Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Audio Book/Theatre.
read a few reviews before purchasing. This one was as it said on the tin...Was the peggy Ashcroft version. Brilliant stuff!
Published 21 months ago by mrs c barton

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars tedious types
+++ The Bliss family have one thing in common, they are all self centered and self absorbed. This has always been their most delightful trait. Guests come and go and feel ignored. Judith Bliss, an aging actress, interacts with others as they hold a mirror to reflect her vanity. The household is what used to be called "madcap".+++

above is a quote from a review...
Published 13 months ago by Wilf


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Audio Book/Theatre., 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hay Fever (Classic Radio Theatre) (Audio CD)
read a few reviews before purchasing. This one was as it said on the tin...Was the peggy Ashcroft version. Brilliant stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not as listed - buyer beware!, 10 Mar 2011
This review is from: Hay Fever (Classic Radio Theatre) (Audio CD)
Buyers beware! I pre-ordered this item and eagerly awaited its arrival. When it arrived it was indeed Hay Fever by Noel Coward BUT NOT the cast on the packaging of the CD! It was Judi Dench instead of Peggy Ashcroft as Judith Bliss and the rest of the cast are totally different too! Not Amazon's fault but the fault of the BBC. I drew this to Amazon's attention and still the product listing has not been changed so I decided to make my first review by warning any potential purchasers of this item. I have though given it a 5* rating as I would have bought it anyway with Judi Dench in the lead as I saw her in that role in london's West End a few years back. There ought to be some very red faces at the BBC and an apology too; I'm surprised the item is still listed and hasn't been withdrawn. Good production of the play though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what was needed., 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hay Fever (Classic Radio Theatre) (Audio CD)
It isn't always easy to transcribe a stage play as a reading but this was just what I needed for a simulated broadcast .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A really good version, and each track is about 3 mins ..., 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hay Fever (Classic Radio Theatre) (Audio CD)
I bought this because I was in a production of this play. A really good version, and each track is about 3 mins long - which made it good for line learning in the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dame Judi Dench in HAY FEVER, 15 April 2011
By 
Ronald A. Pollard (NYC,NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hay Fever (Classic Radio Theatre) (Audio CD)
The only reason I bought this was because the BBC did not master the correct b'dcast. Instead of Peggy Ashcroft, it's the one with Dame Judi Dench and her late husband Michael Williams. The sound is superb and HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars tedious types, 13 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hay Fever (Classic Radio Theatre) (Audio CD)
+++ The Bliss family have one thing in common, they are all self centered and self absorbed. This has always been their most delightful trait. Guests come and go and feel ignored. Judith Bliss, an aging actress, interacts with others as they hold a mirror to reflect her vanity. The household is what used to be called "madcap".+++

above is a quote from a review which gave this play 5 stars.
i agree with what they have said but, for me, that means it gets 1 star.

i found the Bliss family simply tedious and annoying. i gave up on the play slightly more than halfway through and was overjoyed that i could simply switch off the Bliss family, unlike their unfortunate guests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revisit old friends, 2 Aug 2011
By 
Don Wardell (Palm Springs - KWXY Radio) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hay Fever (Classic Radio Theatre) (Audio CD)
The Bliss family have one thing in common, they are all self centered and self absorbed. This has always been their most delightful trait. Guests come and go and feel ignored. Judith Bliss, an aging actress, intereacts with others as they hold a mirror to relfect her vanity. The household is what used to be called "madcap". This 1971 production of the Coward classic brings back memories of seeing productions of this play in drafty halls church halls. Dramatic Societies loved this and I did too, So will you!
Don Wardell KWXY Radio Palm Springs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hay Fever (Classic Radio Theatre)
Hay Fever (Classic Radio Theatre) by Noel Coward (Audio CD - 3 Mar 2011)
£11.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews