Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Doctor, Jamie and Victoria tackle the weed creature
This brilliant story runs for a whopping 6 hours and 55 minutes - nearly 7 hours on 6 cds, with David Troughton portraying the story of the Second Doctor, Jamie and Victoria as they are caught up in a wild North Sea adventure. I've said it before, but it bears repeating - David Troughton reads these books wonderfully, and his portrayal (as he has done in several audio...
Published 23 months ago by Keen Reader

versus
2 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars doctor who fury from the deep
"when i got my copy from amazone it was smashed to bits in the post the case had fallen a part so i had to buy a copy elise where and pay more the story is ace and well told
Published on 25 Aug 2011 by Nichloas Rich


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Doctor, Jamie and Victoria tackle the weed creature, 26 Aug 2012
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Fury from the Deep (Classic Novels) (Audio CD)
This brilliant story runs for a whopping 6 hours and 55 minutes - nearly 7 hours on 6 cds, with David Troughton portraying the story of the Second Doctor, Jamie and Victoria as they are caught up in a wild North Sea adventure. I've said it before, but it bears repeating - David Troughton reads these books wonderfully, and his portrayal (as he has done in several audio stories) of the Second Doctor is just so spot on you think Patrick's come back to do the voice especially.

This story, which I have never seen on the tv, and which in this novelised and audio format offers a great opportunity for those of us who missed it the first time around, is the last story in which Victoria Waterfield is involved. The Doctor, Jamie and Victoria end up on a wild beach where they are taken as saboteurs by the North Sea gas refinery workmen; but not before they have heard what sounds like a strange noise coming from the gas pipeline. Can they convince anyone that there is a threat, and it's not from them? Or will it be too late by the time anyone takes any notice of their warnings?

This is a great story, and because of its length allows the room for complex story development, and the development of a whole host of characters - the conflict between the refinery chief Robson and his scientific `newbie' Harris is great, as is the attempt by van Luytens to steer a path of common sense towards resolution of the difficulties as they unfold. In the last third or so of the story we also get the `Chairperson' and her officious secretary Perkins who are a comic turn in their own right, really, as are Mr Oak and Mr Quill - by the way, whatever happens to them at the end?

There's a sad turn at the end when Victoria decides to leave the Doctor and Jamie, but it all works out all right for everybody, even if Jamie is not convinced that Victoria should stay behind at all.

A great story, beautifully presented by David Troughton, with just the right sound effects for the awful weed creature and its minions, and a great Second Doctor story, with Jamie and Victoria, and a cast of great characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dematerialization, 7 Jan 2004
By 
Mr. J. C. Snead "jcad141" (goole , east yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One of the best books ever written. An ideal gift for any Doctor who fan. Victor pemberton really knows his stuff and proves that this misssing story ( unfourtunatley destroyed by the BBC)can be one of the best Dr Who stories even without televised material.
Definatley recommended whatever the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A remarakble reading; taut action and a tearful ending, 7 Sep 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who: Fury from the Deep (Classic Novels) (Audio CD)
I hate to say it but the anticipation for the start of Matt Smith's second series in April 2011 failed to garner the same level of eager anticipation that the release of AUDIOGO's unabridged novelisation reading of a 1960s Patrick Troughton story.

The question is why?

Thankfully, the answer is equally simple.

David Troughton.

Across six discs spanning nearly seven hours, Troughton's confident and irrepressible performance (yes, it's slightly more than a plain, off-the-shelf reading) clearly demonstrates - BBC WALES, are you paying attention? - that for a DOCTOR WHO story to grab you assertively around the throat (metaphorically speaking, of course), dragging you deeper within you don't need a complicated time-defying (read: timey-wimey) plotline that even Professor Stephen Hawking would struggle to be engaged with and a budget of a small Micronesian country.

Approachable in his deliver and avuncular in his timbre, Troughton has, for this reviewer at least, become the preferred choice for all unabridged CLASSIC SERIES releases.

Though the televised six-parter was broadcast in 1968 (with the novel published by TARGET BOOKS in 1986), the story itself feels incredulously fresh and astute (its conceit of the human race raping the environment for its rich yet exhaustible resources that would have consequences from the "bogey man" is more on-topic than it was over 40 years ago), added to which that the BBC TAPE ARCHIVE is devoid of any surviving episodes (albeit a selection of clips and studio footage have been located and restored, presented on the BBC DVD 2004 boxset, Doctor Who - Lost In Time [DVD] [1963]) then this reading could be considered as a "brand new DOCTOR WHO story". If you had not been there (1968) then Victor Pemberton's FURY FROM THE DEEP self-penned novelisation would be your first encounter with the evasive "weed creature" that has the unnerving ability to control humans. Patronisingly, when compared next to several NEW SERIES episodes, this Second Doctor adventure is more intelligent, driven by character rather than "tick box" comic vignettes and acted with passion & perilous realism.

And, unsurprisingly, an undaunted David Troughton ensures that professionalism is transferred to this audiobook.

Effortlessly delineating each character with a deftness of a magician, Troughton enriches Pemberton's reliable novel as he jaunts from the soft & reassuring lilt of the Second Doctor to a vulnerable Victorian orphan to a sadistic & business-like tones of Mr. Quill and Mr. Oak. Periodically, his delivery is as aurally engrossing as David Tennant's was as "can't-take-your-eyes-off" performance in Doctor Who - Complete Specials (The Next Doctor/ Planet of the Dead/ Waters of Mars & Winter Specials) [DVD].

Remarkable.

However, I should issue a warning for those who already have had their heart broken by a break-up or a loss that you could be again shedding a tear as Troughton concludes the reading with the departure of the TARDIS as Victoria casts a solitary yet significant figure on the windswept beach.

Supporting Troughton's performance is, once again, Simon Power (MEON PRODUCTIONS), providing a creative eloquence with an incidental music score (cleverly avoiding a 1960s style) and a disturbing, haunting special sound treatment that gathers apace as the unstoppable weed creature and all encompassing foam as it infiltrates seemingly irrevocably the lives of those it touches no matter how briefly.

The ever-present ethereal "heartbeat" of weed creature is particularly effective, hypnotically and dispassionately drawing you against your will.

Predictably, DOCTOR WHO - FURY FROM THE DEEP continues with the highest level of production quality that has become synonymous with this range of unabridged novelisations, but where this release excels is the combination of David Troughton's accomplished delivery and the obscure nature of the story.

An amalgamation that could be, no, should be explored in forthcoming AUDIOGO releases. Troughton reading the novelisations of POWER OF THE DALEKS or EVIL OF THE DALEKS (supported by Nicholas Briggs) would be most welcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great way to catch up on a lost story!, 7 Nov 2013
By 
David H. (Scotland - UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Fury from the Deep (Classic Novels) (Audio CD)
One of the missing Pat Troughton stories - I've only ever heard the BBC Audio Collection sound version which is atmospheric and gives some idea of what we are all missing. This is based on the novel, obviously, and is longer and more detailed. A very worthwhile alternative, I'd say and I'm glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars doctor who fury from the deep, 25 Aug 2011
By 
Nichloas Rich (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Fury from the Deep (Classic Novels) (Audio CD)
"when i got my copy from amazone it was smashed to bits in the post the case had fallen a part so i had to buy a copy elise where and pay more the story is ace and well told
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Fury from the Deep (Classic Novels)
Doctor Who: Fury from the Deep (Classic Novels) by Victor Pemberton (Audio CD - 7 July 2011)
9.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews