Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One hour and fifteen minutes of P+Q from the back seats
Most little boys and plenty of small girls go through a Thomas The Tank Engine stage. Their parents and grandparents remember with fondness the small but perfectly formed oblong card backed books with the jolly-faced engines beaming out.

The Rev. Wibert Vere Awdry knew what he was about. Little life lessons pertaining to good and bad behaviour, not getting...
Published on 7 July 2011 by Katharine Kirby

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Car journey- Where's Thomas
Where's Thomas was the constant cry along the motorway. I tried to entertain my 3 year old and 18 month on a long motorway journey using this with very limited success. ALthough they listened for the first few mintues they quickly lost interest. The story line opf the cd is as good as the episodes however I think they would have preffered a cd full of nurseery rhymes...
Published on 16 Sept. 2011 by piccolo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars one for bed time again!, 24 Jun. 2011
By 
This review is from: Thomas and Friends: The Railway Stories, Branch Line Engines and Other Stories (Thomas & Friends) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
my little girl is 2 months shy of being 3 years old. As such she has decided that CD's are boring - no pictures. However knowing Thomas the Tank Engine she did react to a few places on this when I played it to her 'oh no' 'problem' came up a few times & some looking on the laptop & TV 'where's Thomas?'.

She did tire of it - but when transferred to MP3 for bed time it was much more popular.

Excellent sound quality, some nice touches with a couple of unlisted songs as well as the stories. Unlike other TV 'ports' it didn't suffer from the feeling that you were missing something or supposed to be looking at something. Very nicely read with good sound effects.

It's wont be a classic for the car, but will be used most nights mixed in with other tunes & stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for keeping little ones occupied in the car, 9 July 2011
This review is from: Thomas and Friends: The Railway Stories, Branch Line Engines and Other Stories (Thomas & Friends) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This CD contains three stories from the "Railway Series": Branch Line Engines; Gallant Old Engine; and Stepney the Bluebell Engine. Each of the stories have a suitable moral and there are also three songs interspersed throughout the CD.
There are several different characters, which keeps the children (and adults) interested, and Michael Angelis, who narrates, has a soft calming voice and makes a good effort at the different accents for the trains.
The children have adored this CD since we received it a couple of weeks ago, and it is on repeat in the car at the moment. The songs have also been a big hit, and the children have just about learnt the words to be able to sing along now.
All in all a good CD, especially for the younger Thomas fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic for keeping the little one quiet...if only for an hour, 22 Jun. 2011
By 
A R Hartley "Monkey" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Thomas and Friends: The Railway Stories, Branch Line Engines and Other Stories (Thomas & Friends) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Well im lucky enough to have a nephew who is absolutely mental about Thomas the tank Engine (even though he doesnt realise that its nowhere near as good as it was back in the day!). Its probably the only thing that will keep him completely quiet, so the option to pop this in the cd player once hes worn out the DVD of Thomas the Tank engine, is great!

Its a short collection of 3 stories i think it was, read by the guy who currently narrates the TV show. Would have been great if Ringo had returned to do this but his classic days have past.

Its only about an hour long and its at a decent enough price, could be cheaper i suppose but Thomas stuff is always expensive. Still its great quality as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable CD for the kids, 19 July 2011
By 
Amazon Customer "MjD" (Edinburgh, Scotland. { Kobe, Japan. Saipan. Alabama.}) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Thomas and Friends: The Railway Stories, Branch Line Engines and Other Stories (Thomas & Friends) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My children have been enjoying listening to the CD of Thomas and Friends: The Railway Stories, Branch Line Engines and Other Stories for a few weeks now. We often play them this as they drift off to sleep after reading time. This collection of Thomas stories is engaging and relaxing for the children to listen to. They know the books well, but this is the first time they've listened to the stories on CD and they have really taken to it. My daughter's only complaint was that she didn't think there was enough songs included.
I would recommend this CD for any parents of young children, put it on at bedtime & let them drift off to these tales - stress free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for the road, 19 April 2012
By 
Jimbo "Jimbo L" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Thomas and Friends: The Railway Stories, Branch Line Engines and Other Stories (Thomas & Friends) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My little boy is 3 and a half and is a big fan of Thomas (apart from Day Of The Diesels - he is terrified of this for some reason) so this is great for car journeys where he can listen to the theme, listen to the chap who sounds like Ringo but isn't and generally become immersed in the land of Sodor.

There are three stories, each about 25 minutes long and my little boy now requests his favourite story - Gallant Old Engine wherever we go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thomas and Friends, 16 July 2011
By 
Romreader "pawsperson" (Gosport, Hants, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Thomas and Friends: The Railway Stories, Branch Line Engines and Other Stories (Thomas & Friends) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Another classic book of Thomas stories by Reverened W Awdry, Thomas gets himself into trouble yet again with the usual crowd there to help incuding the Fat Controller, Percy and a naughty Diesel engine.
Suitable for any young child these wonderful stories are great to read at bed time and as your child gets old enough great for them to practice reading back to you.I dont only recommend this book but the whole series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a delight, 20 July 2011
By 
Victor Preston "gvb" (birmingham, west mids United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thomas and Friends: The Railway Stories, Branch Line Engines and Other Stories (Thomas & Friends) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
it will be a delight for many young children to hear these Thomas stories at bedtime.
there are many more available to buy in the cd audio book format.
it is a shame that Ringo could not do the narration.
although Michael Angelis is very good.
there are some errors but i don't think they will notice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great for short journeys!, 26 Sept. 2011
By 
K. D. Squire (Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thomas and Friends: The Railway Stories, Branch Line Engines and Other Stories (Thomas & Friends) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is great for thoise short journeys to the shop with small kids in the car, they are short fun imaginative stories that blend the classic thomas stories with the new characters! Ideal if you need to calm a stressful car run with the little ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless tales of everyone's favourite blue engine, 18 Jun. 2011
By 
Alex A.C.M (Chelmsford, Essex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Thomas and Friends: The Railway Stories, Branch Line Engines and Other Stories (Thomas & Friends) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When you consider the uber CGI-ed, uber politically corrected joke that HIT Entertainment have turned the legacy of the books and the show into that, upon what would have been the Reverend Wilbert Awdry's 100th birthday this year, would have displeased him strongly, there is at least a saving grace in that the memory of his original (and the best) stories of Thomas the Tank Engine and his friends from The Railway Series still lives on in these fantastic audiobooks of the affectionately dubbed 'little books of trains'.

Here, tales from three more volumes of the series - 'Branch Line Engines', 'Gallant Old Engine' and 'Stepney The Bluebell Engine' - are narrated by the show's principal UK narrator Michael Angelis, and all are a delight to listen to, for young and old alike, which is what Awdry's stories got the balance of so perfectly.

Young children can enjoy the gentle adventures of Thomas, Percy, Toby, Peter Sam and Skarloey (as well as, no doubt, mimicing the various whistles and toots of the trains), yet they are never patronized or mollycoddled as the current TV series now does, largely because of the almost Aesop-esque qualities to the original tales that will keep parents satisfied as well, which end on a central moral idea e.g. not getting too big for one's boots, as Thomas learns after he crashes into the stationmaster's house at breakfast time. The audiobook is a fantastic purchase therefore, guaranteed to entertain Thomas fans for many years to come. All aboard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice for the car but beware if using it at bedtime, 5 July 2011
By 
n7misc (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Thomas and Friends: The Railway Stories, Branch Line Engines and Other Stories (Thomas & Friends) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
So - Angelis is great imho, he has a really calming voice that kept my little nieces (2,4 and 7 - the eldest was multitasking with her DSi) entranced in the car. The stories are bearable for me as an adult - although I continue to be surprised that the kids like Thomas stories - they're so moralistic! I guess it appeals to their need for clear cut right and wrong... Anyway, this cd covers stories about several engines, so we're not just limited to Thomas himself - which is great because his is not the best accent for adult giggles (is that wrong of me?!). The girls love this cd in the car and it does what I want it to do - which is prevent arguments.

Just a note on bedtime listening. The CD has songs - 3 - and they wake one of my nieces, but not the other, so it depends I guess on whether your kid is a light sleeper or not. You've been warned though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews