Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bite me!
I have to say that I liked this one much more than other recent original Tenth Doctor audio offerings such as Doctor Who: The Last Voyage, however I agree with some reviewers' comments that it is both somewhat cliched in terms of Tennant-led stories and that Michelle Ryan's well-modulated tones, though competent, leave one cold - the less said about her pronunciation of...
Published on 25 Jun 2010 by Captain Pugwash

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Rising Night
In this exclusive audiobook story the 10th Doctor finds himself in the 18th Century village of Thorton Rising, where the local population find themselves under attack from a vampiric alien who has blotted out the sun.

'The Rising Night' is solid enough Doctor Who fare, utilising the usual mix of horror and science fiction that makes up much of the series...
Published on 10 April 2010 by Jane Aland


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Rising Night, 10 April 2010
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: "Doctor Who": The Rising Night: (Audio Original) (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
In this exclusive audiobook story the 10th Doctor finds himself in the 18th Century village of Thorton Rising, where the local population find themselves under attack from a vampiric alien who has blotted out the sun.

'The Rising Night' is solid enough Doctor Who fare, utilising the usual mix of horror and science fiction that makes up much of the series lifeblood. Despite its professional execution however, it has to be said that for the most part this is highly predictable fare. Doctor Who has tackled vampires before, and there's nothing to make this particular vampire-in-all-but-name alien stand out. Similarly the solo 10th Doctor meeting up with a one-off plucky female companion, who inevitably just happens to be yearning for her horizons to be expanded, is a little too obvious.

Michelle Ryan proves to be a decent enough reader, offering an enthusiastic take on the material, though her portrayal of the 10th Doctor only emphasises the character's gradual descent into a caricature (and yes - he's "so, so sorry").

Not ham-fisted enough to be a bad Doctor Who story, but not original enough to truly excite, 'The Rising Night' offers comforting if slightly stale adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bite me!, 25 Jun 2010
This review is from: "Doctor Who": The Rising Night: (Audio Original) (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
I have to say that I liked this one much more than other recent original Tenth Doctor audio offerings such as Doctor Who: The Last Voyage, however I agree with some reviewers' comments that it is both somewhat cliched in terms of Tennant-led stories and that Michelle Ryan's well-modulated tones, though competent, leave one cold - the less said about her pronunciation of the word 'grimace' meanwhile, the better!

The story by Scott Handcock is a very atmospheric one, with a claustrophobic feel and some intriguing characters. The concept of lusty female vampires terrorising a Nineteenth century town echoes the recent Eleventh Doctor TV story 'Vampires in Venice', but where those vampires were in reality amphibious aliens, Handcock's versions are the real McCoy.

Ultimately this is a fairly unambitious story, but a likeable anough addition to the BBC audio range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars after dark, 1 July 2009
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Doctor Who": The Rising Night: (Audio Original) (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
This is the latest doctor who audio story from the bbc. Like the three previous ones in the range it tells an all new story, spread over two discs each of just over an hour in duration. Each disc is one long episode with no breaks in the middle but they are divided into twenty four tracks for ease of access.

Michelle Ryan, recently seen in the tv episode planet of the dead, reads this story. set sometime after the end of the fourth season, it features the doctor, travelling on his own, visiting a village in yorkshire several centuries ago. The place has been covered in total darkness for weeks, and nasty creatures are out on the moors, luring men to their doom. The Doctor teams up with a local girl called charity in order to find what's going on and save the day.

Story wise this is a pretty typical doctor who adventure, but with enough nice and original touches to make it stand out just a little from the norm. The script uses charity in ways in part two that you might not have expected. The monsters are well characterised and quite a decent creation and there some very atmospheric moments. the scenes of men being lured to their doom are very unsettling and very understated. there's also quite a novel solution to the matter at hand.

Mind you after this the one remaining plot strand lasts nigh on ten minutes and for a lot of seemed a little too cliched, covering ground we've been over with the tenth doctor a few too many times before. and yet it does manage, in the end, to do not quite what you were expecting, producing quite a memorable finale.

Reading wise, Michelle Ryan has a tough act to follow after catherine tate's work on the last two, but she does a very good job. her version of the doctor captures his manner of speaking rather than the sound of his voice, but she's very good with the regional accents on display in the supporting characters, and in creating the right mood when required.

Not quite the best of this range, but a decent and entertaining listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 3 Nov 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Doctor Who": The Rising Night: (Audio Original) (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
I've listened to all the Doctor Who audio books that are currently available and to be honest The Rising Night is just not up to the usual standard. Quite dull without the normal twists and turns, not a great tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Struggled to finish this one. Quite boring., 7 Oct 2009
This review is from: "Doctor Who": The Rising Night: (Audio Original) (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
The story could have been all right, I guess, but I didn't much like the way it was read. Michelle Ryan's voice got on my nerves for sone reason. Nothing really stood out in the story to gain my interest (though on paper it sounded like it would be good) and I just felt it was something of nothing really. Maybe it would have been good if it had been read by someone else, but as it is, it just felt tedious to listen to, and even though it may have been much better if the reading had been done differently or with a different voice, it still would not have been an outstanding and memorable story. In fact, I tried quite a few times to get to the end of this story without falling asleep, and after the 5th attempt, (five nights later) gave up and forced myself to stay awake to listen to the end, but still cannot recall exactly what happened, and usually some of these stories are so riveting that they keep me entrhalled right to the end and then I spend a few moments basking in the memory of them, but this one was so uninteresting it really bordered on boring.

Basically, dull as ditchwater. - Should have got Catherine Tate, or Russell Tovey to do the reading. The end result may have been totally different then. Michelle Ryan just rushed through it at times, with a very monotonous voice.
Nothing like the brilliance of The Forever Trap, which was read perfectly by Catherine Tate. That one was great. This, I'm afraid, is just a great big flop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

"Doctor Who": The Rising Night: (Audio Original) (BBC Audio)
"Doctor Who": The Rising Night: (Audio Original) (BBC Audio) by Scott Handcock (Audio CD - 2 July 2009)
8.77
Usually dispatched within 1 to 2 months
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews