Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nogthing better.
Such a refreshing time spent listening to this unique performer. No-one since has his flair or wit. Such infectious humour - a tonic if you are feeling a bit down. Anyone for chocolate cake?
Published on 16 Feb. 2010 by Mrs. J. M. Cheney

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really a humour CD.
I bought this CD expecting it to be more humour side of comedy commentary. Whilst I was pleasantly surprised by what I got, namely an informal history of Test Match Special and the relaxing, convivial atmosphere which it invokes, there are very few gaffes or giggles (most of which are in the introduction to this CD.), and a lot more about cake instead. Therefore, I'm very...
Published on 27 Nov. 2011 by AquaViola

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nogthing better., 16 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Johnners' Cricketing Gaffes, Giggles and Cakes (Audio CD)
Such a refreshing time spent listening to this unique performer. No-one since has his flair or wit. Such infectious humour - a tonic if you are feeling a bit down. Anyone for chocolate cake?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good laugh, 11 April 2010
By 
Amazon Customer "pas" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Johnners' Cricketing Gaffes, Giggles and Cakes (Audio CD)
This was bought with the John Arlott disc and the reason was an entertainment for wet days indoors,they make me laugh no matter how many times they are played and have years of amusement left to spare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really a humour CD., 27 Nov. 2011
By 
This review is from: Johnners' Cricketing Gaffes, Giggles and Cakes (Audio CD)
I bought this CD expecting it to be more humour side of comedy commentary. Whilst I was pleasantly surprised by what I got, namely an informal history of Test Match Special and the relaxing, convivial atmosphere which it invokes, there are very few gaffes or giggles (most of which are in the introduction to this CD.), and a lot more about cake instead. Therefore, I'm very surprised by the other reviews had been given - are they for the right CD?

If you're looking for this lighter side, I would recommend An Evening with Johnners instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jonners - who else!, 20 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnners' Cricketing Gaffes, Giggles and Cakes (Audio CD)
What can you say? What happens doesn't always seem immediately funny to the listener, particularly if you do not know the nth degree detail of cricket, but what so clearly comes through is that it is funny. And that the brodcasters, not least of all Jonners, cannot stop themselves and therefore nor can you. You just get carried along on a wave of uninhibited almost boy-ish enthusiasm and love for their sport. Things which to a non-English person may well seem at least utterly peculiar if not downright bizarre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brings back memories of hot summer days., 23 Sept. 2010
By 
Mr. Paul James (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnners' Cricketing Gaffes, Giggles and Cakes (Audio CD)
Johnners was not just a commentator but a summer institution with his wit and humour not to mention his off the cuff remarks and funny mishaps.
This audio book is not long (70 Min's)but it brings you the best of Brian Johnston and you get a great incite to the man who we all miss when it comes to a test match.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good giggle, 10 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnners' Cricketing Gaffes, Giggles and Cakes (Audio CD)
If you were a fan of Johnners on the radio, when you read this book you can hear him speaking to you. He comes over exactly the same. Couldn't stop laughing. Have also bought his audio tapes to listen to in the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Johnners, 14 April 2011
By 
T. Sadler (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnners' Cricketing Gaffes, Giggles and Cakes (Audio CD)
A very funny cd about a great man who was loved by all cricketing followers. A great cricket man and I can't believe he died in 1994. When I heard the cd it felt like yesterday. A legend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Johnners gaffs, 2 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnners' Cricketing Gaffes, Giggles and Cakes (Audio CD)
Brilliantly giggly CD I ordered this for my husband and his mates have all listened to it.
Brian's laugh is infectious. Well worth the cost (and I got it delivered free)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Botham's 'leg over' revisited, 5 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnners' Cricketing Gaffes, Giggles and Cakes (Audio CD)
A gem of a collection from probably the funniest man to commentate on cricket. Effortless and charming listening, Brian always conveys the impression he is talking to YOU and you alone - a tremendous gift. Add to that his wonderful natural humour,and the end result is just outstanding. Of course, the Botham 'leg-over' scorecard reading is included - never fails to reduce me to helpless laughter - probably the finest example of endearing broadcasting I can remember. He and Aggers could be sitting alongside any of us listeners in fits of giggles like naughty schoolboys. Priceless - simply priceless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cricketers giggles, 20 May 2011
By 
P. J. Alden-smith "Old Hurst Oldie" (Cambridgeshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Johnners' Cricketing Gaffes, Giggles and Cakes (Audio CD)
I bought this as an easter gift for a friend in hospital. This was just the right medicine as my friend was soon back home. A good giggle as the title suggests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Johnners' Cricketing Gaffes, Giggles and Cakes
Johnners' Cricketing Gaffes, Giggles and Cakes by Brian Johnston (Audio CD - 29 Sept. 2008)
£7.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Wit of Cricket
The Wit of Cricket by Brian Johnston (Audio CD - 10 May 2004)
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (30)   
Buy new£14.99
In stock

Cricketing Tales From The Dressing Room (BBC Audio)
Cricketing Tales From The Dressing Room (BBC Audio) by Whistledown Productions Ltd (Audio CD - 2 July 2009)
4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8)   
Buy new£13.25
In stock

An Evening With Blowers [DVD]
An Evening With Blowers [DVD] by Henry Blofeld (DVD - 2008)
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8)   
Buy new£16.97
In stock