Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Veritable Showcase of Ronnie Barker's Versatility
I have many fond memories of watching the Two Ronnies on television in the '70s and '80s. I always, rightly or wrongly, regarded Ronnie Barker as the clever one of the two. That said, it should be pointed out that neither Ronnie was the 'straight man' unlike virtually all other successful comedy duos of the era including their main competition at the time - Morcambe and...
Published on 6 Nov 2010 by Robert Groom

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Comic genius of the pre-eminent Ronnie
This is a collection of classic sketches and bit and pieces first aired on BBC radio and contains the classic immaculate timing and hilarious wordplay that Ronnie Barker is most famous for, whether it be with the other Ronnie or on the classic tv sitcoms Open All Hours and Porridge. A lot of these sketches may sound a little dated to younger ears but for lovers of...
Published on 23 Jun 2011 by Jeff Markham


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master of Comedy!, 11 Nov 2010
By 
G. Wylie "george11171" (Scottish Highlands) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ronnie Barker's Lines from My Grandfather's Forehead (Classic BBC Radio Comedy) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Great collection of comedy sketches. With his razor sharp wit and zany sense of humour, Barker has you literally sitting on the edge of your seat waiting for the unexpected twist in the tale with growing anticipation. Expect the unexpected in this production!

With almost schizophrenic ease, Barker flits from one hilarious characterisation to another in a quality recorded collection of fun. He is ably assisted by Terence Brady and Pauline Yates while the mood, throughout, is greatly influenced by the accompanying, well chosen music; especially the varied piano selections performed by Gordon Langford.

Highly recommended addition to any comedy audio library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LEGEND OF COMEDY, 22 Oct 2010
By 
T. J. Bacon "TJB" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ronnie Barker's Lines from My Grandfather's Forehead (Classic BBC Radio Comedy) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is pure brilliance.

Ronnie barker was a comedy genius and this perfectly mastered recording from the BBC radio archive shows his brilliance as writer [Barker used the pseudonym Gerald Wiley] and solo performer.

Interestingly this collection of sketches also includes writing by David Nobbs and acclaimed playwright Harold Pinter.

The comedy may not always have you laughing out loud but the wit at work is superb and like a comforting blanket should be enjoyed with a hot mug of tea and a cosy place to sit.

The only downside to this collection is that it lasts 1 hour 50 mins, which is why I haven't given it 4 stars.

Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Template, 27 Sep 2010
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ronnie Barker's Lines from My Grandfather's Forehead (Classic BBC Radio Comedy) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Having achieved the status of comedy legend it's too easy to simply settle down to the inspired potty ramblings of 'the two Ronnies, the barbed wit of Fletcher in 'Porridge' or perhaps the somehow never stale situation comedy of 'Open all hours' and then forget about Ronnie Barkers earlier work.
His work with David Frost is well reported on but this from the early 70's was something I knew nothing about and looked forward to hearing. It's a sketch show, whatever the pretentious intro announcement might say, and is a collection of monologues and brief sketches.
The first one on disc 1 pretty much sums up the whole show. Barker delivers one of his bumbling monologues laden with words mis-pronounced and misplaced to produce double-entendre and some amusing moments. However as the sketch advances the joke becomes laboured and when it finishes with the whole joke being spelled out then the humour is lost and the effect is a feeling of having been condescended to. These were nearly 40 years ago and so some allowances need to be made but in truth this is a bit like listening to all the sketches the two Ronnies threw out!
There are some funny ideas and not all fall flat but there is the is a distinct feeling of an artist still learning his craft and not yet quite knowing what lines to put where and when to end a joke.
An interesting collection and not at all bad. It's just that this is up against some of the finest comedy material ever written by the same man and it is some way short of the genius at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Proof that not EVERYTHING Barker did was brilliant, 30 Nov 2010
By 
IWFIcon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ronnie Barker's Lines from My Grandfather's Forehead (Classic BBC Radio Comedy) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I like Ronnie Barker. Nay, I think he's one of the funniest British comedians ever. Classic TV moments abound in his resume.

I had never heard of this radio series prior to listening to this and two hours later I can fully understand why. To say this hasn't aged well would be an understatement.

The genius of the man is still there is parts but there is something that just doesn't click here. Too many sketches meander on to little effect and it's perhaps true to say that Barker's ability to "become" any character he chose just doesn't go down as well without seeing him inhabit his characters.

For completists only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 12 Oct 2010
By 
Lucy Lavande - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ronnie Barker's Lines from My Grandfather's Forehead (Classic BBC Radio Comedy) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It's easy to see why Ronnie Barker was hailed a comedy genius. I'm only familiar with his work on the Two Ronnies, so it was very enjoyable to hear some of his other work. Barker's humour is insightful and clever, and often poignant. Here you will find, amongst many other jewels, the serpent in the Garden of Eden in the guise of an encyclopaedia salesman, and a beautiful, wry song about a castle which withstood centuries of battles, only to fall to urban sprawl. Fans of Barker, or indeed comedy, shouldn't be without this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Curate's Egg, 21 Sep 2010
By 
T. Walker (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ronnie Barker's Lines from My Grandfather's Forehead (Classic BBC Radio Comedy) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I love Ronnie Barker's stuff, let me state that up front.
This is material I haven't come across before - probably because it was on radio rather that TV. Lots of it is very funny indeed, but some of it is dated and sort of, well, bitty. Nonetheless, if you like Ronnie Barker, you'll like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL..........................., 18 Sep 2010
By 
Saturnicus "Saturnicus" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ronnie Barker's Lines from My Grandfather's Forehead (Classic BBC Radio Comedy) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Ronnie Barker was the greatest comedian of all time and his retiral from our television screens was a monumental loss and disappointment to his huge fan following.
On this 2 CD set are four classic episodes from his radio show. Typical Ronnie, with himself as one of the writers, we have the usual bandwagon of sketches, poems, songs and endless one-liners, not to forget the usual lavatory humour. Quite near the bone at times, only Ronnie would get away with this but he was never without the double entendre.
This little set is a must for all of us who loved him and should definitely not be missed. This is Ronnie Baker at his best.
Get it.............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dated and not very funny, 24 Nov 2010
By 
MisterKeith (Southgate, London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ronnie Barker's Lines from My Grandfather's Forehead (Classic BBC Radio Comedy) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Having grown up on "The Two Ronnies" and "Open All Hours", I was really looking forward to this. Sad to say, but it's a real disappointment. For many of the gags, the set up is so obvious that you can see the punchline coming a mile off, and, occasionally, the punchline in your head is funnier than what transpires. Add to this that the humour simply hasn't aged well, and there's little to be gained from this other than as a mildly interesting curio. Compared with the "Round The Horne" series of CDs, this simply isn't that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Misfiled under 'Comedy', 21 Oct 2011
This review is from: Ronnie Barker's Lines from My Grandfather's Forehead (Classic BBC Radio Comedy) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
An eccentric collection of sketches not without odd moments of charm, but don't expect any laughs (except at how bad the punchlines are, when there is one).

Stick it next to Paul McKenna's 'I Can Make You Sleep' and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ronnie Barker's Lines from My Grandfather's Forehead (Classic BBC Radio Comedy)
13.25
Usually dispatched within 9 to 13 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews