Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars I love old British radio comedy and The Goon Show is ...
I love old British radio comedy and The Goon Show is one of my favorites. As a Yank, I don't get all the references, but I love the surreal quality of Spike's humor. You never know which way he's going to jump.
Published 3 months ago by Robert W. Henderson

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars my review
There is little in the World of today's comedy that can touch the humour and use of words as the Goon Show did. This latest collection of four shows adds to the collection already re-recorded and digitally enhanced. Hopefully within time every show will become available.
Published on 28 Sept. 2009 by M. J. Atkinson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars I love old British radio comedy and The Goon Show is ..., 23 Oct. 2014
By 
Robert W. Henderson (Nashua, NH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goon Show: Volume 26: Bank Statement No. 349 (Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
I love old British radio comedy and The Goon Show is one of my favorites. As a Yank, I don't get all the references, but I love the surreal quality of Spike's humor. You never know which way he's going to jump.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ye cannae gae wrang wi' Milligan BUUUUUT......, 10 Aug. 2009
By 
R. A. Caton "Arcaton" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goon Show: Volume 26: Bank Statement No. 349 (Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
My advice to anyone offered a BBC CD Goon Show release has got to be BUY BUY BUY BUY BUY. As the years go by the better known shows have been released already so some of the lesser vehicles are trundled out. All have had the miracle treatment whereby bits excised for Transcription Service issue and later rebroadcast have been painstakingly replaced using cardboard string and glue to give us the glorious whole. The shows here are oddities (Hence the date of "Siege of Fort Night" being 1986). There are "Vintage Goons" here. These were old scripts re-recorded in 1958 for the Transcription Service to issue ABROAD. "Fort Night" never reached the UK until '86, hence the date. Some of these shows sound s bit odd as the characters had developed between the original scripts ('53 - '54?) and 1958. Moriarty in particular had degenerated from a criminal mastermind to a mere frog eating lackey to Grytpipe-Thynne....
But we have here a worthwhile purchase for the student of insanity. While you are at it buy the Goon Show Compendiums too. Buy the previous 25 double CD issues.
I reckon (just a guess) the the BBC has issued more Goon Shows on CD than any other show from the archives. They are all well worth the money. You can't take it with you folks but you can have the show played at the crem and give your mourners a good laugh. YOU SEE! I TOLD YOU I WAS ILL!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars goon show v 26, 30 Aug. 2009
This review is from: The Goon Show: Volume 26: Bank Statement No. 349 (Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
As a `collector` of goon shows since the 1960`s , on L.P. ,tape and c.d.- I found these 4 episodes 4 of the best, but then I do have a bias ,as I have always enjoyed the goons even when some situations and `gags` repeat themselves on various episodes!If you like the humour of Milligan,Sellers,Secombe, then you will enjoy this c.d., and, if you are new to the insane/sanity of the Goons then buy anyway ,and enjoy Humour with a capital `H,` humour that lived before P.C. was even thought of ,and making fun of those in power was always `open season`. G.S.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars my review, 28 Sept. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goon Show: Volume 26: Bank Statement No. 349 (Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
There is little in the World of today's comedy that can touch the humour and use of words as the Goon Show did. This latest collection of four shows adds to the collection already re-recorded and digitally enhanced. Hopefully within time every show will become available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can't get enough ..., 31 Aug. 2009
This review is from: The Goon Show: Volume 26: Bank Statement No. 349 (Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
Another great set of stories from The Goons. Whether you are a Goon-a-phile, like me, or a newbie to the Goon scene, this volume will give you great pleasure and many laughs. Buy it. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goon Show V.26, 28 Oct. 2009
By 
M. J. Hunter - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goon Show: Volume 26: Bank Statement No. 349 (Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
I've been collecting Goon Shows since the 1960's. It's nice to have them on CD and of course, only the BBC has access to the vast majority of the back catalogue. Always a good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep them coming Please!, 18 July 2010
This review is from: The Goon Show: Volume 26: Bank Statement No. 349 (Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
Having been too young to listen to the shows first time round, I am an avid collecter of all things goony. I just hope I can live long enough to hear all the shows
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Goon Show Volume 26, 8 Oct. 2010
This review is from: The Goon Show: Volume 26: Bank Statement No. 349 (Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
I have aproblem with this C D. It sticks on CD2 -the blast episode The Chinese Legs - so I need a replacement. How do I go about getting a replacement?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Goon Show: Volume 26: Bank Statement No. 349 (Radio Collection)
The Goon Show: Volume 26: Bank Statement No. 349 (Radio Collection) by Spike MilliganLarry Stephens (Audio CD - 6 Aug. 2009)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews