Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite a jolly adventure
Asylum's quite a jolly Torchwood adventure, and not as dark as some of the TV episodes. As such, it is suitable for listening by a younger audience. I often wince during the Big Finish Doctor Who audio adventures at cloying continuity references, and the BBC Radio Doctor Who adventures in the 90s were ludicrously bad and poorly scripted. So, for me, Asylum was very...
Published on 26 Aug 2009 by Mr. K. Mahoney

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hard to recommend
Gave this a listen, and have to admit I struggled to keep interested in it to the end.

It's basically like Torchwood without the visuals to keep you focused (Having Eve Myles to look at when conversations got dull on TV was apparently a lot more crucial than I realised), and with the regular cast sounding even more bored than usual. The story is completely...
Published on 11 Oct 2009 by John Clayton III


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hard to recommend, 11 Oct 2009
By 
John Clayton III (Greystoke) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: "Torchwood": Asylum (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Gave this a listen, and have to admit I struggled to keep interested in it to the end.

It's basically like Torchwood without the visuals to keep you focused (Having Eve Myles to look at when conversations got dull on TV was apparently a lot more crucial than I realised), and with the regular cast sounding even more bored than usual. The story is completely forgettable (I literally cannot remember most of it already) and in general the whole thing just feels totally unnecessary.

Might occupy if you're a hardcore Torchwood fan who'll be needing something for a long drive, but for someone looking for a decent audio drama, then you're probably barking up the wrong tree here.

Not worth the time or investment,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite a jolly adventure, 26 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. K. Mahoney "Kevin Mahoney" (Punked Books, London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Torchwood": Asylum (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Asylum's quite a jolly Torchwood adventure, and not as dark as some of the TV episodes. As such, it is suitable for listening by a younger audience. I often wince during the Big Finish Doctor Who audio adventures at cloying continuity references, and the BBC Radio Doctor Who adventures in the 90s were ludicrously bad and poorly scripted. So, for me, Asylum was very much a refreshing, and very professional audio production in comparison. To be honest, I thought it was a lot better than many of the TV episodes, such as Chris Chibnal's horrendous Countrycide. Some other reviewers have commentated that casual listeners might be baffled by the sudden plunge into the Torchwood universe, but I think this is beside the point, as only Torchwood fans would be buying this CD, and since it's only 45 minutes long, there isn't enough time for a great exposition regarding all that's happened thus far. Besides, the excellent Tom Price's presence as PC Andy Davidson amply provides the outsider's perspective of Torchwood. Anita Sullivan's portrayal of the main characters is spot on, with Jack, as per usual, going over the top in his reaction to Freda (her 'weapon' doesn't sound that dangerous). The story does peter out towards the end, as other reviewers have noted, but that's because the threat isn't as great as Jack originally fears. Ianto and Andy also display a great deal of humour, which is a welcome change of tone, and makes it all the more shameful that Ianto was not utilised more fully in the TV series. So, this episode of Torchwood is mainly focused on the characters of our heroes, without a hint of the cringe factor that afflicts similar episodes in the various Star Trek franchises. And althought Asylum is obviously set before The Children of Earth, it does suggest that there is a Torchwood in the future...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly fine, just nothing special, 23 Aug 2009
By 
Lukens (Leamington Spa, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: "Torchwood": Asylum (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Firstly, there are no introductions in any way for the characters from the TV series, so unless you already know who they are and what their roles are, you might struggle. Luckily I'm a follower of the TV series, and so this wasn't a problem for me, but if you're buying this for yourself or someone else, then I think this is an important thing to consider.

As for the story itself, I didn't really find it particularly interesting or exciting. It was perfectly fine, but nothing that I'd really want to listen to more than once, and if I was less interested in Torchwood, I think I'd have found little merit in it at all. It was OK, just nothing special. It just about stands up as a companion piece to the TV series, clearly targeted at fans of the show, but it wouldn't really stand up on it's own merits.

Another issue I had is that I ripped this CD to iTunes as an audiobook so that I could listen to it on my iPod. However, the very short tracks on the CD, combined with the fact that the iPod does not play chapters/tracks from an audiobook continuously, meant that my listening experience was rather disjointed, as I kept having to reach for my ipod to find the next track. Personally I feel this is more a fault of the iPod software than the CD itself; however with iPods being so popular I would have thought that this limitation they have would be considered when making an audio CD of this nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Limited, 27 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. RB FORTUNE-WOOD "Rowan" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Torchwood": Asylum (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There's something of the typical fan fiction about this drama, which lacks the grit of the television series. One of the problems with this kind of works relationship to the wider canon is that its limited ability to change the course of the main series stunts its capacity to introduce any radical elements. Consequently the ending, where a story might offer a more radical turn, offers only anticlimax. However it does have positive features; the series is professional and not every BBC radio drama can boast so much; strong voice acting and until the end a decent plot. Perhaps its greatest weakness is it lacks a hook, something to really consider or, therefore, remember, but it does provide an amusing diversion of devotees of the shows mythology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Stops when the story should begin at last!, 29 Sep 2009
This review is from: "Torchwood": Asylum (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
I've listened to several "Torchwood" audio books/stories for Radio 2 and "Asylum" is, by far, the most disappointing. Pretty good acting from the cast, but that's not what makes the story captivating, unfortunately. I was really surprised at the end of it, because it felt like something was happening at last, (boring) pieces were starting to fall into place. But no. That was it.
Don't waste your money on this. The only good thing about "Asylum" is PC Andy, who, for once, doesn't ask "how high?" when Gwen tells him to jump.

(sorry for any spelling mistake, English is not my mother tongue)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Prefer to Watch!, 28 Sep 2009
By 
Michael Cawdrey "Codger" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: "Torchwood": Asylum (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
I am a big Torchwood fan, having watched the first three series on the BBC. However, listening to this, i could not seem to get into it, as somethimes it can be a little difficult to follow. Torchwood, for me, is all about the visual, so I was a little apprehenvive about listening to this. The story is decent, and would have liked it to have been a real t.v. episode (this is now impossible for reasons I will not state due to spoilers). It does make for good listening, due to the original cast voice acting.

Overall, good, but maybe Torchwood does not belong in this format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 27 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. Di Zendle "Piping hot potato!" (Potato, Potato) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Torchwood": Asylum (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
This is Torchwood at its best - A gripping and spine-chilling sci-fi tale set in modern Cardiff. This audiobook features the cast of the TV series, and is a welcome return to form for the show after the disappointment of 'Children of Earth'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Torchwood audio has improved, 24 Sep 2009
By 
Michele Fry (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: "Torchwood": Asylum (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
"Torchwood": Asylum (BBC Audio) Last year's Torchwood radio play for BBC radio 4 (Lost Souls) was a brave effort but clearly demonstrated how unused the majority of the main players were at acting for radio. Fortunately, this year, the main players have all learnt from their experience, and their performances were much better - less shouty and more focused.

Torchwood: Asylum is the first of three radio plays that follow on from 'Lost Souls' and set the scene for the TV show's explosive third season (Children of Earth). This story focuses on a young woman, Freda, who appears abruptly in Cardiff apparently armed with some kind of futuristic ray gun, and speaking a half-incomprehensible dialect. PC Andy finds her first, but then he calls in his former colleague, now Torchwood employee, Gwen Cooper. They take over Freda's case, but Andy insists on remaining involved as they struggle to solve the mystery of where Freda has sprung from. The answer is a surprise to them (but probably not to the listener) - and involves some timey-wimeyness that we see less often in Torchwood than in its parent show, Doctor Who.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Short and Sweet, 19 Sep 2009
By 
fegMANIA! (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: "Torchwood": Asylum (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
This 45-minute radio play from the first half of 2009 is a good deal more satisfying and thoughtful than many of the television episodes that preceded it.

Essentially an examination of notions of identity and what it means to be an outsider, Anita Sullivan's play immediately scores points by sidelining most of the "Torchwood" regulars. Never a convincing dramatic lead, John Barrowman has very little to do here as Captain Jack Harkness; he and Ianto are kept out of the important scenes and the story benefits greatly from this. Coming to the fore instead are Eve Myles and Tom Price as one-time police colleagues Gwen and Andy.
Along with Erin Richards as the enigmatic Freda, they bring to life a script that's as engaging as it is concise.

Freed from many of the wearing clichés that haunted the TV series, this play is a fair indication of how well "Torchwood" could work on the radio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasing story but not brilliant., 18 Sep 2009
By 
D. M. Farmbrough "Dave Farmbrough" (Wisconsin, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Torchwood": Asylum (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
I enjoyed this story, mainly because it was so good to hear all my old Torchwood friends again. The acting and direction is really consistent with the BBC television series, and in some ways, the tone is similar to the episodes of the second series (not as black as Children Of Earth), even though this takes place after the team lost Tosh and Owen. Where the story DOES differ substantially from the television series is that the character of PC Andy is allowed to take centre stage for much of this drama, and this is one of the strengths of an audio format like this. Tom Price is always likeable in the role on television, and is no different in this story, except he does get to show a little more moral backbone than we are used to, standing up to both Gwen and Jack. Gwen also comes off well in this story, but with little time spent on Captain Jack and Ianto, I did feel a little short-changed. Worse than that is the fact that the story seems very similar to the brilliant first series TV story "Out of Time", (in which an aviator woman from the past falls through the rift), with elements of "Sleeper", (where the alien woman is unaware that she isn't human). But these don't ruin the experience for me, and the story's saving grace is that this is a nice little character vignette for Andy. We are allowed to see both his compassion and Tom Price's acting strengths within the familiar Torchwood setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5df69a8)

This product

"Torchwood": Asylum (BBC Audio)
"Torchwood": Asylum (BBC Audio) by Anita Sullivan (Audio CD - 2 July 2009)
8.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews