Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much Better Than I Thought, 15 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: Torchwood: Ghost Train (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Initially from reading the blurb i thought missing fridges was a bit of a stupid theme and there was no way this would be a good Torchwood story.
Having listened to about half of the first disk you'll notice the story is very Rhys orientated and at first i was having trouble staying interested but i'm glad i did.
By the 2nd disk the story is amazing, very clever indeed and very Torchwood.
The slowish start makes sense and was needed to make this a brilliant story, I didnt want it to end!!!
Kai Owen reads and does the voices brilliantly by the way.
For those worried Ianto wouldnt make much of an appearance in this story, youre very wrong and alot of disk two is a brilliant 'bromance' relationship between Ianto and Rhys who for reasons i will not spoil has to live with Ianto in his flat.
This contains some lovely scenes with the characters including Rhys breaking Ianto's coffee machine and Rhys being unable to sleep whenever Jack stays the night at Ianto's flat because 'the walls are too thin.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Torchwood at it's best., 1 Sep 2013
By 
Trav (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
I must admit I was just going to listen to this for an hour then go to bed, then ended up listening to both discs as it's such an absorbing, tale.

The story had a ghostly, and the feeling of a very bad dream about it (probably shouldn't have listened to it before going to bed!). The story flowed slightly slowly at first, but built up to an exciting and involved plot. This is how Torchwood should have remained instead of going to America - scary and spooky with a lot of everyday ordinariness to make it so believable.

I must recommend Kai Owen reading of the book. His clear reading and expression is excellent and I love his Jack and Iantos voices, especially Ianto's deep and slightly meloncoly tones.

Will definitely be listening to more in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Torchwood story, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Ghost Train (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Ghost Train has become my favourite Torchwood story. It's great fun and wonderfully performed by Kai Owen. The characters are true to their TV selves and the humour is suitably dry, "I stared. Jack stared. In its own way the skeleton stared". The relationships between Jack & Rhys, and between Ianto & Rhys are beautifully expressed. The story is really very good; time travel, invading aliens, a runaway train and great big rips in the universe. Marvelous. But what pleases me most of all is the portrayal of Rhys, a good man who loves a strong woman without being dominated or needing to dominate. A liberating portrayal of gender.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good listen., 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Ghost Train (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
An interesting story which needs a few listening to catch up with the intricacies of the plotting. I would recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ghost Train, 8 Nov 2011
This review is from: Torchwood: Ghost Train (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
This is a story I can listen to time and time again. Kai Williams nails it. The 1st person narative really works. It stays true to the established who universe. It's fast paced but also has little gems in the interaction between Rhys and his co worker. Also there are some cracking lines with Ianto.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good!, 24 Aug 2011
This review is from: Torchwood: Ghost Train (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
I enjoy all the audio Torchwood stories. This one was a real treat, and very different from any other Torchwood adventure. Kai Owen is brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable, 14 Jun 2011
By 
Tony Jones "Tony" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Ghost Train (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Another Torchwood audio read by one of the cast, in this case Kai Owen (who plays Rhys, Gwen's husband). Unlike Department X this narrative is entirely first person told from Rhys point of view.

The first disc sets you up thinking this is a new way to tell a story form the perspective of an outsider who doesn't know what is really happening. On disc 2 you then realise that Rhys is actually pivotal to the whole tale and there then follows an enjoyable hour of 'timey-wimey' stuff as Rhys proceeds (with Ianto) to save the world.

Many memorable moments, including Rhys representing Torchwood as a company that helps alien invaders attack the Earth. I can only heartily recommend this to anybody
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ghost train, 25 May 2011
By 
M. K. Hopson "M K Hopson" (nr manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Ghost Train (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
very enjoyable audio book, highly recomended, this is a rhys williams story, and kai plays rhys , he does a brilliant ianto impression, For any fan of torchwood they going to love it,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is the Torchwood we used to know and love, 22 Mar 2011
By 
H J Mac "Heath" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Torchwood: Ghost Train (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
I thought this was hilarious. James Goss has got Rhys's voice down so well. The story is a first person Rhys point of view, and I'm not sure if at times Rhys isn't an "unreliable" narrator. Not in a bad way of course, he's a lovely chap, more just as to the extent of his role in saving the world. Ianto is the other star in this, and Kai Owen does the most brilliant Ianto voice, the scenes where they are living together are very funny.

At first the story is mainly Rhys and you do need to persevere, it picks up pace a lot and the second half is better than the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Torchwood: Ghost Train (BBC Audio)
Torchwood: Ghost Train (BBC Audio) by James Goss (Audio CD - 3 Mar 2011)
11.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews