Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!
It arrived early which was really helpful. Massive hit with 10 year old boy. He's now constantly quoting from it. It's still very funny. Would recommend it - particularly good on long car journeys when you can't agree on the music to play! One small quibble. the cardboard presentation box the discs came in is EXREMELY flimsy and has collapsed after 10 days. Still, small...
Published 12 months ago by Bex by the sea

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny, but heavy going at times
This was a present that my wife wanted, I'd not heard of Bleak Expectations before. Listening to the first CD I was impressed and enjoyed it immensley, but by the 3rd CD it seemed to be losing its freshness and I was losing interest. It still had brilliant flashes of humour, but...
Published 9 months ago by DJE


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bleak Expectations: The Complete Series (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
It arrived early which was really helpful. Massive hit with 10 year old boy. He's now constantly quoting from it. It's still very funny. Would recommend it - particularly good on long car journeys when you can't agree on the music to play! One small quibble. the cardboard presentation box the discs came in is EXREMELY flimsy and has collapsed after 10 days. Still, small price to pay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The way all spoofs should be written and performed, 4 Feb 2012
This review is from: Bleak Expectations: The Complete Series (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Ah... Bleak Expectations. What can be said that has never been said before?

Um. Blowed if I know. So I shall just have to repeat what others have said, which is: Brilliant! Hilarious! Excellent!

Perhaps I should say a bit more?

Mark Evans has used the time honoured tradition in story telling of framing it as a narrative about someone's life. In this instance, it's Sir Philip Bin, richest man in Britain (a man so rich that when he bought a country estate, that country was Scotland) describing the true events to a journalist (Mr Sourquill).

His life is an arduous one, described (in the narrative) as one of riches to rags to riches to rags to riches to rags to riches again (might have missed a bit).

The jokes come thick and fast, the puns are exquisitely beautiful in their creation and delivery, and hammy performances are are just the right side of smoked. Anthony Head should get a special mention as the main antagonist, the ironically named Mr Gently Benevolent. He takes overacting to a new level, and I love him all the more for it.

But none of the performances would mean anything without a solid script, and the cast certainly have that. One of the problems with this sort of story framework is that if the narrative is all based on one person's experiences, how do you reveal relevant plot information when this occurs away from the primary protagonist? And make it entertaining? Episode 5 in the first series had a particularly inventive method. A letter about a fight. Related by three people, all fighting over a single pen to state who has the upper hand. Definitely has to be heard to be believed...

The first series is by far the best - it was as if Mark Evans had worked through all of Charles Dickens' tomes and distilled all the best jokes into that initial 6 part series, not expecting a second.

So when the second series was commissioned, I can imagine Mr Evans panicking, and then reading a number of other Victorian novels - Frankenstein, HG Wells, and a dash of Conan Doyle. The first couple of episodes were a bit shaky (but still very funny); by the time the third episode came about, things were getting back to what was expected.

The third series was far better than the second series; I think Mark Evans was a bit better prepared, and so had already been ploughing through Victorian works and history so he was in a better position to write the series when it was commissioned. A bit more Dickens than in the second series, plus references to Jack the Ripper, Jules Verne, and that well known Victorian film director George A Romero.

Tom Allen, who plays young Pip Bin, must have been taking acting lessons from William Shatner. This is not meant to be a sleight on his acting skills - in episode 2 there is a scene which must have been recorded on Speak Like William Shatner Day - it is very short and one of the funniest scenes in the series.

The final series is sadly the weakest of the bunch. Nevertheless, as spoofs and pastiches go, it is still far superior to many other of it's ilk of today. It just fairs badly when compared to the high standard set by the earlier series.

This one is a bit more disjointed than the previous series - the narrative is still there, but it is now missing the underlying plot arc that was present in each of the previous series. There is one still there, but it isn't driving the story as well as the others.

Once more, Dickens is the source material for this series' pastiches, but this time it has been joined by Dante, Wells' Doctor Moreau, Robert Louis Stevenson's Jekyll and Hyde, and some episodes of Bonanza.

All in all, this series is extremely entertaining, 12 disks of sheer joy.

But what of the 13th disk I hear you ask? I have absolutely no idea what is on it. I'm the proud owner of series 1 to 4, which I purchased as soon as they came out. Each series was on 3 disks, making 12 in total. There is apparently a 13th disk with this box set, so I can only guess as to what is on it. Bonus material of some kind, which is probably rather good. Or not. I really cannot say! For all I know, they might have spread the 24 episodes over 13 disks, so there is no bonus material.

Whatever. If you haven't got any of the episodes on CD yet, I would recommend buying this box set, even if all you get is the 24 episodes of the radio series' and nothing else. Even if the bonus material were to consist of James Bachman saying nothing but the word "swan" for 60 minutes it would still be worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 Oct 2013
This review is from: Bleak Expectations: The Complete Series (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Laugh your way through the life of Pip Bin. A superb parody of the Dickensian period with a brilliant cast and superb writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Funny, but heavy going at times, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bleak Expectations: The Complete Series (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
This was a present that my wife wanted, I'd not heard of Bleak Expectations before. Listening to the first CD I was impressed and enjoyed it immensley, but by the 3rd CD it seemed to be losing its freshness and I was losing interest. It still had brilliant flashes of humour, but...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hoo-rumble!!, 15 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bleak Expectations: The Complete Series (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
If you love intellectual wit and Dickens with tonnes of modern references, you will love Bleak Expectations.

I have grown to love all the characters like Pip Bin his sister Pippa and Harry Biscuit. I even have a soft spot for the evil Mr Gently Benevolent but that might have something to do with Anthony Head's rather sensual voice!

Series 1-2 are classics, it gets a bit crazy mid way around series 3 but I am still hooked. It works so much better on the radio than the adaptation for TV ''The Little Shop of Bleak Stuff'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bleak expectations, side splitting funny, 11 Feb 2013
This review is from: Bleak Expectations: The Complete Series (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Absolutely hilarious, well written, well played and very clever. It is the kind of successful production that young Harry Biscuit would want to have invented !! ......

Or am I to rubbish the whole thing because I am not really Rupert the European trucker ..... For I am really none other than .......

Mr Strictly Benevolent (evil laugh)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 9 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bleak Expectations: The Complete Series (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
This was the first ever radio series I had ever listened to, and I found it irresistable. The characters are superb and it is very cleverly written. I thoroughly enjoyed it and thoroughly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 22 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bleak Expectations: The Complete Series (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
What can you say a brilliant collection although it does loose it's way a little bit in series 3. I thorougly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb27c6ee8)

This product

Bleak Expectations: The Complete Series (BBC Audio)
Bleak Expectations: The Complete Series (BBC Audio) by Mark Evans (Audio CD - 3 Nov 2011)
54.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews