Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant comedy, 9 Oct 2010
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Old Harry's Game: The Complete Series 1-7 Boxset (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
I have been a huge fan of Old Harry's Game since it began over fifteen years ago. It is written by and stars Andy Hamilton, whose work includes Drop The Dead Donkey and Outnumbered. Old Harry's Game is just as good as those wonderful, award-winning TV series. The dialogue is brilliant and somehow believable even though it takes place in such a bizarre setting, and the characters are great creations and very well performed: cynical, world-weary Satan, fawning Scumspawn and the vile Thomas, with the Professor and later Edith providing the moral grit in the Satanic oyster. They work very well together, and Hamilton also enjoys himself subverting our image of historical characters - the thuggish, vicious, foul-mouthed Jane Austen being one of my favourites. Plus, of course, a sprinkling of topical satire - like Satan explaining to a group of new arrivals in 2009 that they are in Hell because if they have done something dreadful and wrong then they must pay for it, and one responding, "Ah - well, no. You see, we're bankers."

Every programme contains real belly-laughs, but there is also a real intellectual and philosophical framework which makes this far more than just a good but forgettable comedy. After half an hour of laughing out loud I always realise that there has been some very thoughtful stuff in there which means that these programmes repay repeated listening, and there are also a few genuinely touching moments among the comedy.

I think that Old Harry's Game is among Andy Hamilton's very best work, which is really saying something. It has given me immense pleasure for a long time and continues to do so, and this box of all seven series so far is an absolute gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoying "Old Harry's Game", 28 Dec 2010
This review is from: Old Harry's Game: The Complete Series 1-7 Boxset (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
An excellant comical radio series written by a very talented humourous author and performed superb actors. The script is hilarious, but is immeasurably improved by the timing and delivery of the cast. I listen to it again and again and each time I laugh out loud again and again. I am a professional driver and mostly I listen while I am driving; however, there are times when I consider that I must "pull over" because I am laughing so much. Religious zealots and puritans may be offended, but if you are a believer (in any religion) you devotion will be improved if you listen in an unbiased manner. Unfortunately, zealots can rarely accept anything unbiased, or fair. They miss so much in life. I love this Series and I would recommend it to everyone. It is a shame that the people who would most benefit from understanding "Old Harry's Game" will never listen to it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old Harry's Game, The complete Series 1 to 7. As funny as, well... Hell!,, 13 Oct 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Old Harry's Game: The Complete Series 1-7 Boxset (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
If you're reading this you probably don't need any introduction to Old Harry's Game. You know all about Andy Hamilton's excellent portrayal of the Devil, cynical and twisted with a voice like Anthony Newly. You know about Scumspawn, his most revolting and fawning demon, played by Robert Duncan. You're familiar with the most damned of damned souls, Thomas Crimp, and the Professor, who would be in heaven if only he believed in him with a capital H. You know this is a wickedly funny comedy, which follows Satan as he tries to win philosophical arguments with the Prof, whilst inventing cruel and unusual torments for those unlucky enough to find themselves in his realm. You probably, by now, know all about Edith; the historian Satan has hired to write his authorised biography and who has a distaste for semi colons.

The tone is cynical and sarcastic, with an undercurrent of silliness, and is a perfect comedy blend. Satan and his merry gang of fiends are one of the funniest things around at the moment, and I defy anyone with a sense of humour not to laugh at this!

This mammoth 21 disc release simply repackages the previous releases of series 1 to 7, and contains all the episodes including the Christmas specials between series 4 and 5. At the time of writing it is already out of date as it does not contain the Christmas specials following series 7, broadcast in 2010. For the dedicated fan who already has the original releases there is nothing here to warrant updating to this collection. To the new fan this is an excellent and convenient way of getting a surfeit of Devilish goings on in one go.

Highly recommended to all fans of 'Drop the dead donkey' or 'Chelmsford 123'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars satanic laughs, 2 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Harry's Game: The Complete Series 1-7 Boxset (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
I missed this series first time round but have heard some episodes on late night radio 7 so I was delighted to see the boxed set available. It is still great fun and I have been enjoying listening to it in the daytime! I can still remember all the 'topical 'references and I suppose I am also cynical by nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series, 4 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Harry's Game: The Complete Series 1-7 Boxset (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
This is one of the best written, and at times thought provoking, radio series ever broadcast. Not many things are off limits and the script is all the better for it.

Buy this and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very, very funny, easily among the BBC's best productions, 22 Sep 2012
By 
Lark (North Coast of Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Harry's Game: The Complete Series 1-7 Boxset (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
This is easily amongst the best of the BBC's audio productions, while it is a very funny production and most of the episodes could be listened to as single productions, each having plenty of stand alone gags, there is also character development and more long running plots or themes.

Each episode features the devil, "old harry" of the title, as he goes about working mischief in the world of man, making his frequent visits to earth, torturing the souls of the damned and confronting, well, what would appear to be existential angst, boredom and burnout for all eternity. I think this is very clever and reflects a bit of real thinking about what would be the consequences of living forever, having virtually unlimited power etc. A lot of the gags revolve around these themes, also some obscure and well researched material from the world religions, myth, legend and such also furnishes good material too.

It would appear that virtually everyone is in hell, that is besides God, Jesus and the arch-angels such as Graham, mistakenly recorded as Gabriel in the bible, it certainly is were everything is going on and often the fates devised as eternal torment are ingenuious or ironic. A great many of those who find themselves in hell dont believe it or are slow to come around to the idea believing that it is absurd, this is part of the charm for the entire production for me, that it portrays a world in which all the wonder, horror and awesome nature of myth, legend and religion, as incredible as it all may seem, is absolutely true, and there is everyones downfall for the most part.

Thematically the devil, his no.2 side kick, the most reprehensible and most virtuous, or otherwise interesting, members of the damned investigate facets of life, death, meaning, redemption, fate and morality which is at once hilarious and thought provoking. Most of it is done with cynicism and irony but there's optimism in play too and just desserts. Very, very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just one disappointment, 10 Mar 2013
By 
Colin White "Doc" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Harry's Game: The Complete Series 1-7 Boxset (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
The story lines are brilliant, the humour is top notch and the contemporary references to events and people should not be too obscure for many Brits. I am very happy with this purchase as I no longer have to wait for the replays on Radio 4 Extra.

Delivery was through Parcel Force, no complaint there.

The disappointment? Somewhere along the production line somebody thought it would be a "good idea" to break up what is a 30 minute radio program into up to 10 tracks. I cannot see any need for this and it makes ripping a pain.

This may not be an issue for anyone else and to be honest it did not spoil my enjoyment of the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andy Hamilton, Devil & comedy god., 7 Jan 2012
By 
Kev W (Portsmouth UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Old Harry's Game: The Complete Series 1-7 Boxset (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Old Harry's Game is the tale of Satan & his minions and the problems involved in running a large corporation (Hell). As if keeping all of the popes permanently pregnant, trying to stop Edith Piaf singing & working out what to do with a foul mouthed Jane Austin wasn't enough, He now has a non-believing professor to convince.

This is with out a doubt the best contemporary radio comedy, clever writing, social comment & lots of laughs. If you don't like this then you haven't got a soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old Harry, 27 April 2014
By 
R. Girdwood "castorsprite" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Harry's Game: The Complete Series 1-7 Boxset (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Gut wrenchingly funny, I love Scumspawn. The humour is just so off the wall that most people would love this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old Harry's Game Boxset, 20 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. DJR. "DJR." (Greater Manchester U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Harry's Game: The Complete Series 1-7 Boxset (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
I loved listening to the series on the radio and must be near to hearing all of them for the third time on the radio now so I thought I would buy the box set as I would like to listen to it again at my leisure.
In the box set you get all seven series and the first cd of the Christmas specials (so do not order them as Amazon suggests)but do if you feel like order the 2010 Christmas specials as its the only thing missing from the set(so far).
Hopefully Andy Hamilton will write some more series about Satan and co's adventures in hell,
be careful though it looks like the box sets are getting harder to get hold of and can vary in price for a new one from fifty pounds to over a hundred & I believe seventy five pounds from the BBC (when they are available).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Old Harry's Game: The Complete Series 1-7 Boxset (BBC Audio)
Old Harry's Game: The Complete Series 1-7 Boxset (BBC Audio) by Andy Hamilton (Audio CD - 14 Oct 2010)
100.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews