Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All I didn't know about Russian history in one package! Great!, 6 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russia: A 1000-Year Chronicle of the Wild East (Audio CD)
I heard the Radio 4 broadcaasts of most of these 15 minute blocks of brilliant retellings- with music, explaining where Russia's history is different from ours! I found it fascinating and can't wait for the next episodes on R4 starting next week! No sentimentality, just the facts, man! Sixsmith is a brilliant story teller and the discs are easier on the wrists than the heavyweight book edition! The opresentation is immaculate: no previous knowledge is required, no knowledgee of Russian language - though a little may help! To leaven what might have been a heavy load, there are the tempting bits of Russian music - Tchaikovsky. Shostakovich, Glinka, excuse me etcetera(!) to tease the ear. Could it have been done better? I doubt it! Slava! Slava!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise, succint and educational., 29 Aug 2011
This review is from: Russia: A 1000-Year Chronicle of the Wild East (Audio CD)
This Cds are really worth every penny you paid for them. The creator of the series is passionate, well-informed and keeps the listeners interested until the end of each part which is only 15 min. long. He does not intend to exhaust the topic but to open it to further reading on each specific period of Russian history. I preferred the Cds as I usually read a lot yet I do not devote much time to the radio as I would like, moreover, it is perfect if you are looking for a taster in the subject and become informed about this massive and culturally diverse country. Very much recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Russia:The wild East", 18 Aug 2011
By 
Cameron Aitken (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Russia: A 1000-Year Chronicle of the Wild East (Audio CD)
Made to accompany a TV series it is for a wide audience ; condenced into a few hours listening it would cover the same space in time as "The Sceptred Isle" took to cover 30 or so hours of listening. None the less it does not pretend to be anyting other than a breif introduction to its subject and as such it is an excellant way to pass dead time; whilst driving; and in so do get a taste for the history of one of Europs great powers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Listening, 6 Feb 2012
By 
Robin Monks "robinm0" (Glossop, Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russia: A 1000-Year Chronicle of the Wild East (Audio CD)
I caught a couple of episodes of this series when it was first broadcast and thought they were excellent; well researched and narrated, with good use of music. Having bought the whole series, I now think that it is essential listening for anyone in the least interested in Russian history, as well as being a great introduction for those who know nothing of the subject. The 15 minute length of each part makes them easy to digest. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource for if studying Russian history at A-level, 7 Jun 2014
By 
Bex (Milton Keynes, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russia: A 1000-Year Chronicle of the Wild East (Audio CD)
This was a gift for a History teacher who is teaching Russian history as part of an A-level syllabus. He has been delighted with it, listening to it in the car on his commute, and says it is a great way to reinforce things and a break from always reading material. He particularly likes the richness and detail, and also the way it means he hears native pronunciation of names and Russian words. He liked it so much he ordered the second set of discs that follow on for this for himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Would recommend, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russia: A 1000-Year Chronicle of the Wild East (Audio CD)
Very clear, succinct and knowledgeable review of 1000yrs of Russian history! Look forward to the next box set (from 1920)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended listening, 30 Mar 2014
By 
A. P. Reeves - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russia: A 1000-Year Chronicle of the Wild East (Audio CD)
Fabulous listening - makes a lot of sense of the Russian perspective on Crimea etc Martin Sixsmith is superb . Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russia: A 1000-Year Chronicle of the Wild East (Audio CD)
There are not many radio series that change your life, but this one did for me. I listened with curiosity and a general interest in history when these programmes were first broadcast on the BBC. Sixsmith, former BBC correspondent in the USSR (now Russia) takes the listener on a journey through Russian history, from the earliest days of Kievan Rus, to the fall of Tsar Nicholas II. His theme is the way in which autocracy has somehow always been the default mode of Russian government, resulting form the Mongol occupation of early times. He is fascinating on Ivan the Terrible (and the links to Stalin), on Peter the Great, and Catherine the Great too. He explains the split in Russian consciousness and identity between East and West, and her tendency to always return to an autocratic norm.
For me these broadcasts fired an interest in, and enthusiasm for, Russian history that has carried me through at least a dozen more books and still continues now. There is, of course, a second series of CDs that were broadcast later, all about the Soviet years and their collapse with Gorbachev, Yeltsin and now Putin. Both sets are superb.
If you have an interest in history and particularly in Russian history, these CDs are unsurpassed; I have listened to them many times, and I cannot recommend them highly enough. Perhaps you'll get hooked too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mind blowing, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russia: A 1000-Year Chronicle of the Wild East (Audio CD)
Each episode is packed with information supported by music, oral histories, interviews, film references ... A stunning achievement by Martin Sixsmith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and Educating at the same time., 3 Mar 2013
By 
S. Frize "babyford1971" (Southern England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russia: A 1000-Year Chronicle of the Wild East (Audio CD)
I would reccomend this to anyone who has an interest in Russia, it's culture and it's history. It was easy to follow and to listen to being broken up into 50 15 minutes episodes. I bought both of the cd's when they were less than half the normal price and they have provided me with hours of listening pleasure. The various musical and narrative interludes brings to life the characters and Martin Sixsmith's history is the most enjoyable I have yet found.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Russia: A 1000-Year Chronicle of the Wild East
Russia: A 1000-Year Chronicle of the Wild East by Martin Sixsmith (Audio CD - 2 Jun 2011)
18.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews