Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars12
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Price:£19.57+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 July 2011
I heard the Radio 4 broadcaasts of most of these 15 minute blocks of brilliant retellings- with music, explaining where Russia's history is different from ours! I found it fascinating and can't wait for the next episodes on R4 starting next week! No sentimentality, just the facts, man! Sixsmith is a brilliant story teller and the discs are easier on the wrists than the heavyweight book edition! The opresentation is immaculate: no previous knowledge is required, no knowledgee of Russian language - though a little may help! To leaven what might have been a heavy load, there are the tempting bits of Russian music - Tchaikovsky. Shostakovich, Glinka, excuse me etcetera(!) to tease the ear. Could it have been done better? I doubt it! Slava! Slava!
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2011
This Cds are really worth every penny you paid for them. The creator of the series is passionate, well-informed and keeps the listeners interested until the end of each part which is only 15 min. long. He does not intend to exhaust the topic but to open it to further reading on each specific period of Russian history. I preferred the Cds as I usually read a lot yet I do not devote much time to the radio as I would like, moreover, it is perfect if you are looking for a taster in the subject and become informed about this massive and culturally diverse country. Very much recommended.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
There are not many radio series that change your life, but this one did for me. I listened with curiosity and a general interest in history when these programmes were first broadcast on the BBC. Sixsmith, former BBC correspondent in the USSR (now Russia) takes the listener on a journey through Russian history, from the earliest days of Kievan Rus, to the fall of Tsar Nicholas II. His theme is the way in which autocracy has somehow always been the default mode of Russian government, resulting form the Mongol occupation of early times. He is fascinating on Ivan the Terrible (and the links to Stalin), on Peter the Great, and Catherine the Great too. He explains the split in Russian consciousness and identity between East and West, and her tendency to always return to an autocratic norm.
For me these broadcasts fired an interest in, and enthusiasm for, Russian history that has carried me through at least a dozen more books and still continues now. There is, of course, a second series of CDs that were broadcast later, all about the Soviet years and their collapse with Gorbachev, Yeltsin and now Putin. Both sets are superb.
If you have an interest in history and particularly in Russian history, these CDs are unsurpassed; I have listened to them many times, and I cannot recommend them highly enough. Perhaps you'll get hooked too.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2012
I caught a couple of episodes of this series when it was first broadcast and thought they were excellent; well researched and narrated, with good use of music. Having bought the whole series, I now think that it is essential listening for anyone in the least interested in Russian history, as well as being a great introduction for those who know nothing of the subject. The 15 minute length of each part makes them easy to digest. Very highly recommended.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2015
This was bought on spec as I hadn't previously caught the broadcast by the BBC, however I thought I'd chance it as I'm an immense fan of the BBC's 'Sceptred Isle' series & their three collaborations with Neil MacGregor of the British Museum. This presentation is right up there with the BBC's finest and is recommended to all those with an interest in history. It provides an interesting overview of 'Russian' history & an insight into 'Russian' political development (of which there has been, apparently, very little). Martin Sixsmith is a mellifluous presenter and speaks from a position of some authority having studied then resided in Russia for several years.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2011
Made to accompany a TV series it is for a wide audience ; condenced into a few hours listening it would cover the same space in time as "The Sceptred Isle" took to cover 30 or so hours of listening. None the less it does not pretend to be anyting other than a breif introduction to its subject and as such it is an excellant way to pass dead time; whilst driving; and in so do get a taste for the history of one of Europs great powers
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
This was a gift for a History teacher who is teaching Russian history as part of an A-level syllabus. He has been delighted with it, listening to it in the car on his commute, and says it is a great way to reinforce things and a break from always reading material. He particularly likes the richness and detail, and also the way it means he hears native pronunciation of names and Russian words. He liked it so much he ordered the second set of discs that follow on for this for himself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
I would reccomend this to anyone who has an interest in Russia, it's culture and it's history. It was easy to follow and to listen to being broken up into 50 15 minutes episodes. I bought both of the cd's when they were less than half the normal price and they have provided me with hours of listening pleasure. The various musical and narrative interludes brings to life the characters and Martin Sixsmith's history is the most enjoyable I have yet found.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
Each episode is packed with information supported by music, oral histories, interviews, film references ... A stunning achievement by Martin Sixsmith
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
Very clear, succinct and knowledgeable review of 1000yrs of Russian history! Look forward to the next box set (from 1920)!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)