Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost Classics CD Boxed Set - Finally!!! - Volume 1
Well this is a nice little collection of re-remastered 1960's Hartnell episodes that no longer exist in the BBC Film and Television archives. All the episodes in this box set have been individually released before by the BBC from about 2000 - 2005, however, these little beauties have been specially remastered using all the very latest software. The sound is crystal clear...
Published on 3 Jan 2012 by The Real M.B.E. Of Tooting

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Would buy it if it didn't contain linking audio
If only they would release the audio and no linking narration. I just want to hear the audio as broadcast as I can read the scripts to follow the action.
Published 9 months ago by Blues fan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost Classics CD Boxed Set - Finally!!! - Volume 1, 3 Jan 2012
This review is from: "Doctor Who": The Lost TV Episodes Collection: (1964-1965) No. 1 (Audio CD)
Well this is a nice little collection of re-remastered 1960's Hartnell episodes that no longer exist in the BBC Film and Television archives. All the episodes in this box set have been individually released before by the BBC from about 2000 - 2005, however, these little beauties have been specially remastered using all the very latest software. The sound is crystal clear and really helps the listener to enjoy the programmes. The stories on offer in this value-packed BBC boxed set are;

1.Marco Polo - 7 Episodes - 0 Existing in the archives.
2.The Reign of Terror - 6 Episodes - Episodes 1,2,3,6 exist in the archives.
3.The Crusade - 4 Episodes - Episodes 1 & 3 exist in the archives.
4.Galaxy 4 - 4 Episodes - Newly discovered {2011} episode 3 exists in the archives.
5.The Myth Makers - 4 Episodes - 0 Existing in the archives.

So, now we have cleared that up, on with the reviews.

Marco Polo - A fantastic 7 part epic story from Doctor Who's 1st season, it stars all the regular cast and includes such actors as Mark Eden and Derren Nesbitt, I never listened to this story before or really watched the fantastic full colour reconstruction done by Loose Cannon Productions, however, after 2 years of putting it off, I finally gave this story the time of day and really enjoyed it, it stands as probably the best Hartnell historical ever, if not for the Aztecs it would be no. 1 for me. The epic feel to this drama is fantastic and all I can say is that it does not disapoint at all, the actors are all on top form and you get a feel that they are all having tremendous fun whilst working on this story. The direction from Waris Hussein is great and he really uses all the space available to him. This is a personal fav of mine now. I must recommend you also try the Loose Cannon Reconstruction of this story as well as the great audiobook from the Beeb.

The Reign of Terror - Never a favourite of mine, this story really drags for me and it really could have been a better 4 parter, the actors are fine but William Hartnell carries the show for me here. Its not as if everybody but Hartnell is left out, Barbara has her own romantic agenda and Ian is quite happy playing spies. Susan is busy screaming as usual and the quest cast are all to busy not trusting each other to notice anything. Overall, this is my least favourite Hartnell historical. Its nothing personal, or maybe it is. Who knows?

The Crusade - Far to short to be taken seriously, its a tale of waring kings and brave noble men. The TARDIS crew are yet again embroiled in events unfolding in the holy land, I never thought I would say this but The Crusade could do with an extra couple of episodes to help it live up to its serious tone. The serial is of decent quality and as always the regulars put in extra special perfomances because its a historical and since most actors from the 60's were classically Shakespearian, they feel quite at home here than in the distant future stories. The story is ok but I personally would rate it 3 stars. Its just not long enough for a real story to unfold.

Galaxy 4 - My favourite story in this set, I know this has its faults and even I am aware that it is slated by fans but since episode 3 was recovered in December 2011, I feel myself wanting to relive the story with a fresh heart. I saw this story in full a couple of years ago via Loose Cannon's reconstruction of it and the visual's really helped sell it to me, I can't wait to see the newly found part 3 but that aside I have always been a supporter of Galaxy 4.
The villain in this serial, Maaga, is chilling, she is gorgeous but so cold and evil. As with many of Doctor Who's villains they are ugly and repulsive to the eye, the Rill's are no exeption to this but in this adventure are perculiarly the good guys, a bit machine like and cold I grant you but nevertheless good inside. I personally love this quaint story and am glad that episode 3 has reared its head so we can all finally judge Galaxy 4 from actually viewing it. 10/10.

The Myth Makers - The final story of this first volume boxed set and what a close to the days events we have, Myth Makers is a classic Who story by far, all 4 episodes have been obliterated and believe me I'm upset at this, just like any missing episode of Doctor Who. This story really needed part 4 to still exist though, the events that lead up to the finale are epic, as with Marco Polo, this is a story that takes place over time. This story kept me glued to the screen {Loose Cannon} when I watched it and the Audio for this adventure as narrated by Peter Purves is exeptional. The recordings are clear, you can hear a pin drop, well done Mark Ayres we love you, the Myth Makers is well worth a listen, the cast are impressive and alot of well known faces appear here, which famously made a certain Hartnell jealous. All in all 10/10 for this classic piece of British television.

To finish my review of this CD boxed set and its contents, I will say BARGAIN, ABSOLUTE BARGAIN, us Doctor Who fans are truly privileged that the BBC are releasing eveything to do with this show in every format out there, weekly.

This is a great edition to any Whovian's collection and certainly has pride of place on my shelf.

Many thanks for your time.

M.B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost Classics made available, 28 Feb 2011
This review is from: "Doctor Who": The Lost TV Episodes Collection: (1964-1965) No. 1 (Audio CD)
Firstly, let me start by saying that the title of the review isn't completely accurate. All of the CDs in this set (bar the bonus disc) have been released before.

As I'm sure your aware, a good portion of Doctor Who from the 1960s no longer exist in the BBC Archives. But thanks to the work of dedicated fans armed with their audio tape recorders, we can now enjoy the soundtracks of these lost episodes, accompanied by linking narration from a member of the cast who worked on the story. The stories in this set consist of Marco Polo, The Reign of Terror, The Crusade, Galaxy 4 and The Myth Makers. Of these 5, four of them are historicals, with only Galaxy 4 being a sci-fi oriented adventure, but don't let that discourage you. All the stories in this set are brilliant in their own way.

Marco Polo: The earliest story to be missing from the BBC, this is a fantastic historical story, detailing the Doctor and his friends' journey with Marco Polo as he travels to Peking. Despite being seven episodes long, the story rattles along nicely, with several good action moments, though this one does center a lot on the characters and their relationships with each other. Marco Polo's journal entries help sustain the fact that the story takes place over several months, which helps make it feel epic.

The Reign of Terror: I approached this not knowing whether I'd enjoy it or not, and I am glad to say that I thoroughly enjoyed it, though slightly less than Marco Polo. Whilst previous historicals had all featured noteworthy historical characters, this is the first story to feature a major historical event, namely the French Revolution, which helps add a sense of urgency to affairs. For some reason, I think this works particularly well on audio, and I thought that Carole Ann Ford's narration complimented the story well. This serial is also lighter in tone compared to previous historicals, sadly this is where it is inferior to Marco Polo, but otherwise it is another great story.

The Crusade: I had previously seen the extant episodes on the fabulous Lost in Time DVD set, as well as listening to the soundtracks of tghe missing episodes that were also included. At the time, because of the lack of linking narration to piece the story together, I lost track of what was happening quite quickly, and for a while it remained one of my least favourite stories ever. Thanks to the narration included on the CD however, I have managed to cotton on to the story, and am now happy to say I enjoy it immenesely, with partivcular praise going to Julian Glover, who plays King Richard.

Galaxy 4: The only sci-fi entry in the set, Galaxy 4 is probably my favourite story out of the five, probably because in all honesty, I do prefer the Science Fiction stories over the historical ones. The Chumblies are cute without being annoying and I enjoy some of the dialogue given to the Drahvins, which makes them sound really alien. The planet the Drahvins are trapped on is described beautifully on CD, and I can only imagine what it must have looked like beyond what is available to see in the surving six minutes of footage ibcluded on the Lost in Time set.

The Myth Makers: Probably the weakest story in the set, but that doesn't stop it from being somehat enjoyable. A Doctor Who Version of Carry on Cleo, the story is at times really funny, but once again I don't think that this suits the historical stories as well as it should.

All in all a fantastic set of stories that no Doctor Who fan should be without. If you don't want to fork out for this set, you can find them individually around Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A superb product that is much needed in the Doctor Who canon, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Doctor Who": The Lost TV Episodes Collection: (1964-1965) No. 1 (Audio CD)
This collection of CDs is a must have for the fan of Hartnell-era Who. Collecting all of Hartnell's missing stories up to and including "The Myth Makers", the beauty is somewhat bittersweet, as one wonders how much better it would have been to see Marco Polo, The Reign of Terror or The Crusade on the screen. The availability of two episodes of The Crusade on the Lost in Time box set and the upcoming release of The Reign of Terror and Episode 3 of Galaxy 4 make it easier to imagine how these stories would have appeared, but to have a way of hearing the entire stories is a gift indeed. The only downside is the occasional slip of audio quality due to the medium through which the sound was originally recorded. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Always good to hear the voices of the original cast., 3 Jun 2013
By 
G. East (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Doctor Who": The Lost TV Episodes Collection: (1964-1965) No. 1 (Audio CD)
The full price is not cheap, but I was able to get this at a good reduction. I was surprised how much I enjoyed listening to this and will considering getting over audio options. I remember as a 10 year old being a bit frustrated watching Marco Polo. I was impatient to see the doctor and companions get back into the Tardis and move on. Thought thoroughly enjoyed listening to it again recently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Doctor Who": The Lost TV Episodes Collections, 9 May 2013
This review is from: "Doctor Who": The Lost TV Episodes Collection: (1964-1965) No. 1 (Audio CD)
I have to say, without a doubt, that these stories are the best CDs I've ever owned!

Having bought all of the Doctor Who The Lost TV Episodes Collections chronologically, I have been able to fill otherwise gaping holes in my ever expanding Doctor Who DVD collection. The quality is fabulous and each story is presented in it own case with booklet and track listing. If you divide the price by how many episodes there are in each collection you will find that they are being sold at very reasonable prices per episode, meaning a good bargain for any who fan.

I am very pleased with these lost who classics both in their presentation and in their restoration, and I would recommend them all. (Doctor Who: The Lost TV Episodes: Collections 1,2,3,4,5,6)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who The Lost TV Episodes Collection 1, 9 May 2013
This review is from: "Doctor Who": The Lost TV Episodes Collection: (1964-1965) No. 1 (Audio CD)
Dozens of "Doctor Who" TV episodes are lost as visual film recordings - but they survive as audio soundtracks, digitally remastered with additional linking narration by members of the original cast. This handsome 12CD box set collects together five adventures which are either wholly or partially lost from the TV archives, but which can be enjoyed in their entirety on audio. Presented in chronological order of transmission, the stories in this collection are "Marco Polo", "The Reign of Terror", "The Crusade", "Galaxy 4", and "The Myth Makers", all starring William Hartnell as the original Doctor. It also includes bonus interviews with William Russell (Ian), Carole Ann Ford (Susan) and Maureen O'Brien (Vicki) in which they recall their time as Doctor Who companions; colour scans of the original TV camera scripts for all 25 episodes, presented as PDF files and a JPEG map showing the route taken by the Doctor and his companions in the company of the explorer Marco Polo. "The Lost TV Episodes Collections" are presented in an attractive tuck-end slipcase. Each individual story is presented in its own rigid case with accompanying sleeve notes, cast & production credits and full track listing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Legacy of the Doctor's First Time-Travelling Encounters Becomes Available as an Audio Reminder, 27 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. Nicholas Pearson "Cert HE (Open)" (Herne Bay, Kent. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Doctor Who": The Lost TV Episodes Collection: (1964-1965) No. 1 (Audio CD)
During the 1970s, the BBC implemented its mass purging policy of old videotapes in order to make room in their stock offices. This meant that a lot of the Doctor Who serials concerning the first, second and even third doctors were erased from the system. Now that Doctor Who has grown so immense in popularity, this is something that the BBC is attempting to rectify, by leading investigations into finding lost episodes from outside sources, such as film collectors or foreign television broadcasters. The purging was before the notion of home media took effect, and subsequently television producers realised that there was a lot of money to be made in this mass home media distribution in the form of LPs, beta-max/VHS and, most recently DVD.
A lot of Doctor Who fans have searched high and low for odd copies of these missing episodes and there have been some surprising discoveries. However, at this moment, all that remains of these serials are the original television soundtracks in audio form, which were lovingly recorded by fans at the time of broadcast with the use of sound-capturing devices. These were sent to the BBC and through digital clean-up and remastering, were released as individual audio-book titles, with linking narration by original cast members, in order to bridge the gap between these lost stories. All of these titles have been previously released individually, some as part of the 'BBC Radio Collection' and others as part of the current 'BBC Audio' imprint, with the latter including bonus interviews with the cast members of the particular serials they were a part of.
This first-volume box-set incorporates the first five lost TV Episodes that were previously released individually. These are:
* Marco Polo (1964) - in which the Doctor, Ian, Barbara and Susan find themselves in twelfth century Cathay and in the presence of Marco Polo, the Venetian explorer. They become his unwilling prisoners and become involved in a conspiracy to assassinate the Kublai Khan, all while attempting to get back to the Tardis, which has been seized in order to be presented as a royal gift.
* The Reign of Terror (1964) - The Tardis lands in the the midst of the French Revolution, during which the Doctor, Ian, Barbara and Susan get separated. They must find each other and avoid being sold as slaves or jailed/executed, after which they become involved in the events of French history.
* The Crusade (1965) - The First Doctor, Ian, Barbara and Vicki land in the time of the Third Crusade, in the midst of the Holy war between King Richard and the Saracens. Barbara gets kidnapped by the Saracen leader and a newly Knighted Sir Ian sets out to find her and bring her back safely. Meanwhile, The Doctor and Vicki become embroiled in royal court intrigue.
* Galaxy 4 (1965) - The Tardis lands on an unnamed planet inside Galaxy 4, on which two space-ships have crash-landed following an attack. The Doctor, Vicki and Steven must find a way to get off the planet before it naturally comes to its destructive end, whilst trying to avoid the beautifully menacing Drahvin clones and their leader, Maaga.
* The Myth Makers (1965) - The First Doctor, Vicki and Steven find themselves in the midst of the mythical Trojan War, and must find a way to let history take its course while attempting to get back to the Tardis unscathed. The Trojan Horse makes a surprising entrance and Vicki makes a shocking departure.
Four out of five of these serials are of the historical genre, which were the staple of the period, being in rotation with the more science-fiction rich stories that complemented them. There is a condensed thirty minute version of 'Marco Polo' as an extra on the DVD release titled 'The Beginning', which includes the first three serials of the programme in box-set form. 'The Reign of Terror' has subsequently been released on VHS, with Carole Ann Ford providing some in-character linking narrative for the two missing episodes. Most recently, it has been released on DVD with the two missing episodes being animated in order to finally complete the serial as a visual experience. Additionally, 'The Crusade' has also been released on VHS, with in-character linking narrative provided by William Russell, who played Ian. This was subsequently included on the DVD 'Lost in Time: Collection of Rare Episodes: The William Hartnell Years 1963-1966', which includes the audio soundtrack for the two interlinking missing episodes. This DVD also includes a few 8mm off-air clips of various lost serials, ranging from a few seconds to a few minutes or so. Most recently, the third episode of 'Galaxy 4' has been discovered (2011), titled 'Gridlock' and has been released as an extra (with linking information) on the special edition release of 'The Aztecs'. All five serials are of vital importance to Doctor Who lore and provide a glimpse of how the First Doctor travelled and how his personality evolved following the introduction of his human companions.
The BBC Restoration Team have subsequently digitally remastered the sound quality from the initial release of the older soundtracks and the CD cover artwork has been touched up, with the incorporation of the new BBC Logo that is prevalent on all BBC media releases. Also included is an extra bonus disc (located in the back of the 'Marco Polo' jewel case) that contains the interviews recorded for the initial releases, with participation from Carole Ann Ford, Maureen O'Brien and William Russell (who played Susan, Vicki and Ian respectively). This also includes PDF versions of the five scripts and a map of Cathay showing the route that Marco Polo, the Doctor and his companions took with the Tardis in the relevant serial, along with some historical background on Marco Polo's real-world character and journey. This volume certainly is a must for any Whovian's shelf and is a testament to the classic series that started the Doctor's televised legacy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent substitute until the video is found., 24 Jan 2011
By 
Sharon Woodward "DGTW1" (A land where the Laserdiscs roam free!) - See all my reviews
This review is from: "Doctor Who": The Lost TV Episodes Collection: (1964-1965) No. 1 (Audio CD)
Good audio recordings of the actual TV production sound, captured here and linked by extra narration from the cast to make full adventures of otherwise lost episodes. It works very well too.

It is good to hear them. It is just a shame that there were no video recorders back then to replace the footage.

Shame on the BBC for being so short sighted and wiping so much invaluable stuff. I bet that they are kicking themselves now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Would buy it if it didn't contain linking audio, 11 Oct 2013
By 
This review is from: "Doctor Who": The Lost TV Episodes Collection: (1964-1965) No. 1 (Audio CD)
If only they would release the audio and no linking narration. I just want to hear the audio as broadcast as I can read the scripts to follow the action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

"Doctor Who": The Lost TV Episodes Collection: (1964-1965) No. 1
"Doctor Who": The Lost TV Episodes Collection: (1964-1965) No. 1 by William Hartnell (Audio CD - 5 Aug 2010)
70.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews