Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars51
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 29 November 2010
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is great stuff. I will not bore anyone with a synopsis of this long running panel show as other reviewers cover that perfectly well ( not that they are in any way or shape boring about it) except to point out that it relies on the improvisational skills , verbal dexterity and sheer mental brio of the four contestants and although everything they attempt does not always come off the fact that mostly it inspires some excellent comic gems showcases how good most of them are.
For the purposes of this CD there are four episodes on two discs. Paul Merton is the only regular on the panel while Nicholas Parsons is the regular presenter/chairperson .Other guests include Josie Lawrence , Ross Noble , Gyles Brandreth, David Mitchell , Charles Collingwood, Sheila Hancock Chris Neill, Shappi Khosandri ,Julian Clary and Tony Hawks.
The stand outs for me are Noble, Hawks and Clary ( who memorably when after claiming he plays rugby when grilled by Merton on what position he plays instantly retorts "Hooker " , which is very much in keeping with his arch carry -on persona ) but everyone plays their part.
Not entirely convinced it will reward repeated listens but for a one-off listen this CD is tremendous fun. Worth 120 just a minutes of anybody's time.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The BBC's 'Just A Minute: The Best of 2010' audiobook is a light hearted compilation of four separate sessions from this hugely popular and long-running comedy game show series.

The rules are simple:

There are four panellists (one of which is always Paul Merton). A subject matter is announced by the chairman (Nicholas Parsons) and the panellist in the hot-seat must talk for 60 seconds on that particular subject matter without repeating any words, deviating from the subject or pausing. If a fellow contestant believes someone has paused, repeated or deviated from the subject at hand, then can challenge them, and if the challenge is successful then they are flung into the hot-seat for the remaining time that is left (even if it's only 0.5 of a second!!!). The winner is the person who is in the hot-seat when the time finally runs out.

Obviously with a panel made up of of comedians participating in the game, the outcome is always humorous; awash with witty anecdotes and jovial challenges.

The double-CD 'Best Of' presentation includes the following shows:

25th January 2010 featuring:
Paul Merton, Gyles Brandreth, David Mitchell & Julian Clary

16th August 2010 featuring:
Paul Merton, Charles Collingwood, Josie Lawrence & Chris Neill

1st February 2010 featuring:
Paul Merton, Sheila Hancock, Tony Hawks & Ross Noble

23rd August 2010 (Edinburgh Festival Live Special) featuring:
Paul Merton, Gyles Brandreth, Shappi Khorsandi & John Bishop

The comedy comes thick and fast throughout the four 30 minute long episodes. Highlights are the witty performances of Gyles Brandreth, David Mitchell & John Bishop. As always, Paul Merton is as masterfully comical as ever, with his slightly surreal touch on humour playing so perfectly within the remit of the games rules.

This is non-stop quick witted banter that is ideal for short car journeys, brisk walks to work or during mundane household tasks such as ironing etc. Just slam it on and have yourself a chuckle or two as you go about your everyday life. That's exactly what I did and it's a perfect little two hour collection to return to when the mood takes you.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 November 2010
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Well, let's face it, if you're thinking of buying this then you probably know what you are getting. One of the BBC's longest running and best loved comedy shows where four panellists, under the chairmanship of the inimitable Nicholas Parsons, are charged with talking for 60 seconds on a specified subject "without repetition, hesitation or deviation".

Aside from regular panellist Paul Merton, guests include the likes of Julian Clarey, David Mitchell, Tony Hawks, Sheila Hancock, Charles Collingwood, Josie Lawerence, Chris Neil, Ross Noble, Shappi Khorsandi and John Bishop.

Generally speaking I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to fans of the show, but given the price, a meagre four episodes doesn't strike me as great value for money when you can 14 discs and 16.5 hours of At Home: A Short History of Private Life: Complete and Unabridged (BBC Audio) for less than twice the price (I know it's not a direct comparison, but you get the point).

Anyway, the said four episodes are presented on two discs with some very brief programme notes and has a running time of two hours.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 December 2010
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I love Just a Minute, have done for years, although I haven't listened to it much recently. I was rather excited to get this, and to remember those days of discovering Just a Minute all those years ago.

It lived up to my memories more or less - not quite as funny as some of the earlier years with experts like Clemnent Freud. Paul Merton, however is still his usual zany brilliance, and some of the newcomers like Tony Hawks and Ross Noble are right up there with the best.

This contains four complete episodes, rather than the best snippets of the series. Each is half an hour long, and broken up into tracks for each topic/round. Full marks to BBC for making sure that the track info was available via iTunes so that everything was nicely named when I imported it to my iPod.

Programmes 3 and 4 are the best of the four episodes. Ross Noble is superb, and John Bishop makes a great debut. The sheer speed of Merton's comments, and the appreciation of his colleagues makes this a real treat.

One caveat - it was marred for me by the innuendo on some of the programmes. Yo me, it is a cheap and easy form of humour for those who can't be bothered to think. When you hear the quality of Merton's ripostes and Ross Noble's flight of fancy about moles, there is no need for such crassness. Thankfully it is in the minority.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 November 2010
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Nicholas Parsons seems to have been around forever, a bit like Bruce Forsyth (not a criticism as I enjoy them both very much!). In fact, I remember growing up with programmes such as 'Sale Of The Century', and Nicholas Parsons certainly suits being the chair very well in 'Just A Minute'. It's just as well really, since he's been doing it for over 40 years!!.

It's also fair to say that the reason you're looking at this CD is because you've heard 'Just A Minute' on the radio at some stage. It's one of the BBC's longest running comedy shows where the four panellists must discuss a topic for an entire 60 seconds without repeating a word, hesitating or deviating from said topic.

This 'Best Of 2010' CD Set features panellists Paul Merton, Gyles Brandreth, Julian Clarey, David Mitchell, Tony Hawks, Sheila Hancock, Charles Collingwood, Josie Lawerence, Chris Neill, Ross Noble, Shappi Khorsandi and John Bishop. There are some really funny topics including 'Spitting Feathers' and 'Barking'.

Two CDs are included in the set (total running time 2 hours) - or 4 full episodes. Some may consider that the BBC could have included more discs/episodes for the money, but if you enjoy the show then it's definitely worth it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Just A Minute - The Best of 2010

I remember listening to Just A Minute in my Dads car on the way back from the garden centre when I was little and use to like listening to it. I was particularly interested in this CD as I am a huge fan of Ross Noble who features on it, and also Julian Clary.

The CD itself has 4 shows on it and has a running time of 2 hours which seems quite short when listening to it. Some of the shows are funny (the ones with Julian Clary and Ross Nobel) but the other 2 shows are not the funniest I've heard. I would have thought being called the best of 2010, it would have been a bit funnier and possibly the best of each topics, not just `the best' four full episodes, it feels as if they just randomly picked four and put them on the CD.

It probably depends on which comedians you like as to if you like this CD, personally I would have preferred more Ross Noble and Julian Clary and less David Mitchell and John Bishop, as I am not huge fans of them and found the last episode with John Bishop not very funny and disappointing.

A good CD but would prefer a better mix of shows.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Just a minute is a popular and long running radio panel show wherein four contestants have to speak for sixty seconds exactly on a given topic. Without any deviation hesitation or repetition. Chaired by Nicholas Parsons with a rotating group of semi regular guests including Paul Merton Gyles Brandeth Sheila Hancock Julian Clary Josie Lawrence and many others, each episode of the show runs for roughty twenty seven minutes.

This contains four episodes from 2010, spread across two cd's.

The inlay gives a history of the programme plus the production credits for each one. There are no breaks on the discs other than the usual chapters.

And the show itself is very funny indeed. With a marvelously dry humoured host and contestants who are astonishingly good at improvisational comedy, each of these editions are absolutely hilarious.

The back of the box notes that some may find the content offensive. But that's just down to the occasional very mild innuendo. And the laughter comes so thick and fast you might barely notice anyhow.

Hugely entertaining radio in one great collection. A fun listen.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Just a Minute is just brilliant. The laconic and unfazed Nicholas Parsons and the impossibly quick witted Paul Merton are a regular audible pleasure. These episodes, though, offered as the best of 2010, leave a bit of a bad aftertaste due to some particularly petty challenges which are just not quite in the spirit of the game and even with audio only, the bad feeling is palpable. These are only a few moments, though, and on the positive side you have the joy of Sheila Hancock who exudes wit and warmth, the ever surreal Julian Clary, and the hilarious Ross Noble on top form. I defy anybody not to be reduced to hysterics by Noble's talk of bribing moles, a moment which in itself is worth the purchase price.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I have always loved just a minute. I am fascinated how such a simple game can provide so many hours of genuine fun.

Contained herein are four of the best episodes from 2010. Hosted by the ever irrepressible Nicholas Parsons, and with a range of guests each week, including series regular Paul Merton, Sheila Hancock, Gyles Brandreth, Tony Hawkes, Ross Noble and a host of others, this is two hours (repetition of hours) of exceedingly funny harmless family entertainment as the guests try to outwit each other.

There are two CDs with two episodes per disc, in a double jewel case. There are some limited liner notes. An excellent set that will have you chuckling along and put a smile on your face.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 March 2011
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I love Just a Minute. My parents would listen to Radio 4 religiously and I grew to love this and I'm Sorry I Haven't a Clue. The concept of the game is simple, the panellists are given a subject to talk about and must speak for 60 seconds without repetition, hesitation or deviation. If any of these rules are broken one of the other panellists can challenge and if the challenge is upheld by chairman Nicholas Parsons (who is hilarious) they have to speak on the subject for the remaining time, whether that's 59 seconds or 1 second.

Of course, the entertainment factor comes from the fact that you have Paul Merton, David Mitchell, Ross Noble, Gyles Brandreth and other witty folk as the panellists and the results can be hilarious. I'm particularly fond of that point after about 30 seconds that the speaker starts to speak in a rather odd fashion as they try to drag out their words as much as possible... without actually hesitating!

The subjects are diverse, in the 3rd episode The French, Motorcycles and Your Local are all subjects for discussion in the first few minutes. I doubt anyone reading this will be unfamiliar with Just a Minute but if you are I'm not sure this is the best place to start. Perhaps tune into the radio show first.

The only downside to this set is the price and the fact that you only get four episodes. As others have said a multidisc box set would be a great idea. But if you're happy to shell out you'll find 110 minutes of comedy genius!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)