Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant revision aid, 18 April 2009
By 
Heather Fox (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revision Express AS and A2 English Language (Paperback)
This is an extremely helpful book, and is written in a easy to understand way with a clear and concise layout.

It is relevant to all exam boards and lots of people in my class have this book - we all agreed it was the best one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says, 25 July 2011
This review is from: Revision Express AS and A2 English Language (Paperback)
As a revision book for AS and even A2 this is very helpful and very good value. It gives easy-to-read summaries of all the key topics in enough depth to structure a decent essay or exam answer. You will need to add to it more examples and your own critical evaluation of theories and research presented. If you find it helps you to have each topic presented in just two pages with headings and bullet points, then this is a book for you. Its Grammar section is very clear and reader-friendly, a good resource if word classes and syntax are getting confusing. Topics are arranged helpfully, though you will need to check your own exam board's current requirements to know where the different topics fit into your exams. Despite becoming a little dated now, the content is still the basic material needed for A level so an excellent starting point for revision. And as the name suggests, it's quick and easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great revision book, perfect to refresh and learn from, 1 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. C. Dunning (Slough) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revision Express AS and A2 English Language (Paperback)
This text book is great, colourful so your not falling asleep, whilst still giving you all the information you will need to grab those higher grades. A great purchase that you really can't go wrong with.
The structure is very simple for this revision express text book, it centres upon one area such as pragmatics and then explains and enthralls you with information.
A noticable feature when it comes to this text book is the 'grade booster' section, every so often there are small hints that tell you which bits to focus on in the exams which should be heeded as many are very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Okay so it's helpful... but not something to rely on completely, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revision Express AS and A2 English Language (Paperback)
I do English Language GCE with WJEC and used this for my A2 year. Firstly, this book does not always go into great detail in explaining certain terms; it will mention something and then I'd be left to look it up.
While it does provide some good material on terminology, I often found that it did not give much in terms of higher level terminology. What it does give, is a good base glossary of terms, but I was looking to get some higher terms of linguistic analysis such as 'lexical diffusion', 'superscription', 'orthography', 'synecdoche', 'homonym' or 'hypophora'... Don't get me wrong, it IS VERY useful as revision material (as it is advertised), but I would recommend 'Sara Thorne's: Mastering Advanced English Language' as a book in which you could FULLY rely on - although it is not as easily digestible as this.
If you are using this for AS level only then I would give it 4 1/2 Stars, but as it is, it's not something which I could give full stars due to the omission of certain higher level terms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 26 April 2013
This review is from: Revision Express AS and A2 English Language (Paperback)
Just what my son needed (apart from a lot of hard work and dedication) to get him through the rigors of his AS course
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revision Express AS and A2 English Language (Paperback)
Good study book with lots of helpful facts and points you need to know all packed into one book for both levels - well worth the buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 2 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Revision Express AS and A2 English Language (Paperback)
very good book... has helped me a lot! although it doesn't go into the A grade stuff in too much detail it is excellent to get a basis which you can develop on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best revision guide for A2, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revision Express AS and A2 English Language (Paperback)
An excellent revision guide which is really easy to read and understand. It covers the main points of each topic and includes lots of handy tips and comments from examiners. Well worth the purchase and the only revison book you will need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars College, 15 Feb 2014
By 
J. S. Meakes (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revision Express AS and A2 English Language (Paperback)
Bought to help my daughter with her A levels, she says it is very helpful with her course and revision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars English Language, 8 Sep 2013
By 
K. Russell "Happy Customer" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revision Express AS and A2 English Language (Paperback)
A purchase for English A Level so a required text. Looks good and easy to use. Came in perfect condition. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Revision Express AS and A2 English Language
Revision Express AS and A2 English Language by Mr Alan Gardiner (Paperback - 18 Sep 2008)
11.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews