Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy listening and very entertaining
The wonderful Penelope Keith stars once again as the feisty Agatha Raisin in two adaptations of MC Beaton's popular books. The episodes are easy to listen to, and I find that they make a welcome relief from the radio or music CD's.

In "The Terrible Tourist", Agatha goes in search of her beloved James, whom jilted her in the previous episode. Following him into...
Published on 13 Jan 2010 by Ms M

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Raisin: The curious curse of the adamant adaptor
As a huge Hamish Macbeth fan, I have previous form with M. C. Beaton. I really enjoy her style of writing and although I think the Macbeth books are better than the Agatha Raisin series (especially Death of a Macho Man (Hamish Macbeth)), she still creates a feisty and entertaining character.

I enjoy a lot of the BBC's radio productions, they have an excellent...
Published on 16 Jun 2010 by B. Roche


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight Fun, 25 Feb 2010
By 
IWFIcon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Agatha Raisin: The Terrible Tourist: AND The Fairies of Fryfam (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is not the place to come for dark, intense and complex plots. But if a modern twist on Miss Marple, full of witty humour is your kind of thing then these two outstanding "full-cast" stories are certain winners.

Penelope Keith stars as Agatha Raisin, and gives us a wonderful performance, which is every bit as good as the blurb would suggest. In truth though, virtually all the characters in both stories are perfectly realised and brought to life with a winning nod and a wink.

The only drawback is that at about an hour each, both stories are over in the blink of an eye, but I suppose I'll just have to by another of the Agatha Raisin CD sets to make up for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Raisin: The curious curse of the adamant adaptor, 16 Jun 2010
By 
B. Roche "somethingisrotten" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Agatha Raisin: The Terrible Tourist: AND The Fairies of Fryfam (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a huge Hamish Macbeth fan, I have previous form with M. C. Beaton. I really enjoy her style of writing and although I think the Macbeth books are better than the Agatha Raisin series (especially Death of a Macho Man (Hamish Macbeth)), she still creates a feisty and entertaining character.

I enjoy a lot of the BBC's radio productions, they have an excellent track record of quality casting and production values and with The Terrible Tourist and The Fairies of Fryfam, this is continued. Penelope Keith is perfect as the wrinkly Raisin who has bucketloads of attitude, and the other vocal performances are all excellent.

Unfortunately, this dramatisation is let down (hence the three stars) by the somewhat over-zealous adaptation of the source material. These are incredibly short stories and are pretty much over before they've begun. The writing is tight and there are some great lines which will have you snorting into your coffee (or something stronger if you're a bit like Agatha) but it's just too short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Raisin BBC full cast audio, The Terrible Tourist and Fairies of Fryfam. Engaging and entertaining listen., 11 Mar 2010
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Agatha Raisin: The Terrible Tourist: AND The Fairies of Fryfam (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Presented here are two stories from the Agatha Raisin series, starring Penelope Keith as Raisin. Each story is in two half hour episodes, and come on two discs. There are limited liner notes with cast details and chapter points.

The basic set up is a sort of modern day pastiche of Miss Marple. Agatha Raisin is an acerbic modern day spinster, who after a successful London career has moved to the countryside for the good life. However, wherever she goes there seem to be dead bodies popping up everywhere and mysteries to be solved. The tone is more humorous than serious murder mystery, with most of the humour deriving from Agatha's sarcastic put downs of anything and everything, and her on/off relationship with next door neighbour James.

The mysteries tend to be a bit lightweight and serve little purpose other than hang various situations, character interactions and put downs from. However, these make for an engaging and entertaining two hours of easy listening. Penelope Keith is perfectly cast as Raisin, and really delivers the script beautifully. I could feel her disdain for any and everything just oozing out of the earphones!

I have never read the books, so cannot comment as to textual accuracy.

All in all, an entertaining listen. It will be of interest to anyone who enjoys Midsommer Murders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun and plenty of spunk from our bossy heroine, 18 Mar 2010
By 
Katharine Kirby "Kate" (HELSTON, Cornwall United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Agatha Raisin: The Terrible Tourist: AND The Fairies of Fryfam (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Agatha Raisin - The Terrible Tourist and The Fairies of Fryfam

Well as dear Penelope Keith could read out the phone book and keep you enthralled, her voice carries you confidently through these dramas set in the special worlds of the Cotswolds, Corsica, and Cornwall (Hurray).

Sit back and relax with her and Agatha Raisin's sparky personae.

Agatha is reeling from her collapsed marriage arrangements and so in the first drama we find her on the trail of the hapless James who is hiding as far as away as he can flee. He can't escape though and in the first drama he is involved against his will in solving a nasty murder. In the second Agatha takes off herself to the country where she finds the darkest secrets hiding in the hedges. James arrives at Fryfam too with his sardonic wit. Mrs. Bloxby is back at base, her Watson and anchor, their communications grounding us and supplying some explanations. I haven't read M. C. Beaton but she/he seems like a jolly good sort. I'll find out more...

She is so strict and caustic so of course the dialogue is a joy. I loved it myself.

"You're not one of those Lesbians are ee?" "Well, if you're the alternative..."

No fear, it is fun, bright and will draw you in from the word go. Almost like a cosy afternoon performance at a regional theatre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Agatha Saga, 25 Mar 2010
This review is from: Agatha Raisin: The Terrible Tourist: AND The Fairies of Fryfam (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A great listen if you want to have an easy, simple hour or so. Nothing too taxing with a good actress in Penelope Keith to keep you going. She does try to make it funny, though sometimes the laughs are not very clear.

The character of Agatha has a dry sense of humour and is particularly bossy while trying to be a sleuth. She loves a good murder to investigate and as this seems to happen a lot, she gets her wish. Lovely, rich language as you would expect with Penelope Keith playing a wealthy lady with a good up-bringing.

Worth a couple of hours of your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant, 18 Mar 2010
By 
Coincidence Vs Fate - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Agatha Raisin: The Terrible Tourist: AND The Fairies of Fryfam (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A bit of a philistine, I know, but I'd never actually heard of Agatha Raisin or any of the radio dramas. From the off I was entranced as it was such a wonderful production, sparkling comedy and a great whodunnit. PK is perfect, as always, and I really believed in her character. There are some great one-liners in these too, which made me and my wife laugh out loud! One thing I didn't tell the wife though was the fact that I always thought Penelope Keith was much sexier than Felicity Kendall! Sshh...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rating from the Netherlands by Greta, 12 Feb 2010
By 
G. J. Bentum "Greta" (Hilversum, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Raisin: The Terrible Tourist: AND The Fairies of Fryfam (Audio CD)
The Agatha Raisin books are easy to read and the plots are interesting enough to keep you guessing. But the transformation to the full-cast dramatisations, with leading lady Penelope Keith, is an absolute delight. The interaction between Agatha Raisin and her neighbour, the handsome James Lacey, has been worked out very well in these 2 stories(Terrible Tourist and Fairies of Fryfam). I'm looking forward to listening to the next Agatha Raisin CD's!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great audio book, 24 Feb 2010
By 
Fiona Massey "jellyfi1" (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Agatha Raisin: The Terrible Tourist: AND The Fairies of Fryfam (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am not usually a fan of Audio Books, I prefer to immerse myself in the pages of a good read.
However, saying that I have read a few of the Agatha Raisin novels, and absolutely loved them.
Agatha is a feisty modern day Miss Marple, which will appeal to all ages.
In the Terrible Tourist, Agatha takes off across Europe in search of James, she ends up where they were to take their Honeymoon, and needless to say, someone ends up murdered and Agatha turns super sleuth!
In the Fairies of Fryham, Agatha is again off on her travels, this time to Cornwall in the UK, and again her super sleuth skill are needed when a millionaire is murdered!
I found Penelope Keith enthralling reading the books onto audio cd, and feel that her voice does Agatha Raisin justice.
I listened to this on a snowy night at home, and was immersed into a world where I almost felt Agatha was right beside me.
Cant recommend this CD enough, looking forward to buying a few more of these on CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 21 Mar 2010
By 
J.R.Hartley (NW England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Agatha Raisin: The Terrible Tourist: AND The Fairies of Fryfam (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Entertaining story read by a great reader. Penelope Keith is on top form as she reads this marvellous tale and uses her ascerbic conspiratorial tones to their maximum. Kept me entertained on a long drive and even had me laughing during a motorway traffic jam. I'd definitely be interested in listening to other Agatha Raisin tales if Miss Keith is doing the commentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Raisin, dramatisation is the best option..........., 28 Feb 2010
By 
mandynolan "mandynolan" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Agatha Raisin: The Terrible Tourist: AND The Fairies of Fryfam (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Once again we meet Agatha Raisin as she accidently stumbles across murder.....

In the first story, the Terrible Tourist, Agatha is trying to sort out her disastrous love affair with her neighbour and ex fiance James Lacey. In the second, The Fairies of Fryfam, she is still fleeing James Lacey only to stumble across another mysterious death.

These dramatisations are excellent.They have Penelope Keith as Agatha who is acerbic,witty and definitely her own woman. The supporting cast are, as ever, excellent.

I have listened to the unabridged version of the first story on this cd and must say, although it was read by Penelope Keith, that the dramatisation is more enjoyable.

This entire series of dramatisations is easy to listen to and great fun. Definitely a nice easy and entertaining listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Agatha Raisin: The Terrible Tourist: AND The Fairies of Fryfam
Used & New from: £2.83
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews