Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars32
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£19.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 July 2013
I have used photo dictionary for years to teach vocabulary and as a revision tool as a gap fill exercise. This is a colourful modern updated version with 3 CDs containing the pronunciation of all the words. I wish there was a kindle or other digital version or that you could buy a teachers resource version with all the pages on the CD for displaying on a digital white board in class.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
This is the perfect dictionary for a class of preparatory English for Speakers of Other Languages students. There does not seem to be a more basic one than this. The pictures, organisation and (not least) exercises are attractive and excite interest in keeping the book by the learner's side.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
This is a book which is useful to hand to other teachers to gain confidence. It presents a lot of pictures clearly.
Problems: it is not A4, so copying it is going to be hard. It can work, however, with just a few people in a very intimate group (!)
The layout is a bit clustered perhaps.
But on the whole, I think it will be useful.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2011
This is a wonderful resource for EAL pupils. The pictures are colourful, vibrant and up to date. My older EAL pupils are really interested in the topics and the downloadable worksheets that accompnay the book are fantastic and very handy to use in lessons or as a homework. It fits in well with the ESOL course I am teaching to beginners.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
I bought the book for a friend. he is very happy with this photo dictionary and it has been very interactive and helpful to him as it translated the words through photos. I recomand this to anyone wanting to learn basic English word mostly used in everyday life in the fastest and unforgettable way.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a reasonably up-to-date visual dictionary that uses specific and common life contexts to explain the language. What strikes me as being the most useful in such a dictionary are "up-to-datedness" and context. This has both and for that reason it's my favourite when teaching ESL.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2011
another winner from longman, my learners asked me to get these for them and they absolutely love them. i have one too as it is useful to theme vocab lessons at all levels. a pic is worth a thousand words and all that
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
It's very good way to new learner, very clear pictures , easy to find any things... actually I am not on that level to use it but my wife use it and she is happy to use it , it has few CDs....
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
This dictionary was absolutely ideal for use with the English for Speakers of another language classes. Very user friendly and informative.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
This photo dictionary is THE BEST IN THE MARKET, as it also has 3 cds for pronunciations. As I explained to a friend out there in the cyberspace of internet acquaintances, even grown ups with oxford educated English certificates at their disposal will benefit from this dictionary, because, we in the east,since English is NOT OUR MOTHER TONGUE, ARE BOUND TO MISS OUT ON MANY BASIC ENGLISH WORDS. This dictionary will fill the gap, and of course it is an irreplaceable boon to the learners of English Language. I shall give this one to a loyal employee studying English, and will order another for myself. Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)