Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars70
3.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£17.30+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
Format: Audio CDVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
First the good news. After a disappointing run of cash-in audio adventures that were light on plot and ideas, The Coming of the Terraphiles is an honest-to-goodness novel - and has been published as such - running just short of 11 hours on nine CDs, complete with fully drawn characters and worlds and an ambitious plot written by a `hard' scifi writer with impeccable credentials. The bad news is that despite Clive Mantle's generally excellent reading, it feels like it's often a little too fully realised to work on audio, with the prologue and opening chapters taken up with so much florid backstory and character detail, often conveyed with plentiful nonsensical wordplay that even Edward Lear might have balked at, that the story seems to take forever to get started and often gets lost in the purple prose when it does. All too often it seems as if even the smallest of actions leads to yet more lengthy description and backgound that would work better on the printed page where you could read (and just as importantly, reread) at your own pace to keep your bearings. Moorcock too often seems more interested in engineering worlds than telling a story: you can't fault the detail even if it is overfamiliar, but you do find yourself wanting him to just get on with it at times.

At times this is more of a Moorcock novel complete with his trademark obsessions and characters - another variation on Jerry Cornelius, more Multiverses, more Arrows of Law - with the Doctor sidelined to a minor player who almost feels shoehorned in, never quite commanding the story and often feeling subordinate to it and the author's already long-established worlds. As such it may well disappoint or alienate some fans of both the series and Moorcock. Certainly it's hard to make a case for this working better as an audiobook than it does on the printed page: this one just doesn't seem quite right as a listening experience and not just because, like other readers before him, Mantle has difficulty with Amy's Scottish accent...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 26 October 2010
Cards on table: I am a big Dr Who fan and a Moorcock fan from the 70s / 80s devouring all the Eternal Champion books wherever I found them. When I heard of this novel I was both astounded and apprehensive - would this be a Dr Who novel written by Moorcock or a Moorcock novel with Dr Who in it?

Well the novel is littered with the Moorcock trademarks - arrows of law, law vs. Chaos, cosmic balance, multiverse and a character named Cornelius. We also need to bear in mind Moorcock's novel for the film Great Rock and Roll Swindle for which he (essentially) reproduced a Jerry Cornelius tale (though a good one!).

We then need to think back to the good Doctor - I am just listening to the Big Finish Key2Time series, and it is clear that the Doctor as well uses the language of law/order vs. Chaos, multiverse, the Key to Time itself is a balance, so actually the language is not that far away.

The novel itself is well paced, very readable and very funny. In fact I was most struck by the sense that the fantastic comic prose describing the bizarre archaic psuedo-cricket / darts / jousting games of the 'plot' (ignoring the hat) could as well have been outpourings of the pen of the most credible of Dr Who champions Douglas Adams.

As a Moorcock fan, I thoroughly enjoyed the look back to Earth history from the distant future - pure Dancers at the End of Time for those that know their Moorcock.

Why only four stars? Well I think too much was added to the Who universe to set the backdrop for the story; Amy was left as a cypher until suddenly taking her place as a key character for the final third; the Doctor himself seemed to have all the faults of the Matt Smith character (appearance over content) and didn't quite capture his strengths of timing and expression. I also didn't like the self-referential ending which also reminded me of the Runaway Train post-ending (i.e. setting up the story by going back in time after the story happened).

I leave though this thought - we've had the Coming of the Terraphiles, what price the Return of the Terraphiles?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 19 July 2013
Being a die hard who fan and a recent Moorcock fan, this book just seemed too good to be true. The Doctor himself, welcomed into the multiverse of Michael Moorcock? Sci-Fi geeks everywhere weeping heavy tears of joy, wiped from the glistening wrap of their mint condition Star Trek top trumps pack with a limited edition wookie wipe.

Obsessive obsessions aside, is this book actually any good? In the immortal words of the tenth doctor "OH YES!" This is not just a gimmicky glueing together of two legends, this is a genuinely brilliant novel!

It's faithful to the Whoniverse and Michael Moorcock manages to beautifully capture the I'm-ever-so-slightly-channeling-Patrick-Troughton eleventh Doctor as played by Matt Smith as well as his companion Amy Pond. Unlike the 45 minute tv format, this book allows for an epic adventure taking in a huge cast of hilarious characters such as Captain Abberly and the Bubbly boys or Frank/Freddie Force and the antimatter men.

The story itself is a typical Russell T Davies style "the whole of reality is in danger" adventure but is still massively enjoyable. Moorcock fills the book with beautiful planets, spaceships and buildings all described in stunning detail. It's fast paced but also incorporates a bit of light relief. The completely jumbled and inaccurate way in which the characters try to recreate Old Earth style is inspired and really very funny.

Every inch of the book smells like Michael Moorcock. From the constant references to the multiverse to the occasional borrowed character (e.g. Captain Cornelius) Moorcock is able to make the story entirely his own whilst staying true to Who. In my own humble opinion, this book perfectly lives up to everything you would expect from this team up. Except, maybe,for the fact that this book is decidedly more family friendly (see less sex and gore) than Michael Moorcocks own work.

Best Doctor Who book I've ever read. And I've read a few. I can only hope that the BBC either request a sequel or find other, equally brilliant authors to continue producing this kind of quality Who.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 28 March 2013
When I first discovered Michael Moorcock's writing many years ago, I found a new world of exciting opportunities in reading. The History of the Runestaff, the Elric sequence, the Dancers at the End of Time - wow, these books were a revelation to me in my reading. I have read and re-read so many of his books now that it was a real thrill to find that he has written a book in my favourite series of all, the wonderful Doctor Who. The book seems to have gathered rather mixed reviews already on Amazon, so I was really not too sure what to expect.

Unfortunately, I couldn't make peace with this book either as a Michael Moorcock book (which, by the way features not only Jerry Cornelius but other elements of Moorcock's universes) or as a Doctor Who book (while the Eleventh Doctor and Amy are not my favourite Doctor Who team by any means, I have read them characterised much more strongly). So, the book rather fell between two stools for me.

I think if you have not read Moorcock's works previously, much of this book would just pass you by completely. But if, like me, you have read Moorcock's works and were reasonably familiar with both his style of writing, and his previous creations, you would find this ultimately unsatisfying.

A pity - not all Doctor Who stories can appeal to all Doctor Who fans, and there are certainly some clunkers I have not enjoyed in the past (Paradise Towers, Mindwarp spring to mind). There are elements in this story which should fall within the Doctor Who realm, and could well be incorporated into a good Doctor Who story, but while this may well appeal to some, I find myself unable to give it much of a positive review.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 22 July 2013
I came to this as a Moorcock as well as a Dr Who fan, but one that has never read any previous Dr Who novels. Throughout the story, I struggled. I read and could visualise the main character as the Doctor but it had that strange detective story slant and featured other obvious Moorcock characters. A similar sort of weirdness as when I read the Douglas Adams' Dirk Gently novels; To me he was obviously Tom Baker Doctor Who but with a different name and background. Overall, I liked it but as the headline says - weird!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 November 2010
Format: Audio CDVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Written by the aclaimed author Michael Moorcock Doctor Who: The Coming of the Terraphiles really does show that the Doctor needs a slegehammer to crack a nut. It has a surreal P.G. Wodehouse style comedic background (compare it to The Code Of The Woosters replace the Cow Creamer with Mrs Banning Cannon's hat), combined with an Agatha Christie style series of mysteries and the Doctor trying to prevent the imminent end of the multiverse, ably assisted by Amy Pond.

It is peppered with references to a whole range of tales, including "The Flying Dutchman", "Who Killed Cock Robin", "Robin Hood" and "Harry Agincourt".

There is an excellent ongoing parody of Cricket (combined with archery) and its obscure rules and incredibly slow progress as a sport.

There are also implicit criticisms of historical receration groups who have a foreshortened perspective on history (e.g. "Roman Times" cover a similar historical duration to the 14th to 20th Century, which interests the Terraphiles) and may well have misunderstood the reality of the past.

It is a well written comedic science fantasy with an entertaining literary background.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
Let me begin by saying I have been a fan of Doctor Who for many years - I followed the classic series and then was overjoyed when it returned to the screen in 2004. I have also read widely of the works of Michael Moorcock and have greatly enjoyed his dark surreal fantasy novels with fascinating characters, anti-heroes such as Elric and Corum. I was therefore, after my initial disbelief, very excited to hear that the BBC had commissioned Moorcock to produce a DW novel.

Unfortunately this failed to satisfy me as EITHER a Doctor Who or Michael Moorcock novel - yet alone both. Doctor Who references were minimal, while characterisation of both the 11th Doctor and Amy was poor. From a Michael Moorcock perspective there were myriad references to "the multiverse" and the battle between "law and chaos", but it was a far cry from the intelligent writing I associate with Moorcock.

The setting was comedic and nonsensical, the characters farcical and the conceptual science bizarrely ridiculous. An awful lot of time was spent playing weird sports events which the rules and terms were never really adequately defined so it was very hard to keep track of who was winning and how they were doing it.

To my mind Moorcock has taken the worst elements of Doctor Who and his own writing rather than the best. From Doctor Who he incorporated the sometimes childish plots and characterisation that is occasionally present in the series but none of the rich history that the series has established, from his own writing he took some of the bizarre conceptual theories but none of the depth of characterisation or sense of epic adventure.

I really regret that this is the case. I was looking forward to this so much.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2014
Michael Moorcock is one of the greatest living fantasists. Choosing him to write a novel for 'Doctor Who' was inspired. In the course of this novel, Mr. Moorcock brings his own interests to the Whoniverse. Once again, we read about the conflict between Law and Chaos, the existence of the Multiverse, and a gaggle of adventurers who must struggle to preserve it. Cracking stuff.

Regrettably, 'The Coming of the Terraphiles' is flawed. Mr. Moorcock writes beautifully about the multiverse, but he hasn't quite captured the voices of established characters. Fans of 'Doctor Who' will know the cadences of the Eleventh Doctor and of his companion Amy Pond. I doubt that any could hear Matt Smith or Karen Gillan recite the dialogue in this book.

In summary, I would suggest that only fans of Michael Moorcock and of 'Doctor Who' should try this novel. Anyone who isn't a fan of either should steer clear.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 27 October 2010
Format: Audio CDVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
There has been a subtle shift in the Doctor's demographic or maybe it is just that those of us who first witnessed the phenomenon back in the 1960s have grown up with it and are now the adults that are still watching it.
Its time slot on television has also gone from its original "children's hour" scheduling to an early evening after the news one and though there is rarely a warning before an episode is shown the graphic detail of some of the more violent episodes can be quite startling. Who knew the Daleks would become cultural icons!!

There have been many writers involved in the ever changing adventures of the Doctor and his ever changing companions ( check out the wikipedia page) but maybe none so illustrious as Michael Moorcock and his current novel "The Coming of the Terraphiles", a novel apparently commissioned by the BBC. Is this an attempt to raise the Doctor's profile even higher or to, in some way, encourage our serious reading of this folk hero. For that is indeed what the Doctor has become in the same way as Superman and his mates are part of the American cultural identity.

Moorcock is a great choice of writer for the furtherance of the Doctor's mythology as he is already steeped in the world of science fiction and easily merges his own meta worlds with that of the Doctor and indeed invited his own hero, Jerry Cornelius along for the ride

The world of Dr Who is now open to anybody who wishes to dip their toe into those fabulous waters the only hope is that it does not become some cosmic soap opera or a venture like Twin Peaks When a different director took over each week and made the story their own.

Although written as a tale for the 11th Dr, Matt Smith you can detect character traits of several other incarnations but then you would wouldn't you as they are all still there within the onion layers that make up the fabulous Doctor's personality

This is a straight reading i.e. no dramatised episodes of the much feted Michael Moorcock novelisation (will it be filmed?) of a new and serious Dr Who episode.
This may well have come as a surprise to hardened Moorcock fans who might find the book a little "light" as in playful.

My only slight warning is that the box set comes in at just under 10 hours in length and once you start you will not want to stop so I suggest either a "sickie" from work or a bout of weekend insomnia.

Enjoy it, it is a splendid addition to the oeuvre.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
A Doctor Who novel. Featuring the Eleventh Doctor and Amy [set at an unspecified point somewhere in his first season]. It's a completely original tale that never appeared in any other medium before book publication.

It runs for three hundred and forty three pages. It's divided into twenty eight chapters. Plus a prologue and an interlude.

In something of a coup for bbc books, this was written by legendary British fantasy and science fiction writer Michael Moorcock.

There are some tie ins to his other work, but you should be able to get into this without having read any of that.

Some mild adult references might not make it entirely suitable for younger readers.

The story sees the universe starting to face chaos, and reality is coming apart. The only thing that can save the day is the arrow of law. A famous artefact. The Terraphiles are a group of beings obsessed with the legends and stories of Earth. They will dress in ancient Earth styles and re-enact Earth ways. Such as cricket matches.

The Doctor and Amy have to join them on a journey where they will compete for the Arrow. All of reality, in the meantime, is hanging in the balance on the outcome of this contest.

Franchise fiction usually has strict rules that those writing it have to abide by, not least that it has to feel like an episode of the programme in question. Doctor Who original fiction of old, from the early 90's to the middle of the last decade, did often try to push the boundaries of that and do stories that were, as they say, too broad for the small screen.

This is another attempt at similar.

You would think that having a writer of Michael Moorcock's pedigree would guarantee a result that would be something special.

Alas, no.

The Doctor and Amy scenes are very good. Especially considering that this came out during their first season so nobody had seen too much of them at the time. He does get Amy exactly right. Also the Doctor, who you might think could easily be the fourth with slight rewrites, but is pretty genuinely the Eleventh.

But the rest of the book isn't so great by comparison.

The first third is written in a very pseudo PG Wodehouse style - in some way reminiscent of Moorcock's Dancers at the End of Time series crossed with Wodehouse - this is initially charming but the total lack of incident in the first third starts to grate. After a while the style just gets irritating as a result, and the narrative only perks up when the Doctor and/or Amy are in the scene.

The second third does expand the narrative, and take the characters on a very imaginative journey. But this is also rather lacking in event and simply doesn't grab as a result.

Things finally come to a head and develop in the last fifty pages. But all in a somewhat rushed and uninvolving manner. By which point it's rather hard to care about any of the supporting cast.

All in all something of a disappointment. The books in this range that try to stick more closely to the established format may not be great literature, but at least they end up usually being better reads than this.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Doctor Who: The Wheel of Ice
Doctor Who: The Wheel of Ice by Stephen Baxter (Paperback - 1 Aug. 2013)

Doctor Who: Dark Horizons
Doctor Who: Dark Horizons by J.T. Colgan (Paperback - 4 July 2013)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.