Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing dyscalculia upto date
Really this should be titled 'what you always wanted to know about dyscalculia but didn't know what or how to ask...' - At last a book that not only tells you about the problem - but also what to do about it and gives you the tools to do something about it! Has invaluable resources and appendices - simply miles ahead of what I was using up to now. If like me you think...
Published on 15 Oct 2010 by mr

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts
A good reference but personally I would have liked to see the assessment compacted into a simple test booklet and all of the analysis materials in a manual. As it is, the information is spread out a little too much and the size makes it a little unfriendly.

I good, well thought out and practical tool that is let down by the format.
Published 13 months ago by Mr. A. J. Collins


Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing dyscalculia upto date, 15 Oct 2010
By 
mr (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Really this should be titled 'what you always wanted to know about dyscalculia but didn't know what or how to ask...' - At last a book that not only tells you about the problem - but also what to do about it and gives you the tools to do something about it! Has invaluable resources and appendices - simply miles ahead of what I was using up to now. If like me you think that dyscalculia is 20-30 years behind dyslexia - this assessment book and accompanying brings it bang up to date. You need to spend some time reading through the guide part it particularly if you are new to the problem or SEN children - but guess what - this is a complex matter that deserves some time spent on it and time spent with this book will pay big dividends. It is simply packed with both academic rigor and common sense- a rare thing in education .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dyscalculia Assessment, 17 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Emerson and Babtie's "The Dyscalculia Assessment" is a thorough formative assessment of difficulties with the four arithmetic operations. It gives thorough and clear guidance on how to use it throughout, plus detailed advice on interpretation of the assessment. It also includes a clear, step by step, teaching plan with games and activities, along with information about downloading online resources. I would highly recommend this to any general class, special needs or maths teacher. Buy this assessment along with Ronit Bird's Dyscalculia Toolkit (blue cover) and her Dyscalculia Resource Book (green cover). Ronit's books say they are aimed at 7 - 14 age range but in my opinion key stage 1 teachers would get a lot from the toolkit too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an excellent book, 28 May 2012
This book fills a gap. It is a very thorough assessment of dyscalculia. This important tool will be extremely useful for anyone who wants to help children improve their mathematical skills. All of the building blocks that a child needs to master in order to be successful mathematically are carefully explained. The focus is not only on whether the child's answers are correct; this assessment examines how the child arrives at the answers. Understanding this will enable the teacher or parent to address the real problem. The book includes many learning games and activities that teach the mathematical skills that a child may be missing. As a learning and behaviour specialist I have learned a lot over the years from Jane Emerson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Piece of Mind..., 9 July 2012
... for a parent who is is worried about their child's abilities.. or lack of ... with Maths.

The clear step-by-step instructions with downloadable assessment sheets can help you draw up a Personalised
Learning Plan ... so you can spend more time focused on the real issues and note the steady improvement
gained from the list of teaching tips and strategies.

It even includes games and activities which certainly engaged my son and helped reinforce key numeracy skills for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good reference but personally I would have liked to see the assessment compacted into a simple test booklet and all of the analysis materials in a manual. As it is, the information is spread out a little too much and the size makes it a little unfriendly.

I good, well thought out and practical tool that is let down by the format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 1 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this book because we have a child in the school who has severe problems in maths. We wondered if he was Dyscalculic? This book has tests in it, which can be done by anyone, no special training required. Once the tests are complete you can use the book to interpret the results. It then goes on to suggests games to play to help the child learn the basics and onwards!
I highly recommend this book to all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It looked just the job, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wordy and with so much detail. Not really what I wanted, but Im sure it does a thorough job for those that need the detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great tool for assessing maths problems, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dyscalculia Assessment (Paperback)
Considering the cost of online testing this book is ideal to check if further investigation is required. Only downside is the time it takes to administer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for identifying where the problems are, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dyscalculia Assessment (Paperback)
This book is a really useful resource if you have a student who has been struggling with maths- it helps you know just where the intervention is needed.There are some useful ideas for how to respond to the assessment, great information in the appendices,too. There is a follow on book due out in the Autumn which I hope will be just as good with more strategies for ways forward.A very useful tool. Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dYSCALCULIA aSSESSMENT, 5 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was recommended in an ed psych assessment report, but I didn't find anything new or particularly helpful that I didn't know before. It will probably just sit on the bookshelf and gather dust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dyscalculia Assessment
The Dyscalculia Assessment by Trish Babtie (Paperback - 26 Sep 2013)
£39.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews