)
Double Comfort Safari Club, The (Large Print Book) by Alexander McCall Smith (Hardcover - 4 Oct 2010)
£19.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews