Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unless you're like, successful and stuff...
For the uninitiated, Ed Reardon's Week is a radio comedy about a carmudgeonly writer whose best work is behind him and whose work these days is best done before lunch, if you catch my drift. Those who have listened to 'Week, will know how detailed and well thought out the scripts are; jokes are cross referenced, characters are developed. The actors throw themselves into...
Published on 22 Nov 2010 by E. Granter

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fairly enjoyable. But a comedy? Really?
I was initially intrigued enough into ordering this product by the line used to promote it which reads: 'The funniest sitcom ever to grace Radio 4' Given the excellent competition I thought this was worth checking out.

Christopher Douglas supplies the voice of Ed, a financially-strapped writer, and also co-wrote the series with Andrew Nickolds. He plays the...
Published on 14 July 2010 by G. J. Oxley


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fairly enjoyable. But a comedy? Really?, 14 July 2010
By 
G. J. Oxley "Gaz" (Tyne & Wear, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ed Reardon's Week: Series 3 (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was initially intrigued enough into ordering this product by the line used to promote it which reads: 'The funniest sitcom ever to grace Radio 4' Given the excellent competition I thought this was worth checking out.

Christopher Douglas supplies the voice of Ed, a financially-strapped writer, and also co-wrote the series with Andrew Nickolds. He plays the role well - he's curmudgeonly, totally lacking in social graces, and allows himself to become increasingly frustrated over trivial, and sometimes not so trivial, things.

The series itself is reasonably well observed and clever but, for me, it's only occasionally amusing, and frequently seems to go in clichéd directions. I constantly found myself asking: Is this really a comedy?

I have very wide ranging comedy tastes - from slapstick, through farce and epigrammatical wit right up to the surrealistic humour of say, 'The Mighty Boosh'. I also listen/watch/read across the complete range of media: books, live stand-up, sitcoms, radio, movies etc, but I'd rank this very much in middle territory - i.e. average. It's not bad and it features some great supporting performances, but the bottom line is this: it didn't make me laugh. 'The funniest sitcom ever to grace Radio 4'? Most assuredly not.

Question to fans of the series: I listened to only the first three of the half hour programmes - did I miss the best ones?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unless you're like, successful and stuff..., 22 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ed Reardon's Week: Series 3 (Audio CD)
For the uninitiated, Ed Reardon's Week is a radio comedy about a carmudgeonly writer whose best work is behind him and whose work these days is best done before lunch, if you catch my drift. Those who have listened to 'Week, will know how detailed and well thought out the scripts are; jokes are cross referenced, characters are developed. The actors throw themselves into the task of drawing the listener into a latter day 'Grub Street' of flats over the kebab shop, incompetent literary agents, dodgy jockeys and lunch at The Connaught. Except poor old Ed hardly ever makes it there and must usually be content with lunch avec the lovely Ping in a chain pub.

Through a glass - more like a bottle - of 'Cab 'Sav darkly, the financially challenged Ed takes on bailiffs, plumbers, Hollywood superstar chums and rival writers, armed only with a pen, a pipe, and a royalty cheque from Malawi for that episode of Tenko he did in 1982. Mention must be made of Ed's feline fellow traveller Elgar, who seems to have a higher standard of living than our protagonist, and cultivates a costly Whiskers Senior habit. A highlight of this series for me is The Dig; only Ed Reardon would seek sanctuary from debt collectors by volunteering on an archaological site (with predictably hubristic results).

I could write about this show all day, the assininity of modern culture, the exploitation of the artist in modern society, the creeping debasement of the literary arts by hordes of chewing gum brained twelve year olds who... hello!? hello!? No, gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Misery has Company, 2 April 2012
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ed Reardon's Week: Series 3 (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Having never heard any of these before I wasn't sure what to expect.
Ed is a grumpy (not so) old man who's writing career is put on hold due to his laziness & life's best efforts to thwart him at every turn.
A perpetual moaner who enjoy's nothing more than a well thought out gripe being popped into the post. His joy however becomes beyond measure if he can use his newspaper column to point a sharp word or two at some unsuspecting victim. His attempts at an obituary piece highlight just how ill advised this can be.
He ought to be unlikeable but he is very well voiced by Christopher Douglas & is written surprisingly sympathetically.
As well as Ed there are the staff at the paper, including the excellent Stephanie Cole & ruthless boss John Fortune. On occasion David Warner turns up as his father, a totally selfish swine, and steals the whole show. Sally Hawkins provides a great vehicle for Ed's disdain as his '12 year old' agent Ping.
The writing is everything here as the characters are well rounded and given some great lines. The final episode which see's Ed's efforts to write a play packed with product placement is inspired stuff.
A winning combination of sharp writing, likeable characters & excellent acting make for a very enjoyable couple of hours. This is rarely belly laugh stuff but is consistently funny nevertheless and there is something recognisable in Ed's occasional efforts to put down the wine glass & cigar to try something that you know will eventually go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars material great, media poor, 29 Jun 2011
This isn't about the quality of the writing or acting of Ed Reardon's week - you probably buy because you've heard it on the radio. What I need to say is about the download format. I have series 1 and 2 on CD and listen in the car on my many journeys, but for cost savings I bought series 3 as a download. I thought it would download as 6 separate episodes that I could burn onto CD, 2 per CD. However, it downloads as a protected format and you have to download audible's software to get it and then download software for the mobile device you want it transferred to if you want to listen on anything but your computer. IT DOWNLOADS AS ONE FILE OVER 2 HOURS LONG. Tried as I might I couldn't burn it or even import it into an audio editor to split it up then burn each episode. I contacted customer care at audible and they confirmed it was protected and you just don't get it in an MP3 format. They linked me to an instruction page on how to burn the CDs. You have to use Apple iTunes version 10 or above (and I don't want to download that just for this file) and from there you can burn multiple CDs of 77/78 mins long each - REGARDLESS OF WHERE THE EPISODE BREAKS ARE! So for this series you would get 2x28 min episodes plus some of the third onto the first CD. I going to have to copy my downloaded file onto a memory stick and take it to a friends' house who has iTunes to get what I thought would be a cheap and easy way of getting Ed on CD. next time I'll stump up the extra for the official CD set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great comic creation, 9 Sep 2010
By 
A. R. Gallagher (Bedfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ed Reardon's Week: Series 3 (Audio CD)
I've said it elsewhere, but Ed Reardon is one of the greatest comic creations of recent years. Like his namesake in Gissing's New Grub Street, he is highbrow and impoverished (the two are related), but otherwise there is no resemblance between the characters. Ed's elegant use of the English language is a joy to listen to, so much so that I have caught myself using some of his phrases in real life - "is there someone older I can speak to?", for example. Each week, Ed has success dangled in front of him; and each week, almost without exception, success is cruelly snatched away at the last minute. I am sure I am not the only listener who cares about Ed, and therein lies the secret of the programme's success. I play these CDs over and over again and never get tired of listening to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb! How have I missed this?, 18 Aug 2010
By 
K. Galvin "loolabub" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ed Reardon's Week: Series 3 (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am a regular listener to radio 4 so can't believe that I haven't stumbled across Ed Reardon's week before. I think I tune out a lot of R4 comedy as it sometimes seems very cliched and laboured and really not very funny. The real gems (Partridge, Boosh, John Shuttleworth, League of Gentlemen) are few and far between. I think this may be one of them though!

The character Ed Reardon is a divorced and struggling writer living on little more than royalties from an episode of Tenko written back in the 80s. Once a bright young talent he resorts to ever more desperate loosely literary opportunites to pay the bills and the upkeep of his companion and confidant Elgar (his cat). These include writing a murder mystery, obituaries, going undercover as a store detective, and inventing a childhood of abuse for a misery memoir. These all lead inevitably to comic farce but the real joy is in the language of Ed's descriptions of his downward spiral as he taps away on his typewriter, along with the gently comic chorus of his elderly students at his writing class. Both disillusioned but oddly stoic I became ever more sympathetic to Ed as the series progressed. The last episode ended in a very poignant manner and even brought a tear or or two.

Really enjoyed this and am now enjoying the latest series on radio 4. Will be seeking out his past escapades too. Oh and I passed this on to my mother who really enjoyed it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ed reardon Series 3, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ed Reardon's Week: Series 3 (Audio CD)
Item arrived within prescribed time limits was securely packaged and is as described and is exactly just what was required. Keeps me amused in car and can't wait for other CDs in collection to be of comparable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sophisticated Comedy, 20 April 2013
By 
This review is from: Ed Reardon's Week: Series 3 (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you are unfamiliar with writer Ed Reardon's adventures it may take an episode or two to get into our self-righteous disheveled hero's state of mind. However, once it clicks there is much comedy gold to be had from some of these comic tales. Ed will write or indeed do virtually anything to scrounge a few quid and there is much fun to be had when he goes somewhat over the top selling product placements in his latest radio play, joins a secret mystery shopping group, becomes the on location writer for a murder mystery weekend and even ends up on an archaeological dig. These programs aren't of the joke every few seconds variety but rather develop wonderful comic scenarios which build up the laughs as they progress. Very clever writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps start with series 1..., 19 April 2013
By 
Withnail67 (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ed Reardon's Week: Series 3 (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A fun series, but quite rooted in R4 comedy traditions... and as such something of a 'Marmite' comedy. Risky having such a popinjay as ER as the protagonist, but his recurrent puncturing follows in the established traditions of Basil Fawlty and Captain Mainwaring.

Lots of in-jokes and assumed knowledge suggest series 1 might be a better place to start. If you find R4 comedy a little cosy and safe, this is fun, but unlikely to change your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay Funny And Clever, 4 Jan 2013
By 
pablo "scoon2" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ed Reardon's Week: Series 3 (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Sometimes this is more clever than hilarious but the wring is always top notch.Ed should be an unlikeable character but Chris Douglas does bring out the good side of the character.
The situations are always believable and Ed's bizarre outlook on life and the clashes therein are always worth a listen.The CD does stand repeated listenings as you get jokes you missed the first time round..
Not a bad way to spend a few hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa712c660)

This product

Ed Reardon's Week: Series 3
Ed Reardon's Week: Series 3 by Christopher Douglas (Audio CD - 3 Jun 2010)
12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews