Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy listening and very entertaining
The wonderful Penelope Keith stars once again as the feisty Agatha Raisin in two adaptations of MC Beaton's popular books. The episodes are easy to listen to, and I find that they make a welcome relief from the radio or music CD's.

In "The Terrible Tourist", Agatha goes in search of her beloved James, whom jilted her in the previous episode. Following him into...
Published on 13 Jan 2010 by Ms M

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Raisin: The curious curse of the adamant adaptor
As a huge Hamish Macbeth fan, I have previous form with M. C. Beaton. I really enjoy her style of writing and although I think the Macbeth books are better than the Agatha Raisin series (especially Death of a Macho Man (Hamish Macbeth)), she still creates a feisty and entertaining character.

I enjoy a lot of the BBC's radio productions, they have an excellent...
Published on 16 Jun 2010 by B. Roche


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy listening and very entertaining, 13 Jan 2010
By 
Ms M (Leicestershire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Raisin: The Terrible Tourist: AND The Fairies of Fryfam (Audio CD)
The wonderful Penelope Keith stars once again as the feisty Agatha Raisin in two adaptations of MC Beaton's popular books. The episodes are easy to listen to, and I find that they make a welcome relief from the radio or music CD's.

In "The Terrible Tourist", Agatha goes in search of her beloved James, whom jilted her in the previous episode. Following him into Europe, she finds him on the island where they were supposed to take their honeymoon. Whilst she is there, a fellow tourist is murdered and Agatha sets about finding out who killed them and why, discovering that things are not what they seem with her fellow hotel guests.

In "The Fairies of Fryfam", Agatha decides that she needs to get away from Carsley, and James, and takes a holiday to Cornwall. There, she rents out a cottage with some suspicious lights dancing at the end of her garden. Agatha decides to investigate if these lights are connected somehow to the murder of a local millionaire.

Penelope Keith plays Agatha beautifully, encapsulating Agatha's strong, fiery attitude, which masks Agatha's underlying vulnerability, with ease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, Cosy, Murders!, 25 Mar 2010
By 
J. S. Bundy (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Agatha Raisin: The Terrible Tourist: AND The Fairies of Fryfam (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have always enjoyed the Agatha Raisin books, they are comfortable, curl with a cup of tea and a cat, sorts of books. Usually set in and around Agatha's home village in the Cotswolds they seem to blend murder most foul with the parochialism of village life in a quaint old fashioned way. Agatha, however is not the most likeable of sleuths, rude, over bearing and a tough cookie, she is definitely not a Jane Marple. Her long suffering neighbour, lover, some-time fiancée and now ex, provides a fantastic dynamic and sounding board.

These two BBC audio recordings are both set away from Agatha's village of Carsley and provide the opportunity for some nicely drawn one off characters. The first sees us on a fairytale Mediterranean island where James and Agatha were to have spent their honeymoon, and the second in a very insular Cornish village. As well as loving the books I have always enjoyed the BBC dramatisations and whilst physically, Penelope Keith could not be further from Agatha, vocally and performance wise she is spot on. Malcolm Sinclair's James is a delight and in my mind I seem to have a vision of Oliver Stirling from the Archers. Its not the same actor, but there is something about the character!

I often think that for gentle, British who-dunnits, abridged dramatisations work better than straight forward readings and these are a great example. I really look forward to more and hope that Agatha is back in Carsley soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Raisin: The curious curse of the adamant adaptor, 16 Jun 2010
By 
B. Roche "somethingisrotten" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Agatha Raisin: The Terrible Tourist: AND The Fairies of Fryfam (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a huge Hamish Macbeth fan, I have previous form with M. C. Beaton. I really enjoy her style of writing and although I think the Macbeth books are better than the Agatha Raisin series (especially Death of a Macho Man (Hamish Macbeth)), she still creates a feisty and entertaining character.

I enjoy a lot of the BBC's radio productions, they have an excellent track record of quality casting and production values and with The Terrible Tourist and The Fairies of Fryfam, this is continued. Penelope Keith is perfect as the wrinkly Raisin who has bucketloads of attitude, and the other vocal performances are all excellent.

Unfortunately, this dramatisation is let down (hence the three stars) by the somewhat over-zealous adaptation of the source material. These are incredibly short stories and are pretty much over before they've begun. The writing is tight and there are some great lines which will have you snorting into your coffee (or something stronger if you're a bit like Agatha) but it's just too short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable cd, 16 Mar 2012
By 
David (SPECTRE Island) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Agatha Raisin: The Terrible Tourist: AND The Fairies of Fryfam (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This cd contains the adaptions of two Agatha Raisin mysteries - The Terrible Tourist and The Fairies Of Fryfam. Having read both books I was keed to see how the adaptions would fair, luckerly I was not dissapointed. Penelope Keith (No Job For A Lady, The Good Life) makes an excellent Agatha Raisin. The BBC have always made excellent radio dramas and these two plays are no exception. I enjoyed listing to these while on a long boaring journey in my car - it made the journey alot more enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed listening to these two audio books, 25 Feb 2011
By 
Keith_Joseph (West Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Agatha Raisin: The Terrible Tourist: AND The Fairies of Fryfam (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The formidable Agatha Raisin is brought to life with gusto by Penelope Keith, who I quite liked in the role [probably having not read the books, I had no preconceptions about how Agatha would sound]. Agatha is the frustrated but endearing politically-incorrect star of the Agatha Raisin murder mystery books, set in the friendly Cotswold village of Carsely. These are full cast plays with 5 or 6 other voice actors, rather than Penelope Keith just reading the books out aloud. The stories are black comedy drama, and are quite funny, with middle aged Agatha having no difficulties in expressing herself, with sarcasm rather than swearing, e.g. male hotel porter: 'Bonjour Madame', Agatha: 'And the same to you'. Her first book is charmingly entitled "Agatha Raisin and the Quiche of Death". After a successful career in PR, Agatha sells up and chooses the Cotswolds to live in as it was the only place her unemployed drunken parents ever took her for a holiday (the one long weekend highlight of her deprived inner city Birmingham childhood).

This audio CD is an adaptation of the following two Agatha Raisin murder investigation books, and they were first broadcast on Radio 4 in November 2006.

- Agatha Raisin and the Terrible Tourist: The sixth in the Agatha Raisin murder mysteries. "Spurned at the altar, she follows her fleeing fiancé James Lacey to Cyprus, where, instead of enjoying the honeymoon they'd planned, they witness the killing of an obnoxious tourist in a disco."

- Agatha Raisin and the Fairies of Fryfam: The tenth in the Agatha Raisin murder mysteries. "Angry at being jilted by new husband James, Agatha follows a fortune-teller's advice and rents a Cornish cottage in pretty Fryfam. There, she hopes, true love will come chasing after her. But her romantic notions are dispelled by a series of odd goings-on in the village: strange lights start appearing in her back garden; there are thefts of paintings and pottery; and her beloved cats vanish."

Total run time is two hours, and the two CDs are in stereo. At times the audio delivery is a bit flat with 'eee Luv' accents, and one can get the impression Penelope Keith is reading a script rather than talking to anyone, but she's still an asset, and I quite enjoyed listening to these two stories when ripped to the iPod, so 4*. There are at least eight other BBC Agatha Raisin audio CDs in this series. Marion Chesney [under the pseudonym M. C. Beaton] also writes the acclaimed Highland policeman series of books 'Hamish Macbeth', a murder mystery series set in Lochdubh, Scotland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent listening pleasure., 15 April 2010
By 
Lily (Sheffield UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Agatha Raisin: The Terrible Tourist: AND The Fairies of Fryfam (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I hadn't managed to hear Agatha Raisin on Radio 4 but chose this on the strength of Penelope Keith as the lead character. This is definitely a great listen. The storyline is easy to follow and I enjoyed Ms Keith's feisty if slightly overbearing approach to her character. Put it on while taking a long drive. A definite recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raisin in the Sun and Under the Moon!, 6 April 2010
By 
F. S. L'hoir (Irvine, CA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Raisin: The Terrible Tourist: AND The Fairies of Fryfam (Audio CD)
I have an especial fondness for Agatha Raisin and the "Fairies of Fryfam" since it is the first BBC Radio 4 programme that I discovered (by accident) while surfing the web several years ago; and I have been listening to R4 ever since.

M.C. Beaton's feisty detective, who perpetually stumbles upon murder mysteries, is played with panache by Penelope Keith. This delightful double CD set includes two mysteries: "The Terrible Tourist," an adventure for Agatha on the sun-drenched island of Corsica, and the "Fairies of Fryfam," which takes the sleuth to Cornwall where she is ill-met by moonlight. Both plays are well-acted by an ensemble cast; the characters are enjoyable; and the mysteries are laced with comedy.The audio is clear, as might be expected from a BBC radio production. The CDs are well worth keeping and listening to again. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant CD, 27 Mar 2010
By 
G. Wake "gregwake" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Agatha Raisin: The Terrible Tourist: AND The Fairies of Fryfam (Audio CD)
Agatha Rasin is played very well by Penelope Keith and if you remember Audrey Fforbes-Hamilton in 'To The Manor Born' then you'll not be far off. Agatha is generally loveable with occasional periods of obnoxious behaviour making her that little more realistic and entertaining. I'd say this was more a comedy than a mystery. That's not to say the mysteries weren't good, there were a few twists in there but it's nothing complicated. There are other voices but the one you hear most is Penelope Keith, and from her you get a decent range of stereotypical middle-class English prejudices, from French waiters who don't understand tea to West Country fold who believe in fairies. There are too many murders to make her world one you'd want to visit, but these are a nice collection of stories, very well acted and produced to a high standard. I think I'll buy the rest too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Agatha Saga, 25 Mar 2010
This review is from: Agatha Raisin: The Terrible Tourist: AND The Fairies of Fryfam (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A great listen if you want to have an easy, simple hour or so. Nothing too taxing with a good actress in Penelope Keith to keep you going. She does try to make it funny, though sometimes the laughs are not very clear.

The character of Agatha has a dry sense of humour and is particularly bossy while trying to be a sleuth. She loves a good murder to investigate and as this seems to happen a lot, she gets her wish. Lovely, rich language as you would expect with Penelope Keith playing a wealthy lady with a good up-bringing.

Worth a couple of hours of your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So little to say..., 25 Mar 2010
By 
fivestarfrankie (chippenham, wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Agatha Raisin: The Terrible Tourist: AND The Fairies of Fryfam (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Ms Keith brings Agatha to life splendidly and I really enjoyed this among others when away last week on a trip which included 300 miles driving. So, very good and in many ways value for money. The only problem I have is that I only want to listen to an item once. Perhaps we audio book types need to start a swap shop !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7b2133c)

This product

Agatha Raisin: The Terrible Tourist: AND The Fairies of Fryfam
Used & New from: 2.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews