Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hush hush
I thought that Doctor Who: The Last Voyage would be the last bbc audio story featuring the tenth doctor, but this one then slipped into the schedules at rather short notice.

This follows a slightly different format to the previous releases in this range because ir's only one disc long rather than two, featuring two episodes that run for roughly thirty five...
Published on 9 Mar 2010 by Paul Tapner

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dead uninvolving
Lots of praise for the final original audio story for David Tennant's Tenth Doctor in these reviews, however I wasn't so sure; I found Tennant's verbal tics more irksome than ever and after seeing Matt Smith make the role his own so comprehensively it seems somehow wrong to hear Tennant's portrayal again. I have no problem with audio stories featuring previous...
Published on 8 July 2010 by Captain Pugwash


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hush hush, 9 Mar 2010
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Doctor Who": Dead Air: (10th Doctor, Audio Original) (Audio CD)
I thought that Doctor Who: The Last Voyage would be the last bbc audio story featuring the tenth doctor, but this one then slipped into the schedules at rather short notice.

This follows a slightly different format to the previous releases in this range because ir's only one disc long rather than two, featuring two episodes that run for roughly thirty five minutes each.

And it's formatted slightly differently also, because it's presented - via a short announcement at the beginning - as being a recording found on a sunken vessel. Which turns out to have been made by the Doctor. The Doctor tells the tale of how he arrived on a pirate radio vessel in the 1960's, on the trail of a living weapon called the hush. This kills anything that issues a sound.

David Tennant thus reads the whole thing in character, but as before also provides voices for the supporting characters.

This follows the classic doctor who format of an isolated place coming under attack from alien menace. The Doctor works alongside a liverpudlian girl called Layla to find the hush. She's quite an appealing character, having a lot of common sense and a determined attitude.

The whole setting is very convincing really feeling like it's set in the sixties, thanks not least to references of audio technology of the time. And what will follow.

Once you get past all the set up in part one you do then find yourself waiting for something to happen as the Doctor and Layla are searching the boat for their quarry. But then a very good cliffhanger provides the jolt the story requires.

It gets even better in part two, though, as it uses the format of audio to it's full effect. This would be a hard story to do on tv. There's a subtle air of menace to part two, which makes it just the kind of thing to listen to on long winter evenings with the curtains drawn and the lights down low. And there are a few good surprises and plot developments you won't see coming along the way.

It does also go nicely against cliche at the end. The Doctor saying something a little different to what he usually does when he resolves things.

Do also be sure to play the cd to the very end of the final track.

Short and sweet and one more tenth doctor story. Well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not like other Doctor Who audio books..., 8 Mar 2010
By 
T. David (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Doctor Who": Dead Air: (10th Doctor, Audio Original) (Audio CD)
Unlike the other Doctor Who audio books which are just that, books, this one is rather different. It is read by David Tennant of course and he does do it ever so well, but its also read by the Doctor. The best way to describe it is just like someone reading a journal. Up until the end of course.

I would recomend it, not as long as the other books, only 1 hour 10 minutes run time but I did laugh a little and yes there are things that you can see coming. Still a great one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who 'Dead Air', 14 Mar 2010
By 
Sharon Thorne (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Doctor Who": Dead Air: (10th Doctor, Audio Original) (Audio CD)
Well this latest Doctor Who audio book was an unexpected surprise,
1 - because it was an extra story snuck in about the tenth Doctor and
2 (or b) - because it was an extra story told by the tenth Doctor himself, and I don't just mean it was David Tennant reading but the tenth Doctor himself reading it!

It was an unusual idea by James Goss to create the idea of an old recording found at the bottom of the sea in the wreck of a 1960's pirate radio ship and if you are listening to this recording as the Doctor says... 'then one of us is going to die!'

The characters are voiced well by David Tennant as always and I really felt that I got to know the Doctor's newly found friend 'Layla' with her fun attitude to life, quirky sense of humour and a real feeling for the excitement and adventure that life has to offer this young woman in the swinging sixties. When the Doctor tells her he's chasing down an alien and he travels in time and space, she just thinks that's 'cool'. I could imagine her running off with the Doctor in the Tardis...

I'm still trying to decide whether it's better to have David Tennant as himself telling a story with the Doctor thrown in during the dialogue or to have the Doctor tell it in his own words. I think that's for you to decide when you listen to the story but either way it's a great concept and I can't see why (even though the tenth Doctor's time has come to an end on screen) his audio adventures can't continue in the future and maybe told by David Tennant himself as he's pretty good at it!

The only slight downside is the length of the story - much shorter than the others. I think it could have been a longer story and not just for the sake of it. How did the Doctor come to be chasing this alien weapon in the first place? And what about the only other two characters in the story. I wanted to know more about them. For these reasons I've taken off a star but it's still well worth buying if you're a fan of Who.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dead uninvolving, 8 July 2010
This review is from: "Doctor Who": Dead Air: (10th Doctor, Audio Original) (Audio CD)
Lots of praise for the final original audio story for David Tennant's Tenth Doctor in these reviews, however I wasn't so sure; I found Tennant's verbal tics more irksome than ever and after seeing Matt Smith make the role his own so comprehensively it seems somehow wrong to hear Tennant's portrayal again. I have no problem with audio stories featuring previous incarnations of the Time Lord, however I think I need a bit more time to have elapsed before I'm ready to hear DT's constant pop culture references and adoring endorsements of the indomitability of the human race again.

The story is split into two episodes over one disc; the first half introduces the situation and the alien menace 'The Hush', which put me in mind of 2007 TV serial 'Silence in the Library/Forest of the Dead', with its invisible threat lurking in the shadows. The second episode is more in the style of classic Doctor Who 'base under siege' stories; The Doctor fighting to contain The Hush and seeing his companions on the pirate radio ship being relentlessly picked off, one by one.

With the potential to be a haunting and atmospheric audio swansong for the Tenth Doctor, this is in fact a bit of a damp squib, and although it picks up somewhat by the second half I would definitely rate it as an indifferent entry in the usually excellent BBC range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dead Brilliant., 20 Oct 2013
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Doctor Who": Dead Air: (10th Doctor, Audio Original) (Audio CD)
Positive.
David Tennant gives a exellent narration of this story as he portrays a list of characters giving each one a identity.
Superb Tight paced adventure full of tension & wit written by James Goss.

Negative.
Two 35 minute episodes running a total of 70 minutes long, So at times the narrative seems rushed In the story here & there.

This was voted best Audiobook of the year in 2010.

Review.
This is your classic base under siege type adventure that Doctor Who is superbly well at doing.

Read by 10th Doctor David Tennant this adventure is a great mystery.

In present day a ship recovers a mysterious recording by the Doctor from a sunken vessel which is discovered was recorded in the year 1966.

It tells of The Doctors arrival in the Tardis on a pirate radio vessel as the Doctor is tracking a mysterious Alien known as The Hush whom can kill, Silence & devour anyone who makes a noise using the power of sound as it's weapon.

The Doctor meets a girl named Layla from Liverpool a feisty character who is intrigued by the Doctor.

The Hush picks off the crew of the pirate radio ship one at a time & the Doctor with a little help from Layla must trap & destroy the Hush before it can escape & attempt to destroy the world.

David Tennants narration is first class his passion & enthusiasm in his reading is infectious as the 10th Doctor himself is also a self confessed fanboy of the show & you always feel that love for Doctor Who from Tennant whether it's the series or an audio productions like this.

My gripe with this story is the running time of 70 minutes as this could've been a exellent 2 CD adventure as we no nothing of why the Doctor is tracking this Alien The Hush as the backstory is never explained.

By not giving any explanation of this plot thread it loses a bit of intrigue & impact as if this had been a 2 CD adventure release the first part of the adventure could've fleshed this minor quibble out & give more depth as to why the Doctor is so intent of tracking down The Hush.

That quibble aside what is great is it's a entertaining audiobook that is superbly read by David Tennant & should appeal to fans of Classic & NuWho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who: Dead Air, 28 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Doctor Who": Dead Air: (10th Doctor, Audio Original) (Audio CD)
I got this product a few days ago and was so amazed by the spin James Goss used. Having the Tenth doctor read the story rather than David Tennant's own voice was pure genius. It brought the story to life. The very last moment of the last track was pure genius too and the whole thing was made so well if you believed in everything you heard if it sounded genuine then you would believe this. The voice varies as it would do if the recording was real, and it cuts out which is also what would happen. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I don't get other people's reviews about not developing the characters or it could have been longer, could have told us why the doctor was chasing the hush, because; 1. It is from the doctor's eyes and ears and so he can't say much about them, 2. The recording is just a warning about the hush, not about the hush in general, 3. If it was longer then it would suggest that layla was asleep for a long time, she was only asleep for a few hours, it wouldn't seem genuine enough. I will now leave you with one thing. If you are reading this, then one of us is going to die.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor who does it again... Saves the world that is!, 15 Dec 2010
By 
Mrs. Janice Cowpersmith (England's sunny coast) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Doctor Who": Dead Air: (10th Doctor, Audio Original) (Audio CD)
Another great audio book that can be enjoyed by ten year olds up. I think any younger it might be a bit scary but that could be Im easliy scared. Im 44 and love listerning to these when Im not 100% or just as a change from all the boring stuff in life. A brilliant story told by THE doctor himself David Tennant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but too short for decent plot development, 16 Feb 2010
This review is from: "Doctor Who": Dead Air: (10th Doctor, Audio Original) (Audio CD)
I recommend this book, honestly. It's just that ...

Having paid the full pre-order price for this audiobook I was very disappointed on receipt to find that it is only half the length of the usual Doctor Who audio offering - and even more so to find on coming on line to post this review that the price has been nearly halved already.

That said, it's a good story and, as ever, well read by the estimable Mr T, who does some lovely Merseyside accents. It's just a shame that the running time gives no time for plot subtleties and you can see each development coming for miles. The effect was like reading a short story in the Doctor Who annual when you had anticipated one of the better novelisations.

Four stars, as despite the excellence of the reading I was disconcerted by the fact that the bass balance appeared to have been turned up on DT's voice to emphasise the notion that this was a restored analogue recording - this became quite offputting after a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The 4 stars is aimed at the cracked case - not the content, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Doctor Who": Dead Air: (10th Doctor, Audio Original) (Audio CD)
Well, the fact that it is Dr Who is great, the fact that it is read by David Tennant is superb, but I was not so pleased that the case arrived with a massive crack in it. Miffed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars fun!, 5 May 2013
By 
W. Marshall (Los Angeles CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Doctor Who": Dead Air: (10th Doctor, Audio Original) (Audio CD)
I sent it to my sick cousin once I finished listening to it. It was fun to be "in" the Doctor's head for an hour, instead of guessing what he was thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

"Doctor Who": Dead Air: (10th Doctor, Audio Original)
"Doctor Who": Dead Air: (10th Doctor, Audio Original) by James Goss (Audio CD - 4 Mar 2010)
Used & New from: 22.20
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews