Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another enjoyable Doctor Who audio book
Doctor Who Blackout is the latest audio exclusive cd. This tim it is read by Stuart Milligan (who is perhaps best known for playing Adam Klaus in Jonathan Creek and who also played President Nixon in the Doctor Who stories The Impossible Astronaut and Day Of The Moon). Stuart makes a good reader and captures the characters voices very well. Blackout sees the Doctor pitted...
Published on 15 Dec 2011 by David

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good idea but stifled by disappointing execution
Many of the recent run of audio adventures featuring Matt Smith's incarnation of the Doctor have been distinctly disappointing, with genuinely enjoyable stories like The Hounds of Artemis few and far between amid too many that play as either rejected pitches for the TV series or at worst cynical attempts to part fans from their money. This veers more to the former, with a...
Published on 21 Jan 2012 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good idea but stifled by disappointing execution, 21 Jan 2012
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Blackout (Dr Who) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Many of the recent run of audio adventures featuring Matt Smith's incarnation of the Doctor have been distinctly disappointing, with genuinely enjoyable stories like The Hounds of Artemis few and far between amid too many that play as either rejected pitches for the TV series or at worst cynical attempts to part fans from their money. This veers more to the former, with a neat premise, a particularly good Maguffin, and a nice revelation about the main human character that can only work on book or audio. Unfortunately it's not quite there: you can see why it could and should work, but it never strikes the bullseye. One of those stories that starts halfway through the story, it sees the Doctor, Amy and eternal third wheel Rory in New York just in time for the 1965 blackout. Looting is the least of the Noo Yawkers' worries, as several crystallise and shatter, with a local undergoing psychoanalysis (guess who is his doctor?) holding the answer to the latest alien threat. And it's a good answer that deserves better plotting along the way to the big reveal, but with his companions largely sidelined author Oli Smith seems more interested in the Doctor-patient relationship than the story at times. The end result is a little frustrating and a bit disappointing, but at least shows a bit more imagination and effort than many other NuWho audio adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite shining brightly enough..., 24 Jan 2013
By 
P. Kennard (Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who: Blackout (Dr Who) (Audio CD)
When New York cabbie Clint visits a psychiatrist to discuss his delusions of Alien Abudction, he doesn't expect to encounter a real one. But by the end of the night, he will have seen and done things few humans could ever imagine...

Blackout presents a good idea and a strong opening, only to lose itself amid an over-familiar and unnecessary period and location. Having Stuart Milligan narrate a story based in America is, on the surface, a good idea. He is an excellent narrator and gives a strong performance, but his prescence immediately provokes comparisons with his on-screen story, set in a similar period, with unseen aliens only adding to the similarity. Also, New York seems to be becoming a second spot for alien invasions, with the series visiting ever more frequently, another factor working to the story's detriment.
Which is, in a way, a shame. The actual concept, characters and overall story are good, but it could have been based almost anywhere (Leicester Square would have been a good, and more original, alternate for example) and gained something from the lack of over-familiarity. And Stuart would almost certainly benefitted from a second narrator covering some of the voices: his renditions of the regulars, while very good, bear no resemblance to their real voices, and to me, an American Doctor just doesn't work.

Overall, the concept and performance manage to make this entry to the range okay, but it could have been so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another enjoyable Doctor Who audio book, 15 Dec 2011
By 
David (SPECTRE Island) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Blackout (Dr Who) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Doctor Who Blackout is the latest audio exclusive cd. This tim it is read by Stuart Milligan (who is perhaps best known for playing Adam Klaus in Jonathan Creek and who also played President Nixon in the Doctor Who stories The Impossible Astronaut and Day Of The Moon). Stuart makes a good reader and captures the characters voices very well. Blackout sees the Doctor pitted against some aliens who are causing people to die in a bizzarre way. The story is quite short running at around 1 hour and 15 minutes and moves at a good pace. It makes ideal listening while stuck in traffic (which happens to me rather too much). So if you enjoy a good exciting story then why not give Doctor Who Blackout a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not one of the better Doctor Who titles., 18 Oct 2011
By 
J. S. Hardman "Consultant software developer ... (Near London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Blackout (Dr Who) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I listen to a lot of BBC Audio books. Some are full cast recordings, some are read by the key figure from the corresponding TV series. Full cast recordings are nearly always better (there are a few exceptions, but not many). I struggle to understand why BBC Audio seem to pick anybody who has been on Doctor Who to read the Doctor Who audio books. I'm not criticising Stuart Milligan (who played Nixon in "The Impossible Astronaut") who reads this one - I just think it would be significantly better to do a full cast recording. It's not as it there are even that many characters in this story, so it wouldn't have been hugely expensive to produce. Stuart Milligan does an adequate job, but I was distracted by it not being the Doctor (Matt Smith) or a full-cast recording.

I won't give the story away, but I'm afraid that the story is certainly not one of the better ones, whether on audio book or otherwise. If written better, it could have made a TV episode, but it did not work for me on audio - predictable, no tension whatsoever, and with a weak ending. The saving grace was the character of the taxi driver, around whom a much better story could have developed.

Passable, but nothing special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent outing for the doctor, 29 Sep 2011
By 
Thomas Pots "T Pots" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Blackout (Dr Who) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a decent audio book outing for The Doctor. Oli Smith has written an interesting plot that has everything you would expect, with plenty of plot and a little humour thrown in. Having heard many audio books over the years, I found this one lacking something. I did not learn anything about the characters - their feelings or thoughts. If you already know the main characters, then fine, but if you don't then you will learn nothing about them from this story. However, a good deal of the plot is written on the back of the box, which robs the sighted listener of many of the story's surprise developments.

The sound effects are good, if rather dropped into gaps in the speech. There are very few background sounds and, consequently, the whole thing lacks atmosphere. I would have liked to have heard the complete theme music, but Milligan annoyingly talks through most of it. That's also odd, because it's the only time there is sound behind any of the talking. Stuart Milligan reads well, but he certainly doesn't do female voices. Poor Amy sounded like an effeminate boy.

The box says the episode lasts about an hour but it actually comes in at 1 hour 17 minutes. This means there is more in there than appears on the outside, which makes somewhat like a TARDIS!

Overall it's a good listen, and perhaps worth a second listen, but it's not the greatest Doctor Who story ever told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor, big time!, 8 April 2012
This review is from: Doctor Who: Blackout (Dr Who) (Audio CD)
I must say I was REALLY disappointed by this, i had high hopes for a DW audiobook in NYC but alas its story is slow and Stuart Milligan's reading of it is desperately bad. Really disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but not special, 23 Feb 2012
By 
D. Pearce "djarmhp" (rainham, kent) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Blackout (Dr Who) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Blackout is a good enough story read by a decent enough reader. It works as well as you would expect within the limitations of a story where the original actors are not present. However hard the narrator tries to channel the personality of the Doctor or Amy, it's just second best. If you are looking for a mildly diverting hour to pass the time on the motorway this is more than adequate, but if you are looking for a decent addition to the Whoniverse then look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a classic, 15 Feb 2012
By 
Amazoniac (Norwich) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Blackout (Dr Who) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Stuart Milligan is an American, Doctor Who isn't.
Although you can see Matt Smith on the cover of the CD he doesn't actually appear in the recording. The whole adventure is vocalised by Stuart Milligan, who is a very accomplished reader - but just isn't suited to reading this! I can see where the BBC is coming from - the story is set in the USA, so why not have an American voicing it?
The answer, of course, is that it just doesn't work. Would you think of having John Betjeman read Huckleberry Finn?!
The story is quite thin, so don't get your hopes up!
Sorry to be so negative, but I have listened to a lot of Doctor Who stories and have come to expect a little more than I got this time around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Meh-gloss?, 19 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who: Blackout (Dr Who) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I love Dr Who - I've grown up with it through TV, films, novelizations and the New adentures/Eight Doctor adventures, but in all honesty am struggling with these audiobooks.

Given the excellent 'Big Finish' productions I have become used to strong ensemble pieces. These literal readings of novels just don't sit well.

Firstly I don't think that the books themselves have been particularly strong since Eccleston brought the Doctor back to our screens. They have been light, frothy books -certainly compared to the scheming, dark and intricate novels of the 7th and 8th Doctors, that didn't have to worry about any future plans the BBC might have because the show had been cancelled and that was it.

Instead we now get throwaway books that add little original to the canon. Buy a 'classic' DVD instead of this. You get far more for your cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An intriguing story improved by Rory's presence, 19 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who: Blackout (Dr Who) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Doctor Who: Blackout (Dr Who)

Although I enjoy the Eleventh Doctor, I find it harder to enjoy Amy, so I'm always delighted when Rory is included in Doctor Who stories. In this tale the Doctor, Amy and Rory find themselves in mid-60s New York where an alien spaceship is lurking out of sight above the skyline, and a taxi driver is having strange dreams. The Doctor entrusts to Rory and Amy the task of sabotaging the city's water supply in order to save its population from a spreading infection, while the Time Lord works to save everyone.

The story is well paced and Oli Smith, a relative newcomer to Who fiction writing, does a good job of creating believable characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Blackout (Dr Who)
Doctor Who: Blackout (Dr Who) by Oli Smith (Audio CD - 8 Sep 2011)
£8.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews