Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silent Spring Revisited - a must read title
I've been familiar with some of Conor Mark Jameson's writing in Birds Magazine, BBC Wildlife Magazine and the Guardian and was really looking forward to reading this.

I wasn't disappointed. The book - while covering some important stuff - is totally accessible and a delight to read.

Personal and poignant moments are combined with the history of...
Published on 15 May 2012 by Sam Brown 234

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what the title suggests
The title of this book, pegged to the fiftieth anniversary of the publication of Rachel Carson's `Silent Spring' (published in 1962), is somewhat misleading. Whereas Carson's original was a ground-breaking and very influential critique of the rapid increase in the use of pesticides in the US, a development that appeared to be killing millions of birds and other wildlife,...
Published 11 months ago by Phil O'Sofa


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Not what the title suggests, 29 July 2014
This review is from: Silent Spring Revisited (Paperback)
The title of this book, pegged to the fiftieth anniversary of the publication of Rachel Carson's `Silent Spring' (published in 1962), is somewhat misleading. Whereas Carson's original was a ground-breaking and very influential critique of the rapid increase in the use of pesticides in the US, a development that appeared to be killing millions of birds and other wildlife, this book reads much more like a recent history of the RSPB (Royal Society for the Protection of Birds), complete with the author's observations on life in Britain over the last half-century, and in particular lots of anecdotes based on his obvious love of birds.

Nothing wrong with any of that, perhaps, and the book is well written for the most part and a pleasant enough read, but it is of limited appeal and really has little in common with Silent Spring, other than the environmental message. If the title had been more along the lines of, say, `A recent history of nature conservation in the UK', then the reader would have a better understanding of what to expect (though it probably wouldn't sell so many books!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read - or just dip in., 30 Dec. 2012
By 
Glenribbeen "Glenribbeen" (Glenribbeen Eco Lodge, Lismore) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great to read in one fell swoop - or just dip in and out as the passion finds you. Great book to use for quotations for college project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nature, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a hopeful book, despite the seemingly hopeless situation we find ourselves in, where we appear to be in danger of destroying the earth with our need for profits. Once we become aware of the damage we are doing and try to reverse it, it looks as if the earth can recover to some extent. I have my doubts, but we should certainly try. The author gives charming anecdotes, as well as disturbing facts. There is a surprising lack of anger on his part about the destruction he has witnessed. A very balanced account, and an interesting and enjoyable read, albeit disturbing. A wry smile for all the politicians who instigate enquiries then disregard the advice the taxpayer has been called upon to finance. Very worthwhile read for anyone who cares about the environment, and we all should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jue's review, 17 Dec. 2012
Silent Spring Revisited
von Conor Mark Jameson
288s. Hardcover 14x22,5cm
Bloomsbury Publishing, London, 2012
ISBN 978-1-4081-5760-2 £16.99

Fünfzig Jahre nach dem Erscheinen von Rachel Carsons apokalyp-tischer Vision 'Silent Spring' gibt der in Uganda geborene und in Schottland aufgewachsene Naturschützer und Journalist Conor Mark Jameson einen Rückblick auf die Entwicklungen seit 1962.
Für jedes einzelne Jahr führt er die wichtigsten für den Naturschutz relevanten Ereignisse, wie das Aussterben oder Wiederansiedeln von Tierarten aber auch Tankerhavarien, Biotopverluste oder umwelt-politische Fehlentscheidungen etc. auf.
Detaillierte und bewegende Naturerlebnisse werden im Zusammen-hang mit historischen Entwicklungen, kulturellen Ereignissen und seiner persönlichen Biografie geschildert.
Der dramatische Verlust an Hecken, Feuchtbiotopen und Ödland und der völlige oder weitestgehende Zusammenbruch der Populationen charakteristischer Vogelspezies der englischen Kulturlandschaft, wie Turteltaube, Neuntöter, Zaunammer oder Feldsperling werden ein-drucksvoll vor Augen geführt.
Dennoch wird der Leser nicht in der Depression zurückgelassen: Die kleinen und wichtigen Erfolge der Arbeit des RSPB und anderer Orga-nisationen geben immer wieder Anlass zu Zuversicht.
Noch ist unser Frühling nicht stumm, aber auf dem Weg dorthin sind wir schon viel zu weit vorangegangen!
Ein in anspruchsvoller Sprache geschriebenes sehr lesenswertes Buch für ruhige Stunden!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hope For The Future, 8 May 2013
This review is from: Silent Spring Revisited (Paperback)
This really is a compelling read. Whether or not we realise it, Rachel Carson's Silent Spring was a huge catalyst for change for the environmental political landscape in the UK and across the pond. Conor Mark Jameson's book shows us just how far we've come since Silent Spring and gives us as much hope for the future as it does food for thought.

Despite what you might expect from a subject that is so grounded in politics and modern history, the book is unassuming and unpretentious. The book is beautifully written, thoroughly entertaining and wonderfully well researched; leaving us in no doubt that Jameson really does know his onions (so to speak). If you are interested in the environment at all (even the tiniest bit) I would encourage you to give this book a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read if you love wildlife, 25 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Silent Spring Revisited (Paperback)
If you care about nature conservation - and you should because it's so inextricably linked with the health and future of our fragile planet - then this is the definitive history of the last five decades of UK Government apathy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 23 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very readable, pulls no punches
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silent Spring Revisited
Silent Spring Revisited by Conor Mark Jameson (Paperback - 11 April 2013)
£7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews