Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great modern update
I have used photo dictionary for years to teach vocabulary and as a revision tool as a gap fill exercise. This is a colourful modern updated version with 3 CDs containing the pronunciation of all the words. I wish there was a kindle or other digital version or that you could buy a teachers resource version with all the pages on the CD for displaying on a digital white...
Published 22 months ago by Kim's Tips

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful to teach English
This is a book which is useful to hand to other teachers to gain confidence. It presents a lot of pictures clearly.
Problems: it is not A4, so copying it is going to be hard. It can work, however, with just a few people in a very intimate group (!)
The layout is a bit clustered perhaps.
But on the whole, I think it will be useful.
Published 12 months ago by prziloczek


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great modern update, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Longman Photo Dictionary (Paperback)
I have used photo dictionary for years to teach vocabulary and as a revision tool as a gap fill exercise. This is a colourful modern updated version with 3 CDs containing the pronunciation of all the words. I wish there was a kindle or other digital version or that you could buy a teachers resource version with all the pages on the CD for displaying on a digital white board in class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for Preparatory English for Speakers of Other Languages Teaching.., 5 May 2014
By 
David Bale (PETERBOROUGH, City of Peterborough, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Longman Photo Dictionary (Paperback)
This is the perfect dictionary for a class of preparatory English for Speakers of Other Languages students. There does not seem to be a more basic one than this. The pictures, organisation and (not least) exercises are attractive and excite interest in keeping the book by the learner's side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful to teach English, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Longman Photo Dictionary (Paperback)
This is a book which is useful to hand to other teachers to gain confidence. It presents a lot of pictures clearly.
Problems: it is not A4, so copying it is going to be hard. It can work, however, with just a few people in a very intimate group (!)
The layout is a bit clustered perhaps.
But on the whole, I think it will be useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Longman Photo Dictionary, 13 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Longman Photo Dictionary (Paperback)
This is a wonderful resource for EAL pupils. The pictures are colourful, vibrant and up to date. My older EAL pupils are really interested in the topics and the downloadable worksheets that accompnay the book are fantastic and very handy to use in lessons or as a homework. It fits in well with the ESOL course I am teaching to beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 7 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Longman Photo Dictionary (Paperback)
I bought the book for a friend. he is very happy with this photo dictionary and it has been very interactive and helpful to him as it translated the words through photos. I recomand this to anyone wanting to learn basic English word mostly used in everyday life in the fastest and unforgettable way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for language learners., 27 Mar. 2014
By 
Scampo "Steve C" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Longman Photo Dictionary (Paperback)
This is a reasonably up-to-date visual dictionary that uses specific and common life contexts to explain the language. What strikes me as being the most useful in such a dictionary are "up-to-datedness" and context. This has both and for that reason it's my favourite when teaching ESL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 24 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Longman Photo Dictionary (Paperback)
another winner from longman, my learners asked me to get these for them and they absolutely love them. i have one too as it is useful to theme vocab lessons at all levels. a pic is worth a thousand words and all that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good way to new learner, 16 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Longman Photo Dictionary (Paperback)
It's very good way to new learner, very clear pictures , easy to find any things... actually I am not on that level to use it but my wife use it and she is happy to use it , it has few CDs....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Longman Photo Dictionary, 25 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Longman Photo Dictionary (Paperback)
This dictionary was absolutely ideal for use with the English for Speakers of another language classes. Very user friendly and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC PHOTO DICTIONARY, 19 Jun. 2014
By 
A. G. Khonji "dreamlover7743" (Bahrain, A.Gulf) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Longman Photo Dictionary (Paperback)
This photo dictionary is THE BEST IN THE MARKET, as it also has 3 cds for pronunciations. As I explained to a friend out there in the cyberspace of internet acquaintances, even grown ups with oxford educated English certificates at their disposal will benefit from this dictionary, because, we in the east,since English is NOT OUR MOTHER TONGUE, ARE BOUND TO MISS OUT ON MANY BASIC ENGLISH WORDS. This dictionary will fill the gap, and of course it is an irreplaceable boon to the learners of English Language. I shall give this one to a loyal employee studying English, and will order another for myself. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Longman Photo Dictionary
Longman Photo Dictionary by Author (Paperback - 2 Sept. 2010)
£18.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews