Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It Sticks Out Half a Mile
Having been a keen fan of Dad's Army for many years, I was unaware of the short lived radio sequel It Sticks Out Half a Mile, and its existence came as a pleasant surprise to me. The scripts of the 4 episodes on the CD were funny, and delivered with style by Arthur Lowe, John Le Mesurier, Ian Lavendar and Bill Pertwee - evoking memories of their Dad's Army characters, but...
Published on 28 Nov. 2010 by Mr. R. Howard

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting curio
This has quite a bit of charm for Dad's Army fans. It's a great thing to hear John Le Mesurier, Ian Lavender and Bill Pertwee playing their great old characters again. The downside is that the scripts are pretty weak at times, so it's really down to your affection for the actors that keeps you listening. Good nostalgia, but don't expect side-splitting comedy.
Published on 6 Nov. 2010 by Trish980


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting curio, 6 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Dad's Army: It Sticks Out Half a Mile (Classic BBC Radio Comedy) (Audio CD)
This has quite a bit of charm for Dad's Army fans. It's a great thing to hear John Le Mesurier, Ian Lavender and Bill Pertwee playing their great old characters again. The downside is that the scripts are pretty weak at times, so it's really down to your affection for the actors that keeps you listening. Good nostalgia, but don't expect side-splitting comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A curiosity, 14 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Dad's Army: It Sticks Out Half a Mile (Classic BBC Radio Comedy) (Audio CD)
This 'sequel' to Dad's Army suffered from mediocre scripts, but it's interesting for fans of the original show to hear the characters once again. The first pilot reveals Arthur Lowe to be already struggling with his words - he died before the series could commence - but the subsequent episodes with John le Mesurier, Ian Lavender and Bill Pertwee at least have a bit of energy to counter-balance the rather tired dialogue. All in all this is an under-whelming radio sitcom, but it will hold some appeal for us Dad's Army fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It Sticks Out Half a Mile, 28 Nov. 2010
By 
Mr. R. Howard (Stockport, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dad's Army: It Sticks Out Half a Mile (Classic BBC Radio Comedy) (Audio CD)
Having been a keen fan of Dad's Army for many years, I was unaware of the short lived radio sequel It Sticks Out Half a Mile, and its existence came as a pleasant surprise to me. The scripts of the 4 episodes on the CD were funny, and delivered with style by Arthur Lowe, John Le Mesurier, Ian Lavendar and Bill Pertwee - evoking memories of their Dad's Army characters, but now interacting in a post-war situation. Admittedly the scenario is limited in comparison to Dad's Army, but these shows will surely be enjoyable for those who followed the wartime antics of Mainwaring's men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointed, 10 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Dad's Army: It Sticks Out Half a Mile (Classic BBC Radio Comedy) (Audio CD)
As we have been fans of Dad's Army for many years, we were looking forward to listening to this. We were rather disappointed with the rather weak plot. It was sad to hear Arthur Lowe in the first, unfinished, episode, and I think this coloured our view of the rest. It was nice to hear the old, familiar voices again, but it didn't make us laugh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Follow Up to Dads Army, 21 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Dad's Army: It Sticks Out Half a Mile (Classic BBC Radio Comedy) (Audio CD)
This is the first 3 episodes of It Sticks out Half a mile,and the original pilot episode featuring Arthur Lowe.
Sadly Mr Lowe died sortly after the pilot episode,and the series was rewritten featuring more of the original players from Dads Army.
It was very funny series indeed,and well worth a release.I do feel it may have been better to release the whole series as a small box set as there was only 12 episodes ever made.
I guess BBC will put them out over the next few months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a seaside saga of postwar peer perpetuation, 17 Nov. 2010
By 
fanofmanythings (Doncaster, South Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dad's Army: It Sticks Out Half a Mile (Classic BBC Radio Comedy) (Audio CD)
This is a charming and gentle spinoff to the marvelous Dad's Army. In the pilot eppisode, the once proud Captain Manewearing must humbly ask his ex sergeant Arthur Wilson for a massive loan to buy an old peer which he dreams of restoring to its former glory. This is an interesting roll reversal, with Wilson as the Bank manager at Framborne on sea, with Mainwearing having to treat him with the respect he deserves. Sadly, it is clear from listening to this recording that Arthur Lowe's health is failing. After his sad death, the first eppisode starts with ex Warden Hodges, who's name has changed from Bill to Bert, going into partnership with ex private Frank Pike to buy and restore the Peer. This is a slightly unlikely partnership, considering Pike and Hodges mutual enmity during the war years, "why don't you shoot him mister Mainwearing?" Perhaps Hodges has mellowed, and Pike has grown up a little. As the series progresses we see the two unlikely businessmen struggling to pull the peer back into shape, with Arthur Wilson as their reluctant financial advisor. Though this series is certainly not Dad's Army, I think it is a marvelous tribute to the actors commitment to the series and their characters. I agree that it is sad that we don't see more characters from the series, it would have been nice to have a cammio from Clive Dunn or John Lauri. Walker would certainly have liked the idea of running a peer, though the sad early death of James Beck obviously makes this impossible. Nevertheless I feel this is a very nice little radio sidcom, of the kind rarely seen even at the time it was made. I would say for non Dad's Army fans, this show probably holds little interest, but if you like Dad's Army, and in paticula Wilson and Pike, and want to hear what they got up to after the last all-clear was sounded, then give this a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear......, 14 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Dad's Army: It Sticks Out Half a Mile (Classic BBC Radio Comedy) (Audio CD)
I love Dads Army. I mean I really love it. It may not be sophisticated, some of the stories got a little weak as time went by, but I still love it.
But this is another matter. I want to like it. I've really tried to like it....but it's poor. Very poor. Which is a shame.

Especially sad to hear Arthur in the first episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dad's Army: It Sticks Out Half a Mile (Classic BBC Radio Comedy) (Audio CD)
Very disappointing. The pilot featured Arthur Lowe who slurred his words - sad to hear. This isn't something I'd recommend or play more than once
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dad's army, 14 April 2011
This review is from: Dad's Army: It Sticks Out Half a Mile (Classic BBC Radio Comedy) (Audio CD)
This audio CD is a fabulous continuation from the Dad's army show as it moves on from after the war. I thoroughly recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars present for a friend, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dad's Army: It Sticks Out Half a Mile (Classic BBC Radio Comedy) (Audio CD)
This was a birthday present, and very well received . . . . . . . . . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dad's Army: It Sticks Out Half a Mile (Classic BBC Radio Comedy)
Dad's Army: It Sticks Out Half a Mile (Classic BBC Radio Comedy) by Harold Snoad (Audio CD - 16 Sept. 2010)
Used & New from: £49.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews