Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Story well presented...
As the wrapper says exclusive audio and set in a department store this one should certainly entertain Torchwood fans. The narrator delivers the story well and clearly. We seem to delve a bit more and find out info on Torchwood's earlier days. Good value and nicely presented this will make a great gift for the next school holiday and entertain the teens on a day out. The...
Published on 25 May 2011 by C. FULLER

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An ok story, but would have been better as a full cast recording
As somebody who really enjoys Torchwood, I found "Torchwood Department X" to be an ok story, but not exceptional (I'm not into "spoilers", so I won't be giving away the plot in this review).

Unfortunately, listening to it on audio CD, I found it disappointing. This was largely because I found Kai Owen's (the actor who plays Rhys in the TV series) inability to...
Published on 26 May 2011 by J. S. Hardman


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An ok story, but would have been better as a full cast recording, 26 May 2011
By 
J. S. Hardman "Consultant software developer ... (Near London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Department X (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As somebody who really enjoys Torchwood, I found "Torchwood Department X" to be an ok story, but not exceptional (I'm not into "spoilers", so I won't be giving away the plot in this review).

Unfortunately, listening to it on audio CD, I found it disappointing. This was largely because I found Kai Owen's (the actor who plays Rhys in the TV series) inability to do accents really distracting. When audio CDs are read by a single person rather than by the full cast, does the reader need to impersonate the voices that we are used to hearing? Not necessarily. However, when the reader introduces a character and says that the character speaks in something close to Canadian, but then immediately continues in a Welsh accent, it becomes really distracting. I could visualise easily enough what was being described, but I couldn't get "into" the atmosphere because of the reading. Sorry Kai.

So, an ok story, but would have been significantly better either as a full cast recording, or alternatively read perhaps by John Barrowman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Story well presented..., 25 May 2011
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Department X (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As the wrapper says exclusive audio and set in a department store this one should certainly entertain Torchwood fans. The narrator delivers the story well and clearly. We seem to delve a bit more and find out info on Torchwood's earlier days. Good value and nicely presented this will make a great gift for the next school holiday and entertain the teens on a day out. The sound and production standards are top of the class. It will also be a must for all Torchwood collectors who must have a vast amount of material thanks to BBC Audio. Another good addition to the catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Welsh X Files? No spoilers here!, 20 May 2011
By 
Amazon Customer "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Department X (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Read by Kai Owen,this spin from the Torchwood TV, is entertaining and well done all round production. The story is about a Department store in decline, possible Aliens and people disappearing.Unlike some Audio CD's that leave the listener thinking 'was that all? The sound effects are not bad and not overwhelming.
This episode is set after the deaths of Toshiko and Owen and precedes the Children of Earth story. I must admit it is not one of the best Torchwood stories, but that said Its worth a listen and the Amazon price is not bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You cannot keep a good shopkeeper down..., 17 May 2011
By 
Ms. R. L. A. Amelan "Rachel" (Wilmslow, Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Department X (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It may sound like an old fashioned department store but, right from the start, we know that G R Owen is an emporium with something to hide. Why else would the employees of Torchwood be manning ladies' cosmetics and gent's clothing?

Right from the beginning, we are in no doubt that this is a store where nasty things happen to customers - why else would they be busy cleaning mysterious blood stains off the carpet? There is also the problem over the long missing Department of Curiosities. Anyway, all will soon be revealed because Captain Jack Harkness is on the case.

He has opposition, however, in the form of a company wishing to take over the store and, more importantly, everything in it, including the nasty wriggly bits. Also, the bullet points in their presentations are not of the PowerPoint variety.

The story proceeds at a cracking pace and is, in many parts, something of a black comedy. We have numerous puns and one is greatly reminded of that vintage TV comedy, "Grace Brothers" and, yes, the greeting "I'm free" does pop up. I thought it tremendous fun.

Naturally, I shall not spoil the end but it is fitting and shows that you cannot keep that great shopkeeping spirit down, although once Torchwood and Co have gone through the building there is quite a bit of clearing up to do and much of the stock is ruined. I did wonder about the insurance claim at this point.

I thought it a lovely way to spend a couple of hours and it is a fun bedtime story that should not "frighten the horses". The plot is a tad predictable and the violence a little gratuitous for my taste but this does not detract too much from the fun. It is also ably read by Kai Owen who manages, with the aid of fairly discreet sound effects, to convey the characters and the drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fun, creepy and occasionally funny audiobook, 17 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Torchwood: Department X (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I can't say that it was the best story I've ever heard, and will not recommend it enthusiastically, but would certainly be a good addition for big fans of the series. The plot is fun, with a sinister organisation to rival Torchwood searching for the lost Department of Curiosities, and segments of Captain Jack's past coming back to haunt him, but it is not riveting. It also falters out towards the climax, with garbled dialogue and a confusing end.

The narrator is excellent, as a reader, but fails drastically on the accents. His native welsh accent does not lend itself well to American and Canadian accents, though this does not detract too much from the overall experience.

All in all an OK Torchwood audiobook. Not much to hate, but not much to love, either. Only one for hardcore fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining addition to the Torchwood series, 17 May 2011
By 
David (SPECTRE Island) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Department X (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Department X (a nice play on the title of the old tv series Department S) is another in the series of BBC audio Torchwood stories. Set before Children Of Earth Department X sees Captain Jack and the Torchwood team investigating strange goings on in the last of Cardiffs department stores. The story is read by Kai Owen who plays Gwens husband Rhys in the television series. Kai Owen makes a good narrator and captures the characters voices well. The story is spread across two cds and the plot moves at a good pace. All in all an good and entertaining addition to the Torchwood series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Annoying Sound Effects!, 13 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Torchwood: Department X (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a fan of all things Sci-fi, I was willing to give this a go. A friend had listened to another Torchwood offering and recommended it.

This was a fairly solid story, if horribly predictable. It isn't a dramatised production, which I was expecting, but the guy who reads this is very good. My real bug bear with this though is the completely over the top sound effects. It was distracting and I found that I stopped listening to the story and got cross at the noise instead! Without this, I would have scored higher and recommended more.

This would be lovely for a family car journey, and a ten year old wouldn't notice the mad noise in the way someone older would! It doesn't feel too 'children's story' and is a decent length (around 2 hours) without feeling it drags at any point.

A lovely present for a child who is a Doctor Who fan, but maybe not so great for an adult sci-fi geek!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story and excellent narration, 3 May 2011
By 
James Walls (Nr Stroud, Gloucester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Department X (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Read by Kai Owen (Gwen's husband Rhys in the Torchwood tv series) this is an extremely enjoyable way to pass 2 hours
I can't really give much of the story away apart from the basic premise that it is set in a very traditional department store in Cardiff G.R.Owens (think Grace Bros from Are You Being Served - which will help with a couple of gags as well) where strange goings on are going on. Ianto and Gwen are undercover working in Cosmetics and Tailoring and Jack may or may not have some kind of link to the store himself

Set after the second series of Torchwood but before Children on Earth, this story only features the three above named characters and I have to say that this trio works very well together and makes for very good stories but the two best things about this product are the humour of the writer (James Goss) and the excellent narration.
Very up to date (2011) the story has many funny moments from Lady Gaga to the above mentioned "I'm Free" gag. 1 mention of a saucy encounter at TK Max and a quite rude medical condition which I only know about through watching Tru Blood.

This humour however would fall very flat if it wasn't for the reading style of Kai Owen.
Firstly, having a predominantly Welsh cast of characters needed someone with a genuine Welsh accent.
Secondly, I genuinely feel that Kai (having worked with the actors he is portraying) has definitely been able to pick out the nuances of each character. His Gwen and Ianto are excellent and Jacks drawl isn't too out of place either

This is a good length story (just short of 2 hours) so an excellent commute listen.

I genuinely enjoyed this story and will enjoy it again as well. I'll also keep my eye out for others read by Kai, short of the radio dramatisations which the BBC commissioned just before Children of Earth which are very rarely aired, this was an excellent Torchwood Patch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A play or an audiobook?, 3 May 2011
By 
Dr. Paul Ell (NI, UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Department X (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This double BBC CD falls a little between two stalls. It is not a dramatisation of a new Tourchwood play as it 'read' by a single narrator - Kai Owen who has the (limited) role of Rhys in the TV show. Neither, however, is it an audio book as it comes with sound effects, some of them a little over the top. As a fringe Tourchwood fan a found the CDs entertaining and they certainly held my attention. Like the TV series the story is a little more grown up than Doctor Who.

This would be a good buy for a fan or Tourchwood who's missing seeing it on TV. I doubt many who have not seen the it on TV will buy the CDs however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Torchwood: Department X, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Department X (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
This is an excellent example of the torchwood audio books. Kai Owen does a great job of reading and a very enjoyable story.

The cd was delivered promptly and was exactly as advertised. Good value for money. Can recommend this seller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Torchwood: Department X (BBC Audio)
Torchwood: Department X (BBC Audio) by James Goss (Audio CD - 3 Mar 2011)
£11.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews