Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pitch-perfect characterisation of the Tenth Doctor and Donna partnership, 10 Oct 2008
By 
Michele Fry (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: "Doctor Who": The Forever Trap: No. 2 (Dr Who Audio Original 2) (Audio CD)
"Doctor Who": The Forever Trap: No. 2 (Dr Who Audio Original 2)

I know some folks have been less than impressed with Abnett's work for the Whoniverse thus far, but he has crafted a pitch-perfect story for the Tenth Doctor and Donna, and Catherine Tate clearly relishes reading it - on occasion she does a near-perfect impersonation of David Tennant's manic Tenth Doctor, and all her other character voices are easily distinguished from each other, and many really managed to convey aurally the charaters that I couldn't see. This audio novel is far superior to Peter Anghelides "Pest Control". I felt that Abnett created some interesting, original alien creatures and the story was well paced. Donna was incredibly Donna-ish - and I loved her to bits in this story. I cannot recommend it highly enough as it was a very satisfying story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and well thought-out - another solid title in the Doctor Who audio range, 8 Jan 2009
By 
L. Green "Feltano" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Doctor Who": The Forever Trap: No. 2 (Dr Who Audio Original 2) (Audio CD)
Barcode: 9781408406786

Having loved the first CD in this range - Pest Control - i was keen to get my hands on this story too. Catherine Tate makes for an excellent reader as the Doctor and Donna become trapped in the mysteries of a massive confusing puzzle of a building/space station known as the Edifice.

Playing on ideas of mind-tricks (the story itself referencing the work of Escher) it is an altogether more subtle story than the fast-paced action of Pest Control. The Forever Trap might not be as instant a story, but it make sup for that in the gradually growing sense of menace that pervades the Edifice. The imagery and description conjured up in this story is fantastic, all stark modern design descending into chaos, as well as the imaginative descriptions of the various alien races caught int eh building too.

What with the Doctor and Donna being separated for a fair few bits of the TV series, it is really good to see them playing off each-other throughout in this story and the dynamic between the two characters is brilliant. There's also a very touching line towards the end where the Doctor sums up his aim in his adventures 'We try to pick up the pieces Donna, but sometimes those pieces are broken'. It's a beautiful moment and perfectly captures the burden the Doctor has to bear.

The themes on display here play well into those established in the TV series too, the idea of a sinister 'spacestation' with mysterious goings on behind the scenes harking back to 'The Long Game' while the idea of a swarm of creatures eating away in the dark brings to mind the Vashta Nerada in the 'Silence In The Library' two-parter.

So, all in all, this is a great adventure - while admitedly not the most pacy or action-based, those that love the more creepy, subtle side of Doctor Who will love this and it's well worth a listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lost in escher, 22 Oct 2008
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Doctor Who": The Forever Trap: No. 2 (Dr Who Audio Original 2) (Audio CD)
following on from the talking book doctor who: pest control, which had david tennant reading an original doctor who story and doing lots of different character voices, it's now catherine tate's turn to do one.

like pest control, this is spread over two discs, each running for roughly one hour and ten minutes. there are no episode breaks in the middle of these discs, although there are chapters for ease of access, so essentially this is in two long episodes. the first does end on a cliffhanger.

the story involves the doctor and donna getting stuck in the edifice, a huge apartment block come space station. the place has dissolved into chaos as all the other residents, including some highly unusual aliens, are fighting amongst each other. can the doctor and donna find who runs the place and save the day?

catherine tate has an excellent reading voice and is good to listen to. she does a very good impression of david tennant as the doctor, and there was one point early on when I forgot it wasn't him speaking. she also does voices for many other characters. some of the male ones are a bit obvious but some of the alien ones are very imaginatives and work very well.

the story scores over pest control in that it's a bit more imaginative, both in the unique setting and the highly unusual aliens the doctor and donna meet on their way.

this possibly would be even stronger a piece of work if it was shorter, but that's a minor complaint as it's both an entertaining doctor who story and an enjoyable listen, thanks to the writer and the reader
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unlike anything I've heard before. Simply staggering, 31 Dec 2008
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Doctor Who": The Forever Trap: No. 2 (Dr Who Audio Original 2) (Audio CD)
One of the main reasons why I loved the fourth series of Doctor Who so much was because of Catherine Tate. She made the character of Donna Noble such a fantastic one to love and cherish, which made her departure from the series all the more heartbreaking. Which is why I am so thankful for the recent audiobooks which feature more of Donna. However, The Forever Trap is truly special as it's narrated by Catherine Tate herself.

The story here is set sometime after TV episodes The Sontaran Stratagem/The Poison Sky. During the Doctor and Donna's travels, the TARDIS is invaded by a viral transmission, or rather, a holographic marketing scam that doesn't take `No!' for an answer. Despite their best efforts, the travellers find themselves trapped on the Edifice, a planet-sized complex of luxury apartments in space. Millions of beings across the Universe have been abducted, and where some really enjoy living in the Edifice, others have been taken from their natural habitat and cannot survive. Some are also vicious creatures who live only for war and conquest, and others still are mindless predators who look only to feast. Long story short, the Edifice is not all it's cracked up to be and is in fact a nightmarish mismatch of emotions that condemns all inside to eternal hell and death. With seemingly NO - WAY - OUT.

Obviously, The Forever Trap has been compared a lot to Pest Control, the other audiobook set during Series 4. Like Pest Control, The Forever Trap is a tale that's been done exclusively for audio. But is it better than Pest Control? Absolutely.

Dan Abnett, the author, is a man who should need no introduction. He's written plenty of stuff for Marvel UK (such as Transformers and Doctor Who) and he's famous for writing 2000AD, X-Men, stories for DC and Wildstorm and many bestselling novels. He's one of the most famous science-fiction writers in all the UK. So that was another reason why I wanted this audiobook so much. And true to nature, Abnett doesn't disappoint. He has written a STAGGERING story here.

Whereas Pest Control was action-filled, thrilling, multi-layered and great fun, The Forever Trap is much deeper and more psychological. As the mysteries of the Edifice unravel, the story becomes more sinister and darker. Like all good Who tales, there are plenty of twists-and-turns and enough action to liven things up, but this audiobook's greatest strengths are all the different alien species encountered, the whole concept of the Edifice, all the dangers and horrors within, the faultless relationship and conversational exchanges between the Doctor and Donna, Donna's bravery and resoluteness and finally some brilliant nods to important parts of the Doctor's life. The Ood and the Sontarans get a mention here, as does the Doctor's lost homeworld of Gallifrey, which is very creative and really adds to the psychology of the story.

But it's the SOUND that truly makes The Forever Trap really tense and nail-biting. Catherine Tate provides a PERFECT narrative to Abnett's story. She reads excellently, gives each of the characters great distinctive voices, continues to make Donna special and also does a good impersonation of the Doctor. Of course, all this is a given. We all now how excellent Catherine is at doing voices.

Like Pest Control, the music and sound effects really add to the drama of the story, but what's different and better here is that it's more varied. The music is so much more creepier and eerie and the sound effects WILL keep you on edge and make you jump throughout, especially during the EPIC finale when our heroes discover the Edifice's sinister secret.

Another reason to purchase The Forever Trap is because it's very much a `Doctor and Donna' story. All the other characters have minor roles and don't really have that big an impact on the course of events as the supporting characters did in Pest Control, and that's what makes the audiobook so refreshing. The Doctor and Donna's friendship is what made the fourth series so brilliant and this is a reminder of how true it was and how many great moments it provided for, such as the constant insistence to everyone that they WEREN'T a couple, and how much they were there for one another.

Doctor Who: The Forever Trap has everything it needs to satisfy die-hard fans. I put it on my iPod and was really glad I did. It will have you absolutely hooked from start-to-finish because of everything that's on it. Psychological, deep, gripping, tense, and will send plenty of chills down your spine. Utterly worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended!, 27 Jan 2010
By 
PB (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: "Doctor Who": The Forever Trap: No. 2 (Dr Who Audio Original 2) (Audio CD)
This is one of three David Tennant era Dr Who Audio's I recently purchased (the other being Pest Control and The Nemonite Invasion).

Back when Catherine Tate was first announced as a companion I had a few doubts about her, mainly because she wasn't really known for her acting. However the doubts were unfounded and just as in the tv show she demonstrates here that she is a very capable actress and is able to tell this story convincingly and using a wide variety of accents to do it.

To the story itself - this adventure begins when they become trapped in what appears to be a rather non-threatening 'dream' environment where they are expected to spend the rest of their days in a happy contented retirement. If only they weren't there because they'd been scammed by a sneaky viral holographic salesman invading the Tardis!

It very quickly becomes apparent that not everything is as perfect as it seems within the Edifice and they embark on a determined quest to find the development's 'Super' for some answers (and an escape) which lands them in more than one tricky situation. However, the more they explore the more you suspect that there's more going on in the Edifice than meets the eye...

I thought The Nemonite Invasion was better but this was a close second. An enjoyable tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 7 Mar 2009
This review is from: "Doctor Who": The Forever Trap: No. 2 (Dr Who Audio Original 2) (Audio CD)
"The Forever Trap" is a great story, cleverly constructed and brilliantly read by Catherine Tate. Listening to her I could almost believe it was Donna Noble herself telling the story. She gave us ingenius and thoroughly believable voices for all of the different characters, and made the story really come alive. I loved David Tennant's reading of the first story in this series, 'Pest Control', but against all my expectations, I enjoyed this one even more. Brilliantly done all!!!

Well done Dan Abnett and Catherine Tate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Round Success, 10 Dec 2008
By 
J. Neal (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Doctor Who": The Forever Trap: No. 2 (Dr Who Audio Original 2) (Audio CD)
First things first, Catherine Tate, what a reader. The range her voice has, has always astounded me. From watching The Catherine Tate show to hearing her speak naturally in interviews then as Donna in Doctor Who, she has a voice for every occasion, each with its own unique traits. The second thing you notice is the way she portrays the Doctor. As with every audiobook, the main characters are always the funniest ones to hear. Having had David Tennant portray Rose and Donna in a comical masculine-female way, to having Catherine Tate voice him with that know-it-all tone, is really the clincher for these products.
Ignore the story for a second, if they can't get the voices right it's not worth it. And Tate really does it justice.

Hats off to Abnett for yet another satisfying story in the world of Doctor Who and Torchwood. When you read his written words the images he creates are always wonderful, from the action packed sequences to those more tender moments, and as ever, Abnett manages this in audio form. I've found in the past that some stories can dry horribly when transferred from the page onto the waves, but this is something The Forever Trap does not do. The sound effects that litter the background add to the depth of the story and are well placed. They add tension when it is needed, excitement when the Doctor and Donna are facing certain doom.
All in all the effects are well crafted and excellently placed, and add an entire new dimension to the story. Would it have had the same effect without them? Who knows, but its so perfect the way it is, I don't want to find out.

When listening to audiobooks, I'm normally doing something else at the same time, like trying to sleep or drawing and painting a set for a drama production, like I was this time. With most audiobooks I can tend to switch off from them and continue with what I'm doing having the story as a background noise, The Forever Trap, on the other hand was the other way around.
I found myself stopping what I was doing in order to listen to what was happening. I was so engaged with the story I had to know what happened next and I couldn't stop listening. I put down my paint brush and I listened to every word, every sound effect until it was over. I was impressed.

Any niggles? No, not that I recall. Catherine Tate was an excellent reader with such a well crafted story. Like all Doctor Who storylines it had multiple strands, twists and turns and things you wouldn't expect. Everything I love about the show in one. Nothing ignored. The characters were spot on, the voices were great and overall, I left wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Forever is a mighty long time..., 5 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Doctor Who": The Forever Trap: No. 2 (Dr Who Audio Original 2) (Audio CD)
The world of Doctor Who continues to expand as this strand of original audio adventures throws up a tale featuring The Tenth Doctor and Donna Noble. The TARDIS is invaded by an aggressive form of marketing - `space spam' - and Donna inadvertently signs them up for a lifetime of living in their supposedly `ideal' home (a fully-furnished penthouse for Donna with a view of the Gallifreyan Mountains for The Doctor). The time-travellers soon realise that the term lifetime is literal; this is one contract that can never be cancelled and the pair discover they have become the latest victims of the forever trap...

Catherine Tate narrates this story, and her distinctive Essex accent actually seems to suit the subject matter, even if she does occasionally struggle to re-create The Doctor's buoyant tones. Her voice can also become too strident and intrusive on occasion, but overall she does a good job and the story is an engaging and ultimately well-written entry into the Doctor Who canon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars How good a reader is Catherine Tate?, 13 April 2010
This review is from: "Doctor Who": The Forever Trap: No. 2 (Dr Who Audio Original 2) (Audio CD)
She's Brilliant. As soon as I put this cd on to play I knew I was hooked and she read the story really well. I'm glad it is in my collection so that I can listen again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reliably Doctor Who, 19 Dec 2009
By 
C. Middleton "mr_middleton" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Doctor Who": The Forever Trap: No. 2 (Dr Who Audio Original 2) (Audio CD)
A 2CD story running for over 2 hours in duration, this is definitely value for money. I personally prefer David Tennant narrating to Catherine Tate, but she still does a good job. The story twists and turns, yet still holds together as a concept. In short a good fun jaunt that should appeal to a family audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb1d0e240)

This product

"Doctor Who": The Forever Trap: No. 2 (Dr Who Audio Original 2)
7.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews