Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars51
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£16.35+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 September 2011
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Having long enjoyed everything from 'Zoo Quest' through his other incomparable series to 'Life on Air', both in book and Audiobook form, I was happy to listen again to Sir David Attenborough's snippets from his Radio 4 series. Even having heard many of them before did not make them any less pleasing, or edifying, to hear once more.

Having been introduced to Alfred Russell Wallace through the 'O.U.' it was nice to encounter him again through this recording, 'Earthworms' also piqued my interest, having written an essay on them for 'O' level it was amazing to hear even more facts of which I had hitherto been unaware, the yawning chasm between a true professional and a mere 'dilettante' looms here, and which left me with even more respect for these surprising, and very necessary, animals. 'Foreign Fare' is amongst my favourites, if you can pick favourites from an offering replete with gems showing, as it does, the wierd workings of the human mind.

Another BBC 'Tour de Force' from that most erudite, interesting, and captivating of presenters, if ever a man deserved a Peerage it's Sir David Attenborough.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 September 2011
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
David Attenborough is one of the few people I wouldn't mind being stuck in a lift with. Firstly a few calm words from him would definitely lower my blood pressure, and secondly he could keep anyone entertained for hours with stories of the things he's seen and places he's visited.

This radio series is likely to be the closest most of us will get to that kind of one-to-one with Attenborough and it is fascinating listening. From tales of his fossil finding as a schoolboy, to explanations of how he and his documentary crew explored the rainforest canopies, he speaks about his life and experiences with passion and enthusiasm and it makes compelling listening. I am currently one CD into this three CD box set and am now consciously trying to slow down and save some of the audio for long car journeys.

Before now I'd only experienced Attenborough on the TV, but after listening to this series and seeing recommendations for his books, I think I will be exploring more of his work. If you too have only ever seen his TV work, this is an excellent place to start to get to know David Attenborough better...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 September 2011
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
While driving, I can get quite bored of listening to the radio in the car, and often use audio books. I thought this would be something different.

Most people know David Attenborough from the excellent TV work he does, and this CD is very similar. He is very knowledgeable about the subject matter and presents it in an enthusiastic, yet engaging and respectful way. This work is apparently from Radio 4, but as I don't listen to that station I'm glad it's in a compilation such as this (there are 2 volumes - this is the second).

The running time is just over three and a half hours over 3 CDs, and each episode is around ten minutes and has a description in the inlay and gives an idea of the theme - monsters, chimps, fireflies, etc. Incidentally, one of the episodes covers the Born Free story which I didn't expect.

It all felt very familiar as he has a distinct voice and it felt as though he was almost there giving a lecture. Although he has an amazing voice and style, I did find myself lulled from time to time by listening to it - not ideal when driving!

Well worth the money, and it's an excellent way to pass the time whilst learning something new - recommended
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 September 2011
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
If you walk into a rainforest you are immediately met by a forest tree trunks looking like cathedral pillars, smooth and wet from the rain. Looking upwards, not a single branch emerges... David Attenborough's New Life Stories are a real treat. There is a good reason why he is one of the most popular presenters. He knows his stuff and he knows how to deliver it well.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
It sounds like an easy idea for a radio series "be interesting for 10 minutes" but I'm sure most TV or radio personalities would struggle to fill the time. Luckily 'New Life Stories' employed David Attenborough to do the job and this audiobook contains the result - twenty 10 minute radio shows featuring someone who never struggles to remain interesting.

These bite-sized portions of Attenborough are perfect for a short journey or a tea-break but you do find yourself wishing you could see, as well as hear about, the flora and fauna being discussed. The other thing you might wish is that you'd thought to listen to the original series when it was first broadcast on BBC radio rather than having to buy it on CD - but to be fair they're nicely presented and would make a nice gift or keepsake.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 September 2011
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Reviewing David Attenborough seems slightly redundant. Is there anybody does not know who he is, what he does, how he does it, or what he sounds like? I listened to many of these stories when they were first broadcast on radio four and enjoyed how they gave him the opportunity to explore some more quirky or off beat experiences which might not fit into a television documentary. There is no particular connection between the topics, ranging from being hoisted into the rainforest canopy to describing plagues of crickets, other than David Attenborough's evident enthusiasm for them. Because of the format, it is like a collection of short stories and is probably enjoyed more in short bursts than listening through in one go. It gives several hours of enjoyment and information.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 22 August 2012
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I could simply write the words 'Thoroughly pleasant' to describe this product and leave it at that and that would epitomise my opinion of these new 'Life stories' I personally hadn't heard any of these accounts before but I doubt that makes a difference either way.
Attenborough paints such a wonderful picture with his narrative that he creates an incredibly immersive and mesmerising experience for the listener without being over analytical or anamorphic. Not all audio books hang together too well but Attenborough, obviously helped through his enormous experience on radio and tv adds enormously to this particular medium. He is a fantastic teller of stories also and his experiences are wonderfully and amusingly presented here.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I've followed Sir David Attenborough and his broadcasts since I was a child. For me, growing up watching Wildlife On One with my Dad was a special connective experience. Even now watching Sir David's broadcasts I feel not only in the presence of a great storyteller and a great intellect, but also the presence of my Father.

New life Stories is the complete second series of the BBC Radio 4 series. If like me you've listened to the 16CD Life on Air: Memoirs of a Broadcaster, you will be familiar with some of the material here - but to me it mattered not one bit. Here you get 20 stand-alone broadcasts spread over three Audio CDs - all in the region of 10 minutes in length. They're short often quite anecdotal and witty stories. Always interesting. Always fascinating. Unlike Life on Air, you can just dip into these short hymns to natural history and start enjoying them - I listen to them pottering around in the kitchen, driving along in the car, or just for ten minutes in a comfy chair before I go to bed. From Sir David's hatred of Rats, to the story of the Cicada, the missed Charnia opportunity or the discovery and subsequent naming of common vegetables, all of these stories are entirely pleasurable to listen to again and again. I've only had the CD a couple of weeks and I must have listened to most of the stories two or three times over.

Terms like "National Treasure" and "Greatest Living Englishman" surely have no better home than in the safe pair of hands that is Sir David Attenborough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
First broadcast on BBC Radio 4 between the 18th February 2011 and 1st July 2011, as a result of the huge popularity of David Attenborough's first 'Life Stories' series, the follow-up 'New Life Stories' saw Sir David taking the listener through 20 more interesting and inspiring episodes on the natural life around us.

Very much written from Sir David's unique perspective, with personal stories, experiences and antidotes bringing the episodes to life, 'New Life Stories' seems to go just that little bit further than the original `Life Stories' series.

The audio book presentation is split up over three discs, with each jam-packed episode lasting for just 10 minutes apiece. The topics covered across the entire series are as follows:

CD1: Canopy - Kiwi - Charnia - Foreign Fare - Cicada - Earthworm - Wallace
CD2: Hummers - Identities - Rats - Monsters - Butterflies - Chimps - Cuckoo
CD3: Quetzalcoatlus - Chameleon - Nectar - Waterton - Fireflies - Elsa

Like with the first series, there is just such a wealth of knowledge on offer here, that it's nigh on impossible to not get completely wrapped up in the little stories that Attenborough takes the listener through. The vocal presentation is clear & crisp and written with no visual imagery to accompany the episodes in mind. This results in an imagination inspiring dialogue that whisks the reader off into the beauty of the natural world.

Attenborough's undeniable passion for the subjects detailed across the entire series is instantly apparent (including his inherent dislike for rats). With such clear enthusiasm in the topics, an instant and contagious joy for what is being talked about is unconsciously transferred over to the listener. This is most definitely something to listen to which will pick up your mood and get you imagining the wonders that Sir David is detailing within minutes of putting an episode on.

Perfect for uploading onto an iPod or the like for short commutes to work, or indeed for slinging on in the car for brief 10 minute car journeys. This is an excellent collection of audio presentations that you are bound to cherish for many years to come.

FINAL NOTE - The attached 'video' that I knocked up provides you with the majority of the first episode entitled 'Canopy' as well as various pictures of the actual CD boxset. Alas, upon arriving through the post, the case of my boxset was damaged at the top left hand corner, which you can see in the video. This is however unlikely to happen in the vast majority of deliveries.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
David Attenborough's voice is one of the most recognisable in the field of nature documentary and he knows how to share his wealth of knowledge and experience in a way that can draw the armchair listener into realms that might otherwise be unapproachable.

This 3-CD set (total running time 3 hours 20 minutes) comprises an eclectic mix of anecdotes ranging from the evolution of creatures in New Zealand after it physically separated from Australia, the 17-year reproductive cycle of Cicadas through to an eccentric double-jointed Squire who was an early writer of travel books and a society that reveres rats.

These accounts have human interest as well as a perspective on things natural. As a school geology student I shared the aspiration of the young Attenborough to discover an important fossil and felt his disappointment when, after being told that a local quarry was not worth hunting in, he heard that another schoolboy had made a famous find there a few years later.

You don't have to have an instant affinity with the natural world to be captured by these stories and this is an ideal collection to be listened to on dark winter evenings by the fireside. Neither does he patronise the listener and (like Gerald Durrell's work) this collection would serve as relaxed reading for those with an interest in, or working within, the biological sciences.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.