Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Bit of Fun
The Doctor and Amy find themselves on a near future Orkney and up against a weird enemy that has been created to fight for a long since defeated race. The island finds itself under attack from marching electricity pylons and roads that shift and attack drivers!
It's all suitably potty and a bit daft and rather nicely reflects the old style storylines which combined a...
Published on 25 Aug 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overwhelmed by the background music
I found the reading a bit ponderous and slow to begin with, but I think that was the fault of the writing rather than the reader. Arthur Darvill gives good characterisation to the different people in the story and is entertaining to listen to.

Sadly my enjoyment of the recording was spoiled by the volume of the background music which I found intrusive,...
Published on 24 Nov 2010 by Avid Kindler


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overwhelmed by the background music, 24 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Ring of Steel (Audio CD)
I found the reading a bit ponderous and slow to begin with, but I think that was the fault of the writing rather than the reader. Arthur Darvill gives good characterisation to the different people in the story and is entertaining to listen to.

Sadly my enjoyment of the recording was spoiled by the volume of the background music which I found intrusive, distracting, and at times made it difficult to hear the words. Younger listeners may not be bothered by this! But if you are someone who gets bothered by overpowering background music on the TV, I would give it a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not my favourite BBC Audio dr Who, 26 Aug 2010
By 
maximus (manchester, uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Ring of Steel (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The story is not the most exciting, but it is creepy in parts. I was disappointed that unlike the CD cover picture, the story is read like an audiobook as opposed to the program actor voices. But it's redeemed by reasonably good narration and characterisations, and good incidental dramatic music snippets where appropriate. It's read a little bit as if for older, teenagers but it could just be my impression. Overall OK but not the best of Dr Who adventure stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average, 23 Dec 2010
By 
D. Graham (Wakefield, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Ring of Steel (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Another adventure for Matt Smith's Doctor and his companions, nicely read by Arthur Darvill (Rory). It's quite short, only one disc, and a decent enough romp for the Doctor. Fairly lightweight though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor story, poor value, 22 Sep 2010
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Ring of Steel (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
While some of the BBC Doctor Who audio stories feel like rejected pitches for TV episodes or ideas that were simply too expensive to film, despite a potentially promising premise The Ring of Steel feels more like a bit of a ripoff to feed the ever hungry Whovian market. The writing isn't anything to write home about but would probably have worked better on the printed page. Unfortunately it's done absolutely no favours by the cheap production values and Arthur Darvill's reading, which overemphasises not just the purple prose but often individual words as if the syllables were the most important element: it feels like you're listening to a display of enunciation technique rather than being drawn into a story. Not that a more empathetic reader could have done much with a lot of Stephen Cole's dialogue: he writes adequately enough if somewhat blandly for the Doctor and Amy Pond, but the local Orkadians protesting at new electricity pylons sound like the kind of writing you used to get in bad 70s children's television. Nor are there many surprises in the formulaic story, even when the pylons come to life and start rampaging through the Orkneys. For Dr Who completists only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, well structured with a twist of steel and screech of tarmac, 5 Sep 2010
By 
D. Clarke "Dragonthoughts" (Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Ring of Steel (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a fast paced well produced Dr Who story. Amy Pond gets to save the doctor once again, this time from killer pylons which are set to take over a quiet Orkney island as a stepping stone to a full scale invasion of Earth.

The theme and characters are well drawn and this single CD episode could stand alone as a humorous short story.

The production quality is of the excellence that I have generally come to expect from the BBC Audio productions, and the audio worked well in my car, without too much fluctuation in volume.

Definitely a worthwhile and entertaining hour or so of listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Bit of Fun, 25 Aug 2010
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Ring of Steel (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Doctor and Amy find themselves on a near future Orkney and up against a weird enemy that has been created to fight for a long since defeated race. The island finds itself under attack from marching electricity pylons and roads that shift and attack drivers!
It's all suitably potty and a bit daft and rather nicely reflects the old style storylines which combined a bit of lunacy with some gripping moments.
There are an awful lot of Dr Who audiobooks being released and for the newcomer the variety can be a bit confusing. Some are straight from the telly transfers, new stories, some just read and others full dramas.
This one is a nice surprise as it doesn't feel rushed but neither does it hang about with lengthy introductions or tedious pseudo science, (although it does throw in some tenuous polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbon based waffle but only briefly),.
There is plenty to keep the listener gripped and while I personally could quite happily have lived without the background music and effects this is just my opinion where others may find them enjoyable.
The reading is very nicely done by Arthur Darvill who is clear and easy to listen to and even handles the odd accent or two pretty well.
All in all this is a story of the latest doctor written in the style of the 70's ones. Fast paced, humorous, gripping and no boring interludes in between.
80 minutes well spent and easily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ring of Steel, 22 Aug 2010
By 
mall1990 "dotially" (St. Annes, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Ring of Steel (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Another audio adventure featuring the Eleventh Doctor and Amy Pond which on the whole doesn't deliver the thrills and spills seen in TV adventures. As with the New Series Adventure book series these audio stories don't have much appeal for the adult fan and don't add a great deal to the mythos of the show. Arthur Darvill reads the story well with a variety of accents but this story is weak compared to a variety of other Doctor Who and Torchwood adventures I have read and heard. 5/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars March of the Steel Giants, 21 Aug 2010
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Ring of Steel (Audio CD)
The Doctor Who talking book range from the BBC resumes with the first title to feature the Eleventh Doctor.

This is an all new story never seen or heard in any other format, and it's complete in approx eighty minutes on one single disc. There's no breaks at all in the middle of the story, the only breaks of any kind on the disc being cd chapters.

There are minimal sleeve notes giving all the production credits, a brief description of the story and a list of other Doctor Who audios from the BBC.

This story is read by Arthur Darvill, who plays Rory on the show. Although his character doesn't feature in this one.

It sees the TARDIS arrive on the Orkney Islands from now, just when locals are protesting about a power company building new electricity pylons there.

All of which is interrupted when a large opening in the ground suddenly appears. Then the pylons start to move of their own accord.

The Doctor and Amy are separated. They and the locals have a fight for survival on their hands. For things are going inside the company that spell danger for the entire planet...

Arthur Darvill does a very good reading, doing a pretty good imitation of the voices of the two main character and providing some decent and varied accents for the others. The sound design and minimal use of music really do create an excellent atmosphere that makes you feel as if you're on a windswept island hearing great big steel objects moving.

The other supporting characters are nothing special but they're ordinary people thrust into an extraordinary situation and that comes over well.

And the villains of the piece do manage to be slightly different from the norm in a couple of respects.

This is not a bad story at all, and the setting and the detail are very engrossing for the first half. It's just that it gets into more familiar territory in the second half that makes it not too different from a lot of similar material in the book and audio range. Amy also is rather sidelined by the story, but does get one good bit of action at one key point.

The kind of thing you'd rate 7.5/10. Not the best in this range, but it's a decent enough listen and it will help pass the time nicely enough till the show returns to our screens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty awful.., 30 Dec 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Ring of Steel (Audio CD)
Let me say upfront, I like the BBC Audios based on Dr Who. This one, however, is a stinker. It's not the narration that's at fault, however, it's simply the story. It's a real yawner. And quite unbelievable in places too -- which is saying a lot for a fantasy/sci-fi series...!!! Only buy this if you're collecting the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable addition to the TV adventures, 18 Oct 2012
By 
Michele Fry (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Ring of Steel (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Doctor Who: The Ring of Steel Stephen Cole is my favourite writer of Doctor Who spin-offs (books and audio novels), and Arthur Darvill is my favourite member of the current TARDIS team on Doctor, so this is a double whammy of enjoyableness. This story is very much in the vein of Doctor Who: electricity pylons 'come to life and go on the rampage' - and could just as easily have been a TV episode. Darvill's attempts to do Amy's and the Doctor's voices just added to the entertainment value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb156424c)

This product

Doctor Who: The Ring of Steel
Doctor Who: The Ring of Steel by Stephen Cole (Audio CD - 3 Jun 2010)
6.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews