Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rumble in the jungle
A brilliantly illustrated book of verse that is a must for all carers of under 5's. The verses themselves are a joy to read aloud. The tape that comes with the book brings life to the jungle and its animals. Hugh Lawrie's wit shines through the narrative. The flipside enables the child to follow the tape while reading the book and has a marvellous selection of music...
Published on 5 July 2002 by Vintage fine maid

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointed
The book is beautifully presented, with lovely pop-up/activity sections, however, I was disappointed with the very small number of animal poems/pictures and pages.

I was buying this book as a gift and as the owner of the non-pop-up version of the book, rightly or wrongly I had expected the full version of the book (13 animal poem & pictures)to be provided with...
Published on 16 Dec 2011 by cheshiremum


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyable book would recommend to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Niece lovedit, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A now very well loved and worn read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but things I don't like, 21 Mar 2008
This review is from: Rumble in the Jungle (Paperback)
There are lots of positive reviews for this book and I know why. I like the illustrations as they are colourful and fun. The verse has an energy and snappiness about it that keeps things moving and the usual humour from Giles Andreae.

One thing I don't like is that most of the animals mentioned couldn't live in one jungle. Lions, tigers and panthers are likely to be in Africa, Asia and South America respectively. Some of the rhymes are very lazy like the one about the elephant that doesn't say much other than it likes elephing around. If you can't think what to say... make up a word! This would be great if that was a common technique within the book (like doctor seuss uses). But this is the only incident and I think it's weak. There are poor examples of grammar too.

However, I do like the book and my kids love it which is the final clincher I guess.

I wanted to add a bit of detail rather than it all being glowing 5 star reviews. I hope you enjoy the book! I'd give it 3.5 but not 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Are they really jungle animals?!, 27 Feb 2009
This review is from: Rumble in the Jungle (Paperback)
Great book for kids, a shame that many of these animals don't actually live in the jungle!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rumble in the Jungle (Paperback)
My son loves this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Aug 2014
By 
M. Farr (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rumble in the Jungle (Paperback)
great used book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rumble in the Jungle (Paperback)
Wonderful Book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as described, 13 May 2012
This review is from: Rumble in the Jungle (Paperback)
Deacription of the book inaccurate. Pages were ripped which made it impossible to read some poems. Pages were not fixed to the spine of the book. Will not be buying from here again. Disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 3 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rumble in the Jungle (Board book)
This book was very disappointing. It was in a bad condition when it arrived and I have returned this item.
Despite this I read through the book but thought the content was nowhere near as exciting as claimed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rumble in the Jungle
Rumble in the Jungle by Giles Andreae (Board book - 1 Oct 2009)
4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews