Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Voyage to remember!
Having listened to a number of Dr Who audio stories now, (admittedly only those read by David Tennant) I have enjoyed this the best. The author, Dan Abnett, has created the classic adventure set in earth's future which is perfect for the Doctor. As usual, the Doctor's curiousity gets him into another action packed adventure, and the story keeps moving at a rapid pace. I...
Published on 24 Jan 2010 by Sharon Thorne

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Last Tenth doctor audio...or is it?
I have to admit that I didn't love this. Dan Abnett has a great pedigree, and has done his best to create an atmospheric and haunting story. Unfortunately it just feels very pedestrian, despite Tennant's enthusiastic reading and variety of accents - it has to be said though that his nasal transatlantic whine for the cabin stewardess does begin to grate after a short...
Published on 14 May 2010 by Captain Pugwash


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fitting Finale, 1 Mar 2010
By 
D. Elliott (Ulverston, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Last Voyage (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Apart from introductory and finishing sequences with Dr. Who theme music, plus expected resonance of the tardis, there are very few sound effects. Even so there are suggestions of a spectral nature as background to David Tennant's voice which makes up the entire double CD. He is immediately recognisable and his diction is excellent for both his third party narration and his playing the parts of various characters which are skilfully interwoven into the gripping story of `The Last Voyage'. Author Dan Abnett has written wonderfully descriptive dialogue that brings persona to life and details vividly their surroundings. Amongst all the techno-speak he introduces much humour when relying on Dr. Who vocalisation and utterances together with voices of others. As anticipated with Dr. Who the future of the universe is threatened and he saves us all, so it is sufficient to confirm these CDs will appeal to all Dr. Who fans and I need not repeat outlines of the plot as presented with Amazon product description and earlier reviews. However I think `The Last Voyage' is overly long and I would have preferred 2 stories. It becomes somewhat drawn out with the first CD at 68 minutes and the second at 66. These are sub-divided into 26 and 23 `tracks' respectively and not always is there a smooth transfer from one track to the next. Nevertheless with a new Dr. Who replacing David Tennant on our TV screens, and no doubt `The Last Voyage' being David Tennant's last audio contribution, this double album is a fitting finale to his reign - endorsed by his closing musing of how it is of little matter whatever the future holds so long as fun, adventure and learning are involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good story well read, 26 Feb 2010
By 
Tony Jones "Tony" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Last Voyage (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I generally don't like audiobooks, much preferring audio drama, which in the case of Dr. Who tends to mean Big Finish; however on given this a listen I found myself impressed.

For me the key as to why this works is that Tennant already puts on an accent to play the Doctor, so we have his real accent for the reading and the voice of the tenth Doctor when needed (though a few times the accent does drift). Other characters are less well realised, and the one-story sidekick (Sugar) has a really whiney accent that I did find grating, however get the sense from the reading that she is very real inside Mr Tennant's head. As a note, I realised near the end that Sugar is all but a clone of Astrid as played by Kylie Minogue in the Christmas special; this is however not a particularly bad thing.

As to the story, the Doctor appears on a space ship (Interstitial Travel Vehicle) in which all but a few of the crew and passengers have vanished. The Doctor has to get the ship (Interstitial Travel Vehicle) to land at Eternity and figure out how the drive got invented at a point in history when it shouldn't have been. The plot moves along well though seems to reach a resolution early, seems to get sidetracked by a new mystery (strange creatures slowly appearing and cusing more disappearances) and then a final mystery though just as you think the plot has become unravelled it all gets pulled together into one coherent piece.

Overall then I am pleased to have listened to this, though whether or not I would buy any more I am not sure - as I said I prefer audio dramas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping story featuring David Tennant's engaging voice speaking such wonderful dialogue, 23 Feb 2010
By 
Paolo Sammut - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Last Voyage (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Doctor Who: The Last Voyage
By: Dan Abnett

A gripping story featuring David Tennant's engaging voice speaking such wonderful dialogue

I really enjoyed this story. The 10th Doctor Lands on a new "state of the art" luxury cruiser and of course with his usual excellent timing things quckly go from bad to worse with everyone disappearing (except the pretty young flight hostess of course).

I really do not want to say any more as this will spoil the plot for everyone. However there are some wonderful "Doctorish" moments here which, although little points in themselves really make this production so good. For example snippets where the Doctor is wittering on about how much he likes the hats!. Simply fantastic and very in character showing that Dan Abnett really understands the sheer mad ecentricity which the Doctor presents. As a geeky Doctor Who fan, I think that this writing is brilliant and would love to see him write for the television series as well.

There are two CD's on this set with David Tennant basically reading the story. Together this makes something like 240 minutes of story (not 2X30 as one reviewer suggested) and I have found this to be delightful every step of the way.

I feel that whether you are a Doctor who fan or simply somebody wanting to hear a good story you will enjoy this engaging thriller set in Deep Space. It is one to play and then repeat even when the story becomes known, simply to enjoy Tennants voice speak the wonderful dialogue in this story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, in 2 handy CDs. 2.5hrs long=real value for your money, 20 Feb 2010
By 
ROROBLU'S MUM "ROROBLU'S MUM" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Last Voyage (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The blurb says it all about the story, which was really good, and the tale itself was narrated by IMHO the best Doctor, David Tennant - the 'new' Dr Who series (i.e. not the one from my childhood, 35 years ago) will always be associated with him, for me.

I liked the fact that you get value for money, as the tale is about 2.5hrs long (on 2CDs), making it something that not only a teenager could pop on over a few nites for a bit of bedtime story-telling, but also something that an adult Dr Who fan, like my hubby, could easily listen to on car journeys.

Get it, you will not be disappointed, and it could keep the kids (and the hubby!) out of your hair for a while!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great adventure, 16 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Last Voyage (Audio CD)
This is a truly awesome adventure for the doctor, and also for the listener. the story itself is brilliant and having it read by the doctor himself makes it a definate treasure! this has to be the perfect gift for any who fan and i cant wait to find out what the 11th doctors audio adventures are like!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who on CD, 26 Feb 2013
By 
Dr. J. S. Bray (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Last Voyage (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a Doctor who story that is not available on and so broadens the story base for fans. It is told by David Tennant, who jumps back and forth between his normal accent and his Doctor Who voice and who also manages to capture the other characters as well, and is, as usual, excellent.

It's a good story that takes repeated listening, and for those, like my son, who are big Doctor Who fans, it is a way of helping them imagine what is happening rather than it imagined for them through television.

It's one of the favourite bedtime CDs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting listening - helped by David Tennant's distinctive voices, 15 April 2011
By 
S. Diment "sue_diment" (Wolverhampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Last Voyage (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This was my first experience of a BBC audio version of Doctor Who, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The story starts off as vaguely reminiscent of one of the TV dramatised Doctor Who Stories (the Christmas Special episode with Kylie Minogue springs to mind in particular), but soon evolves into an original tale.

Tennant narrates the story in his Scottish accent, and does the voice of the doctor as he would on TV. He also gives the other characters distinctive voices, to help distinguish who is speaking. Some actors have voices that demand your attention, and as Tennant is one of those, from the start it is easy to follow the story. There are a few sound effects on the CD, which add to the atmostphere, and give a sense of the ship (or should that be Interstitial Transposition Vehicle!) that they are on, and add some additional tension to the dramatic moments - and there are no shortage of those.

The story is a very good one, with lots of tension, and lots of dramatic moments. There is some humour (the flight attendants' uniforms, the aptly named "follow-me" robot, which serves no function whatsoever other than as light relief). It had the feel of a story from the Tenth Doctor TV series, including some of the Doctor's favourite catchphrases and habits, which combined with David Tennant actually reading it, lifted it well above an average audio book. The scary moments were described in detail, making the scene easy to visualize. There was just enough fictionalised science, but not too much, and the level of description of the ship and it's passengers and crew was also about right. There were a couple of minor plot flaws for me (I won't go into detail as it would spoil the story if you haven't heard it), in one area I was expecting a big dramatic moment that didn't happen (not that there were any shortage of those elsewhere!) and I felt the resolution was neat, but that there were a few loose ends I would have liked tied up - or perhaps a sequel that revealed more than we learned in this episode (which as this is the last David Tennant audio book, seems unlikely to happen). But what the story lost from these minor points was more than made up for by the quality of the narration and the edge of the seat tension the story generated, so I couldn't bring myself to reduce the review to four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good story well read, 24 Sep 2010
By 
Paul Lessingham - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Last Voyage (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
At the beginning of this story, it looked as if it might turn out to be a fairly predictable reworking of the "Titanic" Christmas special (you know - the one with Kylie Minogue) Parts of the setup are the same - the action takes place on a long-distance space cruise ship and features one of the ship's hostesses as a major character. I'm pleased to say that it soon moves into more original territory anmd becomes a strong and satisfying story.

David Tennant's reading is excellent. He narrates in his native Scottish accent and performs the Doctor's lines in character, so there's a clear distinction between narrator and character. He also comes up with a good range of distinctive voices for the minor characters. The reading is nicely paced and dramatic. If Tennant ever gets fed up with treading the boards for the RSC, there could be a career waiting for him on Book at Bedtime :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Alones-y, 21 April 2010
By 
Stuart Burns (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Last Voyage (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It's odd to credit that it's been a slender three months since David Tennant left his role of a lifetime and pleasant that BBC Audiobooks decided to give him an extra special send off with a couple of audio books. The title is a bit of a misnoma -- this isn't the Tenth Doctor's last voyage but that of an experimental space cruise liner which is hit by the usual business unknown. It's a fairly typical base under siege adventure, somewhat influenced by Voyage of the Damned, but with some excellent twists along the way. If I have any criticisms, it's that there isn't quite enough story to sustain the two discs, but that's minor in comparison to Tennant's reading which is as close to a Big Finish audio as we're likely to get for a while; when he says "I'm the Doctor" for what sounds like the final time, I got chills, and may have gasped back a tear. I'm such a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Unspectacular, but decent for long commutes, 15 April 2010
By 
John Clayton III (Greystoke) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Last Voyage (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Have to say this is my first time really taking in one of these Doctor Who audio books as I'm usually much more a fan of the superb Doctor Who audio dramas(In particular the Paul McGann starring ones, which I recommend to any Who fan highly), so this was a far more dry and bare bones experience for me personally.

The story itself is enjoyable enough and Tennant proves a good narrator/performer in reading it to the listener and I could see any Doctor Who fan getting a lot out of it, but for me, this is perhaps not quite what I'd be looking for in a Doctor Who audio adventure when there's better on offer in the audio dramas.

Worth it at the price for fans for sure though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Last Voyage
Doctor Who: The Last Voyage by Dan Abnett (Audio CD - 7 Jan 2010)
Used & New from: 10.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews