Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY THIS BOOK (or face the Wrath of the Dark Lord...)
I enjoyed this book more than most novels I've read for ages (apart from Thomson's Corvus: Oath of Vengeance (Fury of the Vikings), that is). It's fantastic fun for teenagers, goths, vampires and orcs of all ages. I literally couldn't put it down. (I mean, I tried, but it wouldn't let me.) How do you create a convincing character out of an evil fantasy warlord trapped in...
Published on 28 Oct. 2011 by Pollo

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not hilarious
Heard this book described as hilarious by a children's author on Radio 4. Disappointingly it wasn't, I can't recommend it.
Published 15 months ago by Loribee


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant - buy it!, 30 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Dark Lord: 1: The Teenage Years (Paperback)
I could try to intelligently bang on about the concept, style of writing, capability of the author, but quite simply this is hilarious - buy it you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, 10 Jun. 2012
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Lord: 1: The Teenage Years (Paperback)
Dirk Lloyd is a teenage boy, or is he? In fact he is the Dark Lord of an alternate hellish world, who has been ripped from his universe by his arch nemesis the good wizard Hadsruban, and sent to earth to be imprisoned in the body of a slightly chubby thirteen year old with a lisp. Dirk Lloyd, as he is known on earth, struggles to reconcile his evil soul with his puny human body, as he finds his way through the complications of the social services, fostering and high school. His ultimate goal is to get himself back to his own dark realm, but with severely diminished powers and friends who think he is probably just a bit 'mad', rather than evil incarnate, it isn't going to be easy. This is a hugely amusing book that is both funny and suitably macabre. The character of Dirk is inspired and his interactions with his friends Chris, the well meaning foster brother and Sooz the teenage goth girl who have a crush on him, are priceless. Thoroughly entertaining and perfect for tens and up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Voldemort's little cousin comes to stay, 30 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Dark Lord: 1: The Teenage Years (Paperback)
What a brilliant idea for a story! A dark lord, probably a cousin of somebody evil and twisted like Voldemort or Sauron, is defeated in battle. His punishment by the White Wizard is to be exiled to our world in the body of a twelve-year-old kid! Oh, the humanity - too much humanity for our Dirk Lloyd (imagine saying "dark lord" in a Brummie accent and you'll get it). He is packed off to school, where he soon acquires a bunch of human friends among the misfits like sweet-natured underachiever Chris and defiant goth girl Sooz. Every page is filled to overflowing with laugh-out-loud moments, as the junior evil genius and his pals - sorry, lickspittles - try to gather the items needed to return Dirk to his own universe to get revenge on the forces of Good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this lickspittle minions!, 8 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Dark Lord: 1: The Teenage Years (Paperback)
This book is a real treat. It was recommended by friends of my son and once my son had finished it I decided to give it a go to see why he started to say things like "mwah ha ha!" and "kneel before your master lickpspittle minion!", and so forth. Put simply it's a great story with interesting believable characters (yes, even the Dark Lord), a well structured plot and a lot of humour. There's plenty for adults to enjoy here, although it's obviously aimed at young teens. The language can be a bit over the top at times, but I guess that's all part of the 'otherworldliness' of the main character. Anyway, I urge you to give it a go you and your kids will definitely enjoy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic. Can't wait to read follow up., 28 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Lord: 1: The Teenage Years (Paperback)
A fantastic book. Funny and addictive. Despite the Dark Lord being an evil tyrant he comes across as a likeable, confused teenager (due to the fact that he has been trapped in the body of a boy and has to live with an adopted family and go to school). A great balance of young teenage school issues mixed with inferred rather than explicit horror as the Dark Lord seeks a way to return home whilst struggling to adapt to a new world and strange emotions. I bought it for my 13 year old nephew but had to read it first as I was sucked in from page one. I hope he likes it as I can't wait to buy him the follow up (and read it first again).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Lord of Books, 23 July 2014
By 
JammyDodgers (manchester, u.k) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dark Lord: 1: The Teenage Years (Paperback)
This is on the most quirky books EVER! I, an inferior human to the Dark Lord was absolutely addicted to this funny book. The White Wizard has turned Dark Lord into a "puny, little" human boy, taking him away from the dark worlds and putting him on planet Earth. After landing in the town of Whiteshields, he tries to explain that he is the Dark Lord, though people misconstrue and call him Dirk Lloyd. He makes friends with Sooz and Chris, though still longs to go back to the Darklands. Will he ever go back to his former self?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 3 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Dark Lord: 1: The Teenage Years (Paperback)
I bought this for my son for Christmas, he is 9 years old. He was howling with laughter, it really spoke to him. He loves films such as Lord of the Rings and is into Warhammer type games so the lingo used in the book was that which he could identify with. The concept of the book is a great idea and is very appealing to this age group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!, 8 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Dark Lord: 1: The Teenage Years (Paperback)
started this last night and finished it this morning. what a brilliant book, i laughed all the way through. i cannot wait for those lickspittle wretched editors to make the next one available in march! should the book not be out in a timely fashion, i will beg the dark lord to consign them to the rendering vats!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
By 
Brian Luse "phos hilaron" (Portland, OR) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i loved this book best book i ever read aside from the third dark lord book best book EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars epic!!, 15 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book about a boy that is getting very confused. Very good ready!
Five stars recommended for this awsome book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Lord: 1: The Teenage Years
Dark Lord: 1: The Teenage Years by Jamie Thomson (Paperback - 6 Oct. 2011)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews