Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book for anyone thinking of doing/already doing law!
I found this book really useful as an insight into what a Law degree would entail, and when I begin my law course this year I am certain that I will refer to it during my study too. Some great advice on preparing yourself for a Law degree, from choosing your univeristies, to reccomending books for you to read, and then how to organise your study once at university. I...
Published on 30 Mar 2010 by Ms. J. Elliott-archer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has its uses
I bought this book when studying for an LLM in Employment law. I found it somewhat useful in part. .
Published 22 months ago by Jumi, Herts


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book for anyone thinking of doing/already doing law!, 30 Mar 2010
By 
Ms. J. Elliott-archer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I found this book really useful as an insight into what a Law degree would entail, and when I begin my law course this year I am certain that I will refer to it during my study too. Some great advice on preparing yourself for a Law degree, from choosing your univeristies, to reccomending books for you to read, and then how to organise your study once at university. I have bought most of the books that are reccomended in this books and they have also proven very useful in opening my mind and teaching me more about society. This book is so good that after origionally getting it from my local library, I went out and bought it so that I could keep it to refer back to as I progress in my Law career!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical and to the point, this little gem is worth every penny !, 8 Jan 2007
By 
Rambam HaTalmid (Sydney Australia) - See all my reviews
This is an excellent introduction to studying law by a very experienced law tutor.
McBride taught at Oxford and was a fellow at All Souls before he moved to Cambridge. His advice is practical and to the point and would benefit any law student. This book would be particularly useful to someone who is studying at Oxford or Cambridge.

Whether it be study techniques, law essay writing, surviving tutorials, making notes or relations with fellow law students, McBride has something useful to say about all of these issues.

Miss a meal or two if you have to, but make sure that you scrape together the modest sum needed to buy this little treasure. You will buy many, many law textbooks during your career in law. But this modest and unassuming book will rank highly among the most useful of them all.

Addendum:
It is over a year since I wrote this review.
I notice that this is one of the most well thumbed books that my law student child brings home every vacation. My recommendation stands. If you are a law student in the UK,and more particularly at Oxford or Cambridge, buy this book. It will save you hours of anxiety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Letters that every law student should read!, 9 Jun 2011
By 
c123456729 (Hong Kong, Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Letters to a Law Student: A Guide to Studying Law at University (Paperback)
This is an absolutely amazing book for law students. This is almost like a bible for every law student, you will find yourself keeping it handy from the day you are deciding whether you should do law to the day your law exam results are out. For those who aren't professional, knowing virtually nothing about law, this book helps you to build your basic moral views and understand some basic law principles, most importantly, in English. One of it chapters talks about the LNAT test. I would not recommend to replace a proper LNAT preparation book with this one, however it does in fact gives a good preliminary insight into the LNAT test. If you want to know what it's like to be a law student, this book reveals how much reading and work you will be doing (more or less). For current students, it teaches you how to structure your notes and how to read law too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 1 Jun 2011
This review is from: Letters to a Law Student: A Guide to Studying Law at University (Paperback)
Very rapid delivery - was expecting around a week, got it the next day.
The book itself is outstanding not just for a law student, but anyone who is considering taking up an Arts degree at a prestigious university. Moreover, whilst it seems to be a bit patronising at first, the "email style" format of the chapters is brilliant in answering your questions and concerns specifically, and it reminds you that you're not the only worried law student hopeful in the world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely read, 8 Oct 2013
This review is from: Letters to a Law Student: A Guide to Studying Law at University (Paperback)
I loved reading this book; found it to be very insightful and informative. I recommend it to every new Law student as it makes one think if they really want to be in Law or elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 5 Oct 2013
By 
Stephen J. Oneil "sl10ch" (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letters to a Law Student: A Guide to Studying Law at University (Paperback)
This book is bang on the mark from the first page. Be sure to read the foreword, acknowledgements etc. as little gems of wisdom are waiting to be found on every page.

I would recommend this book to any student, regardless of whether they are studying or thinking about studying law as the early chapters in particular give good general advice about writing and thinking. The style is easy and honest and it might just persuade you or put you off becoming a law student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm loving it, 13 May 2011
This review is from: Letters to a Law Student: A Guide to Studying Law at University (Paperback)
I bought this book really late into my 2nd year at Law school, where I have felt there has been little direction as to what is to be expected of me in order to achieve higher marks.

However, I love the way it is written in letter format, making it really personable and simple reading. It really nips in the bud those real issues that students need help in. I'm currently saturated in the last few chapters as my exams approach and it has been so helpful in terms of prepartion and essay and problem Q writing.

I really do wish I had this before I started my Degree, however now I can go into my 3rd year with assurance of what is expected of me and how to cope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, if you don't find yourself wanting to read on - laws not right for you!, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letters to a Law Student: A Guide to Studying Law at University (Paperback)
Really helpful and useful book actually, very factual therefore hard to read at times yet it allowed me to see whether a law degree was right for me or not and it has actually convinced me along with other things that law is something that I want to venture into. Therefore, I will one day probably owe my life to his book. Apparently, talking to initial law students - it also is a helpful book to aid you along with your course! Brilliant!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gift, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letters to a Law Student: A Guide to Studying Law at University (Paperback)
this book was bought as a gift for someone doing an on line course and this book along with a few others is proving very useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must buy!, 19 Sep 2013
This review is from: Letters to a Law Student: A Guide to Studying Law at University (Paperback)
A must buy for any aspiring Law student! This informative and well written book allows students to see just how one should apply for Law at university with interview advice, recommended background reading and UCAS help, to then describing the key facts required for one studying Law at university and what they can do after receiving their degree. Coloured coded and broken down into key point format this book is one every undergraduate Law student should have amongst their bookshelves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Letters to a Law Student: A Guide to Studying Law at University
Letters to a Law Student: A Guide to Studying Law at University by Nicholas J McBride (Paperback - 11 Mar 2010)
Used & New from: £12.33
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews