Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More fun than a computer game
The LDCE dictionary is a beautiful piece of work, a joy to behold and read. If you love books, you'll love this one.
The DVD however is I think the star of this 5th edition : absolutely stunning as a reference work, a learning tool and an assistant when reading or writing an the computer. You can take a look at the DVD's extensive and very informative "guided tour"...
Published on 29 Sep 2009 by Chyron

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Tatty
It came looking like a second-hand item so I wasn't pleased at all
Published 2 days ago by JW


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More fun than a computer game, 29 Sep 2009
By 
Chyron (Antwerp, Flanders, Europe) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Longman Dictionary of Contemporary English Cased and DVD-ROM Pack (Hardcover)
The LDCE dictionary is a beautiful piece of work, a joy to behold and read. If you love books, you'll love this one.
The DVD however is I think the star of this 5th edition : absolutely stunning as a reference work, a learning tool and an assistant when reading or writing an the computer. You can take a look at the DVD's extensive and very informative "guided tour" on Longman's website and yes, it really is that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Software compatible with Vista Home Premium., 22 Jan 2010
By 
Liviu Florea "Liviu Florea" (Galati, Romania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Longman Dictionary of Contemporary English Cased and DVD-ROM Pack (Hardcover)
I bought this dictionary to improve my commnand of writen English. As a non-native speaker of English I needed a reliable learner's dictionary. My English teacher personally recommended it and I have been using the 4th Edition of the Longman Dictionary of contemporary English ever since. However, the software of the old 4th Edition was not compatible with Microsoft's Windows Vista installed on my new laptop so I had to buy the 5th edition of the dictionary. Although in the minimum system requirements of the dvd only Windows 2000 and Xp are mentioned, the software works flawlessly on Vista Home Premium. I am however not sure of other Microsoft products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best on the market, 14 Jun 2009
By 
Lorenzo Spagna (Guastalla (RE), Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Longman Dictionary of Contemporary English Cased and DVD-ROM Pack (Hardcover)
I have bought a lot of English dictionaries over the past years (Cambridge, Macmillan, Oxford, Collins, and the former Logman edition included) in order to improve my English and stay updated but I have always felt that something was missing. This time is not the case: the authors have released a very powerful linguistic tool, that makes you confident in every circumstance. The cd is fantastic with a lot of useful stuff inside (language activator, exercises, grammar, corpus, etc.) and not only the entries, but also plenty of example sentences are spoken!
I think that this is by far the best English dictionary for advanced students of this beautiful language, at a very nice price. Thank you Longman!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great dictionary, good value and one of the best software, 9 Mar 2009
By 
Ms. Gracia I. Martinez (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am a student and this is one of the best dictionaries I have ever had.It explains all the possible doubts a student can have, collocations, phrasal verbs, spoken expressions, confussing words...the software is great, I hardly use the paper dictionary cos the CD has the same and it is much easy and quick to find what I want, with the advantage that the software includes the language activator dictionary (2 dictionaries in one software) and when you look for a word, you will see also this language activator as cursiosity and you will learn much much more.
I have used the oxford learners and I think that this dictionary is better because the cds provided will help you much more in order to improve your level of english (as you will find a lot of extended information).
to sum up, if you are a student of english and you need a good dictionary, this is THE ONE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The finest. I devoted it., 23 Jan 2013
This review is from: Longman Dictionary of Contemporary English Cased and DVD-ROM Pack (Hardcover)
Collocations, phrases and clear definitions are terrific. Natural English from the Longman Corpus Network is precise.
I'm reading it like a book. There are not more comments.

DVD Software + LDOCE5 Viewer [[...]], make it the BEST dictionary of ALL in the world.

Highly recommended for advanced learners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good., 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Longman Dictionary of Contemporary English Cased and DVD-ROM Pack (Hardcover)
This is really an essential tool for everyone working with English, and it really helps to improve all the aspects of the language. The edition is very well done, and you will enjoy while using it. It is very useful for learners as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good dictionary, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Longman Dictionary of Contemporary English Cased and DVD-ROM Pack (Hardcover)
I wanted to buy something good to help me when I learn new words, etc. I really recommend it.
The explanations are long enough, teher are lots of examples from real life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Dictionary for Student !, 5 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Longman Dictionary of Contemporary English Cased and DVD-ROM Pack (Hardcover)
Need a little read on instruction !
But, everything is superb after that.
I recommend this for anyone who is studying English. :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous dictionary, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Longman Dictionary of Contemporary English Cased and DVD-ROM Pack (Hardcover)
i love this dictionary , had an old one since high school , decided to buy this edition as the old one has a lot of missing words,this dictionary very colorful, best dictionary i know,very satisfied from the purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Tatty, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Longman Dictionary of Contemporary English Cased and DVD-ROM Pack (Hardcover)
It came looking like a second-hand item so I wasn't pleased at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Longman Dictionary of Contemporary English Cased and DVD-ROM Pack
36.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews