Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for the PE-phobic teacher... :)
As with the Classroom Gems Mathematics book, it has clearly laid-out activities where hints and tips have been given in concise chunks. As an NQT without a great deal of PE experience, I have found this series invaluable to dip into, and have shared them experienced teachers who have also found new and interesting teaching ideas within. A great present for those entering...
Published on 25 May 2010 by BethanyFovargue

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not suitable for Foundation Stage
Good layout and probably great for key stage 2+ but I bought if for foundation stage and only managed to use 2 ideas form the book. There is a lot on team sport i.e football in it, I don't consider myself to be a PE 'phobic' and guess that this book would be suitable for someone who didn't really like PE but for older children.
Published on 12 Feb 2011 by Welshteacher5


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for the PE-phobic teacher... :), 25 May 2010
This review is from: Classroom Gems: Games, Ideas and Activities for Primary PE (Paperback)
As with the Classroom Gems Mathematics book, it has clearly laid-out activities where hints and tips have been given in concise chunks. As an NQT without a great deal of PE experience, I have found this series invaluable to dip into, and have shared them experienced teachers who have also found new and interesting teaching ideas within. A great present for those entering the primary classroom - particularly if, like me, you need some guidance with the rules and ideas behind the equipment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not suitable for Foundation Stage, 12 Feb 2011
This review is from: Classroom Gems: Games, Ideas and Activities for Primary PE (Paperback)
Good layout and probably great for key stage 2+ but I bought if for foundation stage and only managed to use 2 ideas form the book. There is a lot on team sport i.e football in it, I don't consider myself to be a PE 'phobic' and guess that this book would be suitable for someone who didn't really like PE but for older children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT MUST HAVE BOOK!!!!, 22 Sep 2011
This review is from: Classroom Gems: Games, Ideas and Activities for Primary PE (Paperback)
A great book that has many different and exciting ideas. The ideas could be used as starters to lessons, coll downs or as a full part of the lesson. It has many section which include
Section 1 - KS1,
Section 2 - KS2 games - football hockey rugby netball basketball striking and fielding net and wall skills.
Section 3 - Atheletic
section 4 - outdoor and adventurous

All ideas are axplained ina simple way and it doesn't take ages to read through the lesson idea. They are clearly set so taht you could pick it up and read an idea 2 minutes before the lesson - great for supply teachers to carry around, subject leaders and for all teachers. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy hints and Ideas, 27 Mar 2010
By 
P. M. Trivett (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Classroom Gems: Games, Ideas and Activities for Primary PE (Paperback)
I've two of these Classroom Gems books now. What I find really useful about them is that the ideas are practical and adaptable. Where appropiate they highlight the Cross-Curriculem links and they effectively give suggestions for an entire lesson plan, so when stuck and need quick ideas, most of the hard work has been taken care of for you. This book follow suit and give loads of ideas that could easily be applied when playing popular sports and games for most curcumstances, rather than just having a 'kick around' for the lack of nothing else to do.
I'm not that experienced in playing sports...let alone teaching them, so I found this very well laid out and presented well to help me make my last few physical activity lessons that were thrust upon me at the last minute a little more interesting and more structured.
Philip Marc
SEN Instructor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useable and teacher friendly!, 8 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Classroom Gems: Games, Ideas and Activities for Primary PE (Paperback)
Great for the non-specialist with very clear skills progression in easy to understand steps. Includes lots of different practices for the skills being taught that can be adapted for indoor lessons when needed. Could easily provide all the games lessons for the whole year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classroom Gems: Games, Ideas and Activities for Primary PE (Paperback)
A super book and as a nqt fantastic for giving me ideas on how to teach p.e and make it more fun and enjoyable for children. Rather than focus on typical drills and games this book gives you creative ways to get children moving in p.e. definitely a must for those who want a little bit more confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy plans to follow, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classroom Gems: Games, Ideas and Activities for Primary PE (Paperback)
Made it easy to put in skill and games lessons for a varied, whole school programme across KS2. Useful resource that will be much used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 9 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classroom Gems: Games, Ideas and Activities for Primary PE (Paperback)
Excellent book for any PE teacher or sports coach in need of a few ideas. I would reccomend this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Classroom Gems: Games, Ideas and Activities for Primary PE
Classroom Gems: Games, Ideas and Activities for Primary PE by William Allen (Paperback - 20 Aug 2009)
Used & New from: 7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews