Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Womble Stories, 21 Jun 2011
By 
Frederick Harrison (Toronto Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Womble Stories (Vintage Beeb) (Audio CD)
This is a spoken word album and does not contain music.

Nevertheless, it is of interest to Wombles fans as it features six short stories adapted from the original TV series read by the man who narrated and voiced each character on that series - Bernard Cribbins OBE.

Cribbins was a regular on the BBC TV program Jackanory in which was built around the simple idea of reading to children through the medium of television. The Wombles original novels by Elisabeth Beresford were read on Jackanory and the positive response led to the creation of the TV series. The TV series theme became a UK chart hit when its writer, Mike Batt, donned a Womble costume to promote the record. The success of that record led to the Wombles as a pop band who appeared on Top of the Pops and racked up 8 chart hits.

While the TV series is available on DVD and the Womble's music available on CD/download, this album presents the actual stories that made the TV series possible in the first place. One of the unfortunate things about the success of the TV series was that the charm of the original novels, which were written for older readers, was lost in the translation to a five minute TV program.

Cribbins is currently making an audiobook of the Wombles novels for release in 2012 but until then this is a welcome foretaste of what is to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underground, Overground, Wombling freeeee!, 12 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Womble Stories (Vintage Beeb) (Audio CD)
My daughter (Just 7) loves books (Fairies/Famous 5/Pets etc) and cd stories. She has most of them! I saw the Wombles online & thought I'd give it a go! To tell the truth I thought if she didn't like it I'd reminisce ;) But, Thankfully she loves it, I had to actually ask her to put a different CD in after 2 weeks of constant play! ( I told her it'd wear out!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 8 yr old daughter thrilled with this!, 6 May 2012
By 
Mrs. B. S. Kemp "Beth Kemp" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Womble Stories (Vintage Beeb) (Audio CD)
Since getting this at Easter, my daughter has played it over and over until she knows all the stories. There is a good mix here and, of course, Bernard Cribbin's narration is fab and engaging. Absolutely worth getting for any child who's recently discovered the wonderful Wombles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cribbins at his best, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Womble Stories (Vintage Beeb) (Audio CD)
Brought back memories. Great listening to Bernard Cribbins the stories come to life. The Wombles were well ahead of their time with their recycling antics. Good for young and old. Glad they are making a come back. Good price. Quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Womble Stories (Vintage Beeb) (Audio CD)
Bernard Cribbens really is the greatest story teller of all time. Would highly recommend for anyone who loved the series as a child as well as those who never saw it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely stories, beautifully told, 23 Aug 2013
By 
E. Lloyd (Hemel Hempstead, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Womble Stories (Vintage Beeb) (Audio CD)
I bought this to listen to in the car on a long journey with my children, and we all enjoyed the stories. I'd forgotten how brilliant Bernard Cribbins was at the Wombles' voices, and my children loved the fact that they see him on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Womble Stories (Vintage Beeb) (Audio CD)
Son 4 and daughter 7 both enjoy these stories. They were both desperate to see what the wombles looked like so also ended up with DVD. Enchanting stories and voice as read by Bernard Cribbins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasurable trip down memory land, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Womble Stories (Vintage Beeb) (Audio CD)
For anyone who watched the TV show when they were children this CD is a must. My 5 year old listens to it most nights and absolutely loves it. He's transported to Wimbledon Common by the fabulous voice of Bernard Cribbins, it is just delightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wombles stries, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Womble Stories (Vintage Beeb) (Audio CD)
I was pleased with how fast it arived. Our doughter loves lisioning too the storys at bed time. It's great value and at a good price well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Womble Stories (Vintage Beeb) (Audio CD)
This cd is brilliant Bernard Cribbins voice is calming and the stories are interesting enough for my 7 & 5 year old to enjoy. They have heard this tape about 40 times now and still like it at bedtime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Womble Stories (Vintage Beeb)
Womble Stories (Vintage Beeb) by Bernard Cribbins (Audio CD - 3 Feb 2011)
6.55
Usually dispatched within 1 to 2 months
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews