Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU ARE A PRISONER OF THE DALEKS!
A new doctor who novel. telling a story not seen on tv. featuring the tenth doctor on his own. characterised perfectly well enough for you to have no problem imagining david tennant saying the dialogue. complete in 251 pages. and suitable for readers of all ages.

the story involves the doctor finding himself in a time somewhen before the time war, with humans...
Published on 12 April 2009 by Paul Tapner

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of the better stories
All of these 9th and 10th Doctor novels are written for children, so for an adult or teen they're just a quick, fun read. This one's not quite so young because there weren't any animals, robots or even furniture coming alive or acting like humans. It's a straightforward humans versus daleks story, which was a relief. If BBC are listening, though...an adult range would...
Published on 27 April 2009 by Taswegian


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This would be by far the best Dalek story on Tv ever, but of course it's not. IUt is the best doctor who novel i have read, and i don't say that lightly. The characters are good, i was very surprised to see a swear word (bitch) on page 89, it made me stare at it for a few moments though i must admit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining story, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very fast paced story, believable characters and Daleks with good dialogue and with real motivation. I do like that the font is altered to accommodate the rasping, grating speech that the Daleks use when they speak. Nice job one this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great Dr who novel!, 15 July 2013
I really enjoyed this book. You could really imagine 10 saying a lot of the dialogue, and the plot genuinely kept you guessing... Not exactly high literature, but a fun and gripping light read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent listen for a long journey, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Doctor Who": Prisoner of the Daleks (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
This 5 cd set lasts five hours and is brilliantly read by Nicholas Briggs - the voice of the Daleks himself. It is an exciting story and I enjoyed every bit of it. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Exterminator, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is almost definitely the best doctor who book ever written. It has tons of previously unknown facts about Daleks and it introduces an epic new character Dalek x who I think is just about the coolest Dalek ever! It also introduces Dalek x's flagship the exterminater which gave me goose bumps when I first read about it. I think this book is an absolute must have for any doctor who fan. This book is my personal favourite book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More adult feel but still fun and interesting, 8 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. M. Jones "Jonesmz" (Chester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Like other books in the series this has some great alien planets - I liked the ruins especially. The characters are all adults which gives the book a different, more mature feel than the usual, and some of the scenes are fairly brutal - especially the Dalek torturing. The adventure twists and turns with a couple of points seemingly without possibility of escape, and there is a great character who may well return - Dalek X. Good read - fun and interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars prisoner of the daleks, 2 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
(PRISONER OF THE DALEKS) BY Hardcover (Author) Hardcover Published on (04 , 2009)

this book is brilliant..
it is written with perfect represention of the 10th Dr's character!
& with certain areas of the story leaving you wondering how they are going to get out of this situation!

it is written in similar style to both R.T.Davies & S.Moffet.
a great read for both aults & younger!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dark but good, 16 Sep 2011
By 
A. Jacobs - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is rather more downbeat than most of this range, the shocks start early on and don't stop. However, it is gripping and comes to a big finale that would have taken a massive effects budget. Not the best of the series but certainly a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Entertaining, 26 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Short novel (about 2 1/2 hours at my reading speed), but very entertaining. The Daleks are used well with a group of sympathetic characters for the Doctor to meet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My (re)view on the book Doctor Who: Prisoner of the daleks., 28 Oct 2010
I absolutely LOVE doctor who! I am a great David tenant fan and a major dalek lover! After watch series 5 of doctor who I needed more I simply couldn't wait for Christmas to come I needed a new story. Seeing ALL the episode I decided to see what books were available. I found this one and I instantly bought it. It is a great book. Its beautifully written by Trevor Baxendale and he creates some great images. It is set before the time war and we see the daleks plans to conquer the universe and their attitude to the doctor before the war. It introduces a new dalek character knows as Dalek X and we see a whole range of emotions from the doctor. ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

"Doctor Who": Prisoner of the Daleks (BBC Audio)
"Doctor Who": Prisoner of the Daleks (BBC Audio) by Trevor Baxendale (Audio CD - 3 Sep 2009)
£10.74
Usually dispatched within 1 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews