Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Animal Magic Indeed
For any child growing up in the 1960's and 70's
Johnny Morris was unavoidable (not that you'd
have wanted to avoid him anyway!) His instantly
recognisable and reassuringly avuncular voice
became familiar via radio and television to
countless thousands of households across the
country who welcomed him into their homes with
a big smile and...
Published on 22 Mar 2010 by The Wolf

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great nostalagia but...
I think this CD will appeal to the generation who knew and loved Johnny Morris.
For a modern generation who look for a bit more 'bang and whiz' from their story lines, I'm not sure it will appeal.
I purchased it for the car, so that my 4 year old daughter is entertained on longer journeys. She listened, but I'm not sure she got it. To get the most from the story...
Published on 17 April 2010 by Dodster


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Animal Magic Indeed, 22 Mar 2010
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Johnny Morris Bedtime Stories (Vintage Beeb) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
For any child growing up in the 1960's and 70's
Johnny Morris was unavoidable (not that you'd
have wanted to avoid him anyway!) His instantly
recognisable and reassuringly avuncular voice
became familiar via radio and television to
countless thousands of households across the
country who welcomed him into their homes with
a big smile and open arms.

I was a big fan of Hammy The Hamster and Roderick
The Rat on the Watch With Mother programme 'Tales
Of The Riverbank' when I was but a small cub!

His zoo keeper persona for the long running programme
'Animal Magic' is brought back to life on this delightful
series of BBC radio recordings first broadcast in 1972.

'Bedtime Stories For Children' is just what they are and
there a fourteen of them to enchant your little ones.
Mr Morris's uncanny and very funny ability to give
personalities to so many animals through the clever
manipulation and modulation of his voice is nothing
short of magical. You do not have to see them to believe
that they are speaking. He brings them to vivid life in
our mind's eye. What a marvellous gift in every sense!

My own particular favorites include 'Lulu, the Baby Seal',
a tale of a seal who loses her way and ends up in a zoo
(the voice captures her sense of confusion and lonliness
without barely a fully-formed word being spoken); 'The
Kookaburras', too, who laugh uproariously for no other
reason than that the sound of their own laughter gives
them cause to laugh even more and the totally wonderful
'Hooter the Elephant', whose stifled voice never quite gets
beyond the end of his trunk and in whose tale a thoroughly
obnoxious little boy alomost gets his just deserts were it
not for Hooter's more than generous intervention.

I had not heard Mr Morris's voice for many years and
rediscovering it again on this splendid release was
both a nostalgic and thoroughly moving experience.

For the very young and not-so-young alike 'Bedtime Stories' is
a veritable treasure trove of delights and gentle imaginings.

Essential
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia for me and the children enjoyed it too, 31 Oct 2010
By 
EllyBlue (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Johnny Morris Bedtime Stories (Vintage Beeb) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This collection of animal stories by the late Johnny Morris of "Animal Magic" fame, will strike a nostalgic chord with anyone who watched BBC children's television in the 1960s and 1970s. Told by Morris, each of the fourteen stories takes the form of a visit by a zoo keeper to one of the animals to say goodnight, and to chat about the often funny events of the day. Each creature has a different personality and a different voice and is wonderfully brought to life by Morris's wonderful delivery. There are no high-tech effects here, just simple stories enthusiastically recounted to excellent effect.
For people of my generation, this collection is pure nostalgia, but I wanted to find out what my children (aged 8,7 and 4) thought, so we put the disc on for a car journey and they loved it, listening intently and chuckling at the gentle humour. It just shows that 21st century children don't necessarily have to have high-tech presentations to maintain their interest - these classic tales were thoroughly appreciated. I think these stories would be suitable for children from about age 2 upwards, and it would be great to listen to one story each night at bedtime - you'd have a fortnight's worth then. This disc would make a great alternative present for a young child - definitely recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Old Johnny, 21 Mar 2010
By 
Lewis Graham "lewisgraham" (East Anglia) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Johnny Morris Bedtime Stories (Vintage Beeb) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Older readers will require no introduction to Johnny Morris. For the rest, dressed as a zoo keeper at Bristol Zoo, he appeared on BBC Children's television in the 1960's and 70's with his programme Animal Magic. He used to put words around shots of animals in the zoo which was all delightful.

This disc contains a number of his own stories, originally recorded for the GPO dial-a-bedtime story service, and first released in 1972. As a collection there is a touch of repetition, probably as they were only meant to be heard one at a time, but all have charm and are easy listening.

The packaging has been thoughtfully done. As well as the original LP cover as the CD cover, the CD itself is black - the topside label even has pretend grooves!

Whilst the packaging and the nostalgia will appeal to older parents and grandparents, the stories will charm the little ones no end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Johnny Morris, need i say anymore?, 3 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny Morris Bedtime Stories (Vintage Beeb) (Audio CD)
Great cd. I bought this for my daughters aged 7 and 10 to listen to as they go off to sleep.I wasn't sure what they would think to Johnny Morris, but i remembered him from my childhood so thought i'd give it a go.Need not have worried, i think the cd is almost worn out through constant use!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great nostalagia but..., 17 April 2010
By 
Dodster (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Johnny Morris Bedtime Stories (Vintage Beeb) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I think this CD will appeal to the generation who knew and loved Johnny Morris.
For a modern generation who look for a bit more 'bang and whiz' from their story lines, I'm not sure it will appeal.
I purchased it for the car, so that my 4 year old daughter is entertained on longer journeys. She listened, but I'm not sure she got it. To get the most from the story lines, the animals mentioned need to be known. Some she did some she didn't. She hasn't asked for the Cd again, which she has with others.

As an adult, I was captivated for a while, but the idea behind the story is very repetitive, as is the dialogue.
I think it might have been better if the Beeb had released a dvd of the same. Ok, so I couldn't use it in the car, but I think it would have had more appeal.
The design of the CD as a vinyl record is very innovative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past, 27 Mar 2010
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Johnny Morris Bedtime Stories (Vintage Beeb) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
To the modern/ younger listener the name Johnny Morris probably means very little. He became famous for providing dialogue for a serious of little rodents,(such as Hammy the hamster), in the Canadian import 'Tales of the riverbank'. This was followed by 'Animal magic' which saw Morris dressed up as a zookeeper while chatting to various animals at Bristol zoo & again providing witty replies from them.
He had a knack for impersonation of an animals character and while not screamingly funny his gift was gentle and amusing and certainly as a child I loved his work.
So what of nearly 40 years later? Not having heard him since I was young I have to say what a delight it is to hear him again and I don't mean through the rose tinted specs of nostalgia. He remains both touching and funny with an ability to make a listener believe he he has an animal with him. For younger listers this is a great introduction to all sorts of animals without even seeing them! Occasionally he may ramble but overall this is a great pleasure to return to and is nicely timed at around the 45 minute mark. While everyone has their favourites I love the miserable and slightly bolshy warthogs, Charley & Gladys, Hooter the elephant.
Nicely packaged in the BBC's 'Vintage Beeb' original packaging fascimille slip with a vinyl style CD.
A very pleasant return from a too often forgotten and very entertaining actor that should appeal to those who remember him fondly and to pre-schoolers who love animals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A chaotic trip down nostalgia lane, 29 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. Stuart Bruce "DonQuibeats" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Johnny Morris Bedtime Stories (Vintage Beeb) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
"Bedtime Stories" is a spin-off of sorts from Johnny Morris' long-running TV series "Animal Magic" in which he would anthropomorphise animals by dubbing silly voices onto them. "Bedtime Stories" is a series of 14 short tales that Morris both wrote and performed.

It's Morris' voice alone. Some of his impersonations of the animals have some simple processing applied but there's no music or other effects.

Yet despite being only one voice, what surprised me about this collection was how chaotic and busy the stories are. Instead of the slow and relaxing tone of, for example, an Oliver Postgate story, Johnny Morris's zoo is full of loud, noisy animals- kookaburras, jackdaws, and Chatterbox the budgerigar, who will wake you up with their loud calls if you're in any danger of falling asleep to these stories. As if running to a time limit, Johnny Morris races through each of the three- to four-minute long stories at quite a pace.

It's not especially educational- there's a little bit of learning which animal is which here, but there's no real agenda to teach anybody anything about how the animals really behave.

There's a warning on the back saying "sound quality may vary" as it's been mastered from vinyl. Don't worry- it sounds absolutely fine. Since it's only a voice, it ends up crystal clear.

It's a nostalgia piece and today's kids might not quite see the appeal, but you never know. It's certainly worth a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 1 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny Morris Bedtime Stories (Vintage Beeb) (Audio CD)
Bought this for my 2 and half yr old son at my husbands insistence. It is fab...nostalgia for the parents and my little boy loves hearing about the animals and listening to the silly voices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic & gentle, but very much of its time., 24 Mar 2010
By 
Small Scale "small_scale" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Johnny Morris Bedtime Stories (Vintage Beeb) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was excited at re-living the woofly tones of Johnny Morris as he recited his tales of talking to animals. Who in there 40s wouldn't remember Johnny's TV show and his gentle imitations of the animal kingdom ? Whilst it was a great trip down memory lane for me, my 3 year toddler wasn't in the slightest bit interested in listening to the stories. I guess the market for children's audio stuff has moved on so much in recent years, it just didn't have enough in it to grab or maintain her interest. And that's what dates this so very much. Glad the Beeb released it though, but perhaps the market has moved on significantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good old fashioned entertainment, 25 Mar 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Johnny Morris Bedtime Stories (Vintage Beeb) (Audio CD)
I chose this cd with a little trepidation, as "animal magic" was never one of my favourite programmes on bbc, but thought my children (a boy of 5 1/2 and a girl of 3 1/2) may like the stories.

This is a collection of 14 of Johnny Morris' bedtime stories, on one cd, and has been in my wifes car since this was delivered.

It has been a BIG hit with my children, particularly my little boy who borrowed the cd out of the car this very evening to listen to in his bedroom.

It makes a change to listen to a bit of charming old-fashioned childrens entertainment, audio only, where in this day and age, so much relies on animation, computer trickery, etc.

My children love their audio cd's, and this one has been a big hit with both of them (and my wife), and I think will continue to get played for a good long time to come.

My little girl particularly likes the story "Lulu-the baby seal"...for the simple reason her nickname is Lulu, so smiles all round when that track plays.

Thoroughly recommended when you want your kids to give you a little peace and quiet!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Johnny Morris Bedtime Stories (Vintage Beeb)
Johnny Morris Bedtime Stories (Vintage Beeb) by Johnny Morris (Audio CD - 4 Feb 2010)
£4.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews