Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy Reading Poems for young children
Last weekend I had my 7 year old grand-daughters for a sleep-over. 'Off By Heart', a collection of children's poetry editied by Roger Stevens, was the perfect bed-time reading - easy to read, and often, funny poems caused lots of giggles. I recognised a number from my childhood reading - poems by Robert Louis Stevenson, Edward Lear and Thackery are among those...
Published 19 months ago by Janej

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Some of the "poems" in here are absolute rubbish - especially by the modern writers.
Published 2 months ago by An Owl Age Pensioner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy Reading Poems for young children, 23 July 2013
This review is from: Off By Heart: Poems for Children to Learn and Remember (Paperback)
Last weekend I had my 7 year old grand-daughters for a sleep-over. 'Off By Heart', a collection of children's poetry editied by Roger Stevens, was the perfect bed-time reading - easy to read, and often, funny poems caused lots of giggles. I recognised a number from my childhood reading - poems by Robert Louis Stevenson, Edward Lear and Thackery are among those represented. There are lots of modern poets too - including a comical one by Alan Murphy 'Doggerel' which takes a wee swipe at literary critics!! A collection of his poems Psychosilly is also available on Amazon. The editor, Roger Stevens has the shortest poem, with a very long title - a one word poem entitled 'A Poem That, Despite Being Only One Word Long, Can Sometimes make a Crowd be Quiet and can be Easily Understood by a Baby'!! The book is arranged with the poems gradually getting longer, with the aformentioned poem with 1 line (and word), to the last poem 'The Jumblies' by Edward Lear, with 83 lines.

My one little quibble is that I found the illustrations a bit weak and often without much relevance to the text.

There is an useful section at the back with ''Tips for Learning by Heart and Performing'', which could be very helpful for teachers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars primary, 26 Aug. 2013
By 
Mrs. Lm Popple "lpop" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Off By Heart: Poems for Children to Learn and Remember (Paperback)
a good book to use with my class for them to start learning poetry off by heart
The poems are arranged in number of lines order so they can learn poems with only a few lines and build up to longer and longer poems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fine for general reciting, 11 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Off By Heart: Poems for Children to Learn and Remember (Paperback)
As described, however thought it would contain famous poems. Arrived on time and well packaged. Would like to see more popular poems too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stimulating a love of verse in children, 7 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Off By Heart: Poems for Children to Learn and Remember (Paperback)
Another excellent selection of verse for children. Again, will be using some of the poems in my Drama Board's new examinations syllabus to be published in September 2025.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Glad to have it on our shelf for future use, 16 Jan. 2015
By 
Emma Gillett (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Off By Heart: Poems for Children to Learn and Remember (Paperback)
Some sweet things to learn by heart but I think more pronounced rhymes and rhythms would help in the early stages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 8 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Off By Heart: Poems for Children to Learn and Remember (Paperback)
Some of the "poems" in here are absolute rubbish - especially by the modern writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Off By Heart: Poems for Children to Learn and Remember (Paperback)
xmas present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Off By Heart: Poems for Children to Learn and Remember
Off By Heart: Poems for Children to Learn and Remember by Roger Stevens (Paperback - 6 Jun. 2013)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews