Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting Entertainment!
Snake Bite is a superb one hour and ten minute tale that is read very capably by Frances Barber (who played Madame Kovarian in series 6). Her voice, which is very flexible in the characterisation she gives to the voices of this story, is supported by excellent sound effects and music.

This is Doctor Who at its best - conjuring up a fantastic setting that is so...
Published 18 months ago by Mr. Stephen Redman

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok for fans
There is a danger that the BBC are going to over milk the Doctor Who franchise, and these CDs are a case in point. Whilst the story is probably recognisable to those of us who have been fans for thirty years, the younger audience will miss the point. Yes it has Rory and Amy in, but otherwise it is old school.

I thought it was OK, but my teenage daughter who...
Published 14 months ago by J. Lyne


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok for fans, 15 May 2013
By 
J. Lyne (Forres, Morayshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Snake Bite (11th Doctor Audio Original) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There is a danger that the BBC are going to over milk the Doctor Who franchise, and these CDs are a case in point. Whilst the story is probably recognisable to those of us who have been fans for thirty years, the younger audience will miss the point. Yes it has Rory and Amy in, but otherwise it is old school.

I thought it was OK, but my teenage daughter who joined at Ecclestone didn't think that much of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very average, 16 May 2013
By 
i wrote this "i did" (Bucks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Snake Bite (11th Doctor Audio Original) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you like Rory and Amy, you'll enjoy this.

If you like old-school Dr Who, you might like it even more.

If you are David Tennant and Matt Smith fans, this may leave you a little cold.

Very average and forgettable unless you are a die-hard fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The last for Amy and Rory, 16 May 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Beds UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Snake Bite (11th Doctor Audio Original) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is an alright audio episode of the 11th Doctor series, but it is not a classic story line. The audio book is read by Frances Barber who does a reasonable job, but she is in terms of Doctor Who a minor character from a much earlier season of the series.
This is not a must have unless you are a fanatical fan and must have everything Doctor Who that is produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for fans., 15 May 2013
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who: Snake Bite (11th Doctor Audio Original) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a stand-alone story, more in the tradition of the old-school Dr. Who than in the modern style. It is apparently the last piece of spin-off material to feature Amy and Rory. My wife enjoyed it but my kids, who are both big fans of David Tennet and Matt Smith, found it didn't keep their interest. I have to admit I wasn't overly taken, though perhaps that is just over-saturation on my part, but within a few weeks I found I could barely remember the story. Not a bad item for fans and collectors, but far from the strongest link in the Dr. Who chain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent Eleventh Doctor story that could have been better, 15 May 2013
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Snake Bite (11th Doctor Audio Original) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Amid a sea of lazy audio adventures cashing in on the new TV series over the past few years, Snake Bite emerges as one of the better ones without actually standing out. There's certainly a good hook, with the TARDIS materialising in the middle of a scientific experiment that sends Amy through a wormhole to a dying planet of snake-like creatures. In leather jackets. Despite some initial attempts at misdirection, naturally there's a secret behind both the experiment and the dying planet, and just as naturally it's tearing a hole in the space that threatens to tear the universe in two, which is pretty much all in a day's work for the Doctor. And at times it feels abit like the Doctor is doing the kind of work an emergency plumber charges for by the hour: solid, professional work that stands up to short term use, but not a real labour of love that'll last much longer - for that you'll need to call in someone else. Frances Barber's reading is a bit hit-and-miss too, with too many opportunities for her to ham it up without ever quite losing it. Worth a listen for the fans but nothing that'll make converts of newcomers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another enjoyable Dr Who audio CD, and the last to feature Amy and Rory, 17 April 2013
By 
Keith_Joseph (West Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Snake Bite (11th Doctor Audio Original) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Our top draw Dr Who audio CD sets are those featuring the big guns, e.g. Tom Baker and the awsome Mrs Wibbsey (Susan Jameson) in Demon Quest, and The Sarah Jane Adventures read by Elisabeth Sladen: The Sarah Jane CD Collection. At other times these audio CD stories seem to be read by the lady holding the cat at the rear of the shop, but at least they all have a bone fida Dr Who connection. In this case Snake Bite is read by someone far more memorable: Madame Kovarian (Frances Barber), the eye-patched arch villian who kidnapped River Song and created all sorts of mischief for Dr Who in Season 6 ('Day of the Moon' to 'A good man goes to war' & 'The Wedding of River Song'). As would be expected from the cover, it features the Eleventh Doctor, Amy Pond and Rory Williams. This story involves a failed Higgs-Boson type high energy physics experiment being conducted far in the future, which results in a tear in reality and the universe ripping into two. Probably not as bad as a crack in time, but a problem for the good Doctor none the less. Given the CD artwork and the title, chances are something nasty and snake-like is involved as well. As usual my Dr Who fan'atic teenage daughter and I enjoyed this CD audio story while travelling in the car, and we thought Frances Barber did a decent job reading it, so 4*. Sadly it's the final audio CD in the series to feature Amy Pond and Rory Williams. The single CD run time is 1h 13 mins, and it easily rips to the iPod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mrs Wolf's Tuesday Evening Treat, 20 Feb 2013
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Snake Bite (11th Doctor Audio Original) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Mrs Wolf is a big fan of Dr Who. She knows an awful lot about it. She owns
a Dalek made out of spongy material which threatens to exterminate you when
you press its tummy and a radio controlled model of K-9 (a source of abject
terror for our cat!) She was, therefore, as you can imagine, very excited
when this landed on the doormat.

We have listened to it together; she puffed and sighed a lot and clenched
her fists during the tense bits and I was mildly bemused (the good Doctor
was never quite my thing to be honest!) Frances Barber does a good job with
the narration but I'll admit to being a tad disappointed that she reads it
"straight" rather than put on a few silly voices. The story is as engaging
as tales about worm holes and other such stuff could possibly be and was
certainly enough to maintain Mrs Wolf's attention and interest from top to
tail. I'm afraid I dozed off a couple of times. I'm at that funny age.

A little treat for the aficionado. A duty to be endured for love by her doting husband.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Decent Story and A Good Listen, 10 Feb 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Snake Bite (11th Doctor Audio Original) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Snake Bite is a decent Audio book featuring the 11th Doctor, Amy Pond and Rory.
It is read by Francis Bava who better know to Dr Who Fans as the actress who played Madame Kovarian in the 6th series of Doctor Who.

So the pedigree is good if you like.
Bava reads the story well and it is enjoyable.
Other reviewers have compared the plot to those that were typical of early Dr Who's episodes.
`The old Mad scientist that develops a new contact but it brings with it an malevolent alien presence'. Indeed I must admit to having a feeling of de ja vue. And I feel sure that it won't be just me.

BUT it is an entertaining listen for the car, is a good price and and is a good way to pass the time and that cannot be bad can it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the most thrilling outing for the doctor, 24 Jan 2013
By 
Thomas Pots "T Pots" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Snake Bite (11th Doctor Audio Original) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Francis Barber reads this hour-long story, in which the doctor and company are sucked into a tear in the fabric of space and time, and into an alien intrigue over extinction. The story has a decent idea behind it, and it is told efficiently, but it's not the most thrilling outing for the doctor. The aliens are decidedly old-hat, and there is too little happening to occupy the hour. The doctor is so foppish and unflustered by every turn of events, that he diffuses any sense of peril. Even so, it picks up pace in the second half hour, to a climax that concludes the plot neatly.

I do wish they wouldn't wait until the theme music has finished, rather than talking through it. The sound effects are few, and the reading could do with a bit more urgency about it. Overall, it's not bad value for money, but not a must-have, either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting Entertainment!, 23 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. Stephen Redman (York England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Snake Bite (11th Doctor Audio Original) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Snake Bite is a superb one hour and ten minute tale that is read very capably by Frances Barber (who played Madame Kovarian in series 6). Her voice, which is very flexible in the characterisation she gives to the voices of this story, is supported by excellent sound effects and music.

This is Doctor Who at its best - conjuring up a fantastic setting that is so much bigger in the imagination than CGI could ever make it!

Using a plot that includes a `Ringworld' type space station, wormholes and a race bent on conquest, the story is developed rapidly into a tense saga that ends horribly for the new enemy.

The new enemy is well developed and described to the point that any listener will appreciate the evil and its outworking.

I was totally caught up by the story and enjoyed it immensely. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys `Who' and has some drive-time to while-away or the opportunity to sit down and enjoy this single CD at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Snake Bite (11th Doctor Audio Original)
Doctor Who: Snake Bite (11th Doctor Audio Original) by Scott Handcock (Audio CD - 6 Dec 2012)
9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews