Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Voyage to remember!
Having listened to a number of Dr Who audio stories now, (admittedly only those read by David Tennant) I have enjoyed this the best. The author, Dan Abnett, has created the classic adventure set in earth's future which is perfect for the Doctor. As usual, the Doctor's curiousity gets him into another action packed adventure, and the story keeps moving at a rapid pace. I...
Published on 24 Jan 2010 by Sharon Thorne

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Last Tenth doctor audio...or is it?
I have to admit that I didn't love this. Dan Abnett has a great pedigree, and has done his best to create an atmospheric and haunting story. Unfortunately it just feels very pedestrian, despite Tennant's enthusiastic reading and variety of accents - it has to be said though that his nasal transatlantic whine for the cabin stewardess does begin to grate after a short...
Published on 14 May 2010 by Captain Pugwash


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Voyage to remember!, 24 Jan 2010
By 
Sharon Thorne (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Last Voyage (Audio CD)
Having listened to a number of Dr Who audio stories now, (admittedly only those read by David Tennant) I have enjoyed this the best. The author, Dan Abnett, has created the classic adventure set in earth's future which is perfect for the Doctor. As usual, the Doctor's curiousity gets him into another action packed adventure, and the story keeps moving at a rapid pace. I really liked the idea of the futuristic concept of travel, and the perils that come with travelling on its maiden voyage! The descriptive content allows you to enter this world with ease and leaves you in no doubt as to the horror of the enemy that the Doctor, and his newly acquired human companion, are faced with. I was particularly amused with the literally named 'follow me' that never fails to meet it requirements, despite the chaos that ensues. David Tennant has a real gift in narrating these audio books with a believable voice for each character, and of course when the Doctor is speaking , then really, no one else will do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Last Tenth doctor audio...or is it?, 14 May 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Last Voyage (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have to admit that I didn't love this. Dan Abnett has a great pedigree, and has done his best to create an atmospheric and haunting story. Unfortunately it just feels very pedestrian, despite Tennant's enthusiastic reading and variety of accents - it has to be said though that his nasal transatlantic whine for the cabin stewardess does begin to grate after a short while. Not awful, but not the best in the series by quite some way. If you are new to the range I suggest "Doctor Who": The Forever Trap: No. 2 (Dr Who Audio Original 2) or "Doctor Who": The Day of the Troll: (Original Audio) (BBC Audio) as good starting points instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the last voyage of the tenth doctor, 31 Jan 2010
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Last Voyage (Audio CD)
Latest Doctor who talking book from the bbc. This follows the usual format of this range in having two cds and two long episodes, roughly an hour and five minutes each in duration, with an episode to each disc. And a narrator who does all the narration themselves and comes up with different voices for each of the characters.

This one is read by david tennant and it's seemingly the last he'll be doing so it's your last chance to hear him in the role.

The story involves the doctor arriving on a spaceship that is using a new kind of engine which will allow it to get from earth to the farthest flung planet of the human empire in very quick time. But when the engines are activated nearly all the people onboard vanish. The doctor and flight attendant sugar MacAuley have to work together to solve the mystery.

And they don't know what's waiting for them when they reach their destination...

The pleasure of these is in the detail and there's a lot of good stuff here. The whole future history and world in which the story is set is impressively described and put together, right down to little details such as small robots and the design of hostess uniforms, and that makes it all come to life. David Tennant gives sugar a voice with a strong twang that takes a little getting used to, but she's a strong and perceptive character so it all makes her rather appealing and someone I wouldnt have minded if they could have kept her around.

Instead of incidental music there are lots of weird sounds to create the atmosphere of being lost somewhere beyound all you know. These could be annoying but instead they do manage to create a nice and creepy atmosphere.

Beyond that, use of other supporting characters does create the good feel of a group of strangers trapped and in danger together and fighting to survive.

The final scene is also a nice way to round this doctor's audio appearances off. Presuming it is the end, of course.

A very good story and a seemingly final chance to hear from an excellent doctor. This is well worth a listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doctor In Distress!, 22 Oct 2013
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Last Voyage (Audio CD)
Positive.
A well paced mysterious adventure by writer Dan Abnett whom has written this especially for audio.
David Tennants enthusiastic narration bringing a zest of energy to the story,

Negative.
The slow pace of the first 15 minutes of episode 1.

Trivia.
Dan Abnett wrote the excellent Big Finish adventures The Harvest & Nocturne.

Review.
The Tardis lands inside a space shuttle on it's maiden voyage from Earth to Eternity, The Doctor is soon exploring the vast shuttle when A huge Bang & flash of light causes the passengers & crew to disappear.

What mysterious Entity has caused everybody to vanish & Can the Doctor find a way of stopping the entity attacking again? & will the Doctor & flight attendant Sugar Macauley be able to control & pilot the starship of risk traveling through the inner dimensions of deep space forever.

This is a great mystery adventure story by writer Dan Abnett although is a little slow getting out the starting blocks but picks up the pace in it's second episode.

David Tennant once again brimms with enthusiasm with his narration, You can feel his love & passion coming through from his performance giving everything to the oroduction,

I said in other reviews Dead Air & Day of The Troll would have benefited by being 4 part story's, Well here the 70 minutes running time is about right for this adventure.

Lets hope one day Big Finish get the licence to use all the Doctor's as yet they only have the rights to Doctor's 1-8, l'd love to hear David Tennant in his own 10th Doctor adventures series as he's excellent in his narration as The Doctor for AudioGo & deserves his own series of Big Finish full cast adventures,

Great adventure slightly marred by the slow opening but redeems itself in its second episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fall asleep to David Tennant, 22 April 2010
By 
Angel Jem "Angel Jem" (Liverpool, Merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Last Voyage (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
With an imaginative story and David Tennant's voice, this was a treat for my 3 Who fans. The story was good, a little like the Voyage of the Damned with a twist and very well structured. The Doctor, companionless again, soon caught a friend to bounce ideas off. The space ship floating through space with a dangerous 'thing' on board is old hat, of course it is, but when it gets a new twist and a secret that the Doctor has to discover it doesn't get boring. It kept us happy on a car journey, and we range in age from 42 to 8.

Besides which, the description of the stewardesses uniform is just so funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something to help those Tennant withdrawal symptoms, 26 Mar 2010
By 
A. I. McCulloch "Andrea" (Co Durham) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Last Voyage (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I got this for my Dr Who - mad grandchildren without realising the greatest attraction - it has David Tennant reading it.

They were absolutely over the moon. Younger Tennant fans may find following the story a challenge but older listeners will relish this exciting tale.

It's got all the Who usual ingredients, apart from a companion and the same narrator providing all the voices. Marvellous. As Matt Smith comes in to one of the most iconic roles on TV, this is a nice reminder of the actor who will no doubt be considered the greatest to play the part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good outing for the tenth Doctor, 20 Mar 2010
By 
K. Trebell (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Last Voyage (Audio CD)
I ordered this for my son to listen to. He's a huge fan of David Tenant and was sad to see go, so a chance to hear him in a Doctor Who tale again was greatly appreciated. This is thus his review:

I think that it was full of action and adventure. It was a very last minute save the world kind of story. It is about a ship that is knocked out of a quantum wave length and the everyone vanishes.It turns out that they are the ones who have vanished and the doctor manages to set them back to the right quantum wave length and save the day before entities from a different quantum wave length kill them.David Tennant was a very good narraor and his voiceplay was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect escapism!, 18 Mar 2010
By 
Cheshire Cat (Warrington, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Last Voyage (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Must admit to being of mature years, not having encyclopedic Doctor Who knowledge but having thoroughly enjoyed the BBC revival, particularly David Tennat's interpretation of the role. I have also had mixed experiences with audiobooks generally so approached this with mixed feelings and more than a little apprehension.

Would it spoil very happy memories of David T's reign? Very happy to therefore confirm that this was a really enjoyable bit of pure escapism, read very well by Mr T, as one would expectr from an actor of his ability.

I won't go over the story except to say it passed the time very agreeable and struck , for me, the perfect balance between being simple enough to enjoy with concentrating too hard and yet still having a plot of reasonable substance.

So, if you are an 'average' fan of the series, I would heartily recommend this. Real dedicated enthusiasts may have further comment on the detail of the story but I suspect they would also enjoy the chance to hear David T reprise his involvement and remind us of what has surely been one of the best incarnations of Doctor Who .....to date.

Excellent value, go on,indulge yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant but slightly forgettable flight, 18 Mar 2010
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Last Voyage (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
For many the appeal for this audio adventure will be David Tennant in his second last time out as the Doctor after 2009's Christmas specials (well, at least until his career slows down and he hits the convention-and-audiobook circuit), The Last Voyage is a decent yarn, though it's not too hard to understand why it didn't make it to TV. As a story it's probably too similar to both Midnight and a smaller scale version of Voyage of the Damned to work on the screen without seeming overfamiliar (it's another tourist trip gone horribly wrong), but author Dan Abnett has a good descriptive turn of phrase and it holds the interest even if it doesn't linger in the memory too long. Rather than a full cast dramatisation, this is another budget production read by Tennant in a Scottish accent he drops when voicing the Doctor and a variety of less successful ones for the other characters. Unfortunately American women aren't one of his better party pieces, and as a result the story's heroine ends up sounding a bit like Eric Idle in a Monty Python sketch, but then nobody's perfect - not even ex-Time Lords.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant - and a fitting finale for David Tennant., 9 Mar 2010
By 
Peter Coupe (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Last Voyage (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a great story, and a typical Doctor Who mixture of science fiction, action and accidental solutions.
It is well played by David Tennant who reads the whole thing with his usual professional aplomb, and voices the characters (including the Doctor himself of course) very convincingly.
There is plenty of action in the story, and the science behind the story is compelling and believable.
This is the last chance to hear David Tennant reading Doctor Who stories as he has now been replaced of course, and so it will be an essential part of any true fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Last Voyage
Doctor Who: The Last Voyage by Dan Abnett (Audio CD - 7 Jan 2010)
Used & New from: 89.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews