Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful story
As a fan of Lord Peter, Paul Temple, Albert Campion and Hercule Poirot and CD Audio Books I was running out new stories when I came across 'A series of murders' featuring Charles Paris by living author Simon Brett. Charles Paris is an actor and a world weary cad brilliantly read by Bill Nighy. I thoroughly enjoyed listening to the story the first time and the second...
Published on 25 July 2009 by D. Shuttle

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars For after you've completed Wimsey, Poirot and Temple..
Not the most intricate of plots, but a fair dramatic line. It does not match the Paul Temple, Agatha Christie, Lord Peter series, but makes for a good light listen in the car. I found Bill Nighy's drawling delivery slightly grating after a while, but it matches the character pretty well and occasionally the humorous asides are cause to laugh out loud. Run time 1 hour...
Published on 8 Mar. 2011 by Purslove


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful story, 25 July 2009
This review is from: Charles Paris: A Series of Murders (Radio Crimes) (Audio CD)
As a fan of Lord Peter, Paul Temple, Albert Campion and Hercule Poirot and CD Audio Books I was running out new stories when I came across 'A series of murders' featuring Charles Paris by living author Simon Brett. Charles Paris is an actor and a world weary cad brilliantly read by Bill Nighy. I thoroughly enjoyed listening to the story the first time and the second time. Bill Nighy does for Charles Paris what Stephen Fry does for Harry Potter. Although this is the only the first CD available I do hope he reads all the others. Bring 'em on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charles Paris Tape, 6 Aug. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charles Paris: A Series of Murders (Radio Crimes) (Audio CD)
I'm a sucker for anything by Simon Brett and I love the radio adaptations of his work. This was well up to standard and I had a restful time in the garden in the sunshine enjoying my listening with a glass of something long and cool to hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 30 Sept. 2009
By 
Mrs. J. E. J. (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charles Paris: A Series of Murders (Radio Crimes) (Audio CD)
This is excellent, perfect for playing in the car. Bill Nighy is wonderfully good as Charles Paris. My only regret is that there aren't more of the series available yet on cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gentle delight, 4 Jun. 2010
By 
G. Brack - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charles Paris: A Series of Murders (Radio Crimes) (Audio CD)
I first read a Charles Paris book thirty years ago, and looked forward to dramatisations in due course. Sadly, the first tries involved Francis Matthews, who didn't display the right degree of well-meaning untrustworthiness that Bill Nighy seems to find so effortless. Nighy is exactly right as Paris; even in this very edited form, you have no difficulty in guessing how he will fail next. If he promises not to drink, you know the next time you hear him he'll have a hangover; and when he promises his estranged wife that he won't touch a woman for a year in order to win her back, you know at once that he will fall short of his target by the best part of eleven months. But he is quite an endearing rogue, and it is entertaining to see how a complete amateur works his way into trying to solve a series of deaths connected with a television series that he is doing. The time slot allowed for this adaptation was a little meagre. The dramatisation keeps up a fairly breathless pace but you can't help thinking an extra five or ten minutes would have allowed more of the original book to come through, but an excellent effort nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bill Nighy's Charles Paris is a revelation., 12 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Charles Paris: A Series of Murders (Radio Crimes) (Audio CD)
I have not yet had the pleasure of reading the original books but I'm sure that on the basis of this adaptation it would be well worth me taking the effort to do so. Bill Nighy's acting in this audio CD is fantastic! I'm sure a good measure of this is due to the writing and production behind him. The word play & humour is perfect for me. I'm giving this 4 Stars but only on the basis that any subsequent additions to these audio CD's may be even better! I can't wait to hear more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charles Paris, A series of Murders: Simon Brett, BBC full cast dramatisation - A tale of character assassination..., 27 Jun. 2013
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charles Paris: A Series of Murders (Radio Crimes) (Audio CD)
This is the first of the Radio 4 dramatisations of the Charles Paris novels by Simon Brett, starring Bill Nighy as Paris.

Paris is a dipsomaniac actor, in and out of employment and with, um, fidelity issues that have made him a separated and lonely dipsomaniac actor, looking at middle age with a nervous eye.

Things seem to be going OK for Paris for a change - he has a substantial part in a new TV series, and it has the possibility of being a hit. And his wife is talking to him again. But just when things seem to be going right for him he starts tripping over dead bodies on set. With a resigned shrug he starts worrying away at the mystery whilst trying to make sure his private and professional life continue on their current calm waters.

This is primarily a comedy, with a mystery in the back ground. Front and centre is the wonderful character of Paris, brought to dissolute life by a suitably cynical and seedy sounding Bill Nighy. A man all too aware of his own faults, and there fore with a keen eye for the failings of others. He stumbles his way through the mystery (and stumbles over more bodies) with a series of amusing set pieces that had me grinning and laughing out loud for most of the adventure. The production is excellent, especially with its use of music. I will never listen to John Lee Hooker in the same way again...

It's a fun and entertaining adventure, running to just under an hour and not outstaying it's welcome. Bill Nighy's performance is charmingly magnetic and is a real delight to listen to. All in all 5 stars for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and clever. More cd releases please, 10 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charles Paris: A Series of Murders (Radio Crimes) (Audio CD)
This series is brilliant. The writing is witty, the performances excellent and the plots deliciously ludicrous. I really hope the rest of the BBC broadcasts will be released on CD as I missed them when they were on the radio. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dry Humour, 3 Dec. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charles Paris: A Series of Murders (Radio Crimes) (Audio CD)
A lovely combination of the dryly witty, and the wickedly devious, and a nice change from the Agathe Christie school of detective fiction! Likeable characters, all full of foibles, and a lot of fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An actor becomes an investigator....., 6 Aug. 2009
By 
mandynolan "mandynolan" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charles Paris: A Series of Murders (Radio Crimes) (Audio CD)
This is an excellent audio book. It has a lot of charm and the cast are excellent. Bill Nighy is particularly charming in the lead role.He plays an actor who stumbles onto a crime. He is a quite charmingly flawed character, a bit of a drinker, too popular with the ladies for his ex wifes liking!!!! I would recommend this as a good buy. It is only one cd in length, but I think quality counts over quantity. A well performed BBC dramatisation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect while walking the dog, 29 Dec. 2009
By 
N. Edwards "Eddie Benelly" (NC, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charles Paris: A Series of Murders (Radio Crimes) (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Simon Brett since I first listened to After Henry. The Charles Paris series is brilliant especially when Bill Nighy narrates. He manages to bring out the best in Mr Brett's writing. If you have not listened before you are in for a treat. More please Mr Brett and Mr Nighy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Charles Paris: A Series of Murders (Radio Crimes)
Charles Paris: A Series of Murders (Radio Crimes) by Simon Brett (Audio CD - 4 Jun. 2009)
£9.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews