Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The aspiring writer's best friend!
Re-written after several attacks - in the hope of helping the aspiring writer!

Being a product of a British `secondary modern' education system where my English teacher thought `Shakespeare' was something an athlete did with a javelin, there was neither a formal certificate of education nor any advice about what happens after you leave school. Seriously...
Published 9 months ago by Ned Middleton

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a useful starting point but I agree with other comments that ...
It's a useful starting point but I agree with other comments that it's clearly NOT updated every year. At the end of her article on writing features for newspapers and magazines Merope Mills is listed as the Executive Editor of the Saturday Guardian and formerly the editor of the Guardian's Weekend Magazine, yet in The Guardian's listing she is still named as the editor...
Published 8 months ago by CathyP


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The aspiring writer's best friend!, 31 July 2014
By 
Ned Middleton (British professional underwater photo-journalist & author) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Writers' and Artists' Yearbook 2015 (Paperback)
Re-written after several attacks - in the hope of helping the aspiring writer!

Being a product of a British `secondary modern' education system where my English teacher thought `Shakespeare' was something an athlete did with a javelin, there was neither a formal certificate of education nor any advice about what happens after you leave school. Seriously! Consequently, when (many years later) I produced my first book - there were those who actively disapproved. I was serving in the army at the time and one senior officer actually said to me "By what right do you seek to write a book about Scuba Diving?" Nevertheless, in spite of such disapproval, I am now described as an award-winning, best-selling author.

The relevance of my putting this personal slant on this review is that ANY would-be writer can produce a work worthy of being read by strangers (the ultimate test for any book!) provided the drive to see it through remains undiminished. You simply must not allow those wretched detractors to extinguish your own bright shining light of original creativity! Of course, writing it all down is only part of the process and most first-time authors will have no idea what to do next.

Of all the aids which might be described as `the aspiring writer's best friend,' few compare favourably to this one. Aimed primarily at the UK market, this is not just a collection of addresses for book publishers and magazine editors. Instead, it contains almost everything you might need to know when writing for the different categories of; Books, Magazines, Newspapers, Poetry, TV, Film, Radio, Theatre and so forth. The advice given and lists of outlets is then followed by sections on; Literary Agents, Art & Illustration, Societies, Prizes and Festivals, Online, Resources, Copyright & Libel and Finance - all of which combine to cover almost every element of publishing.

The publisher of this work contacts all contributors ever year in a bid to extract accurate and up-to-date information and cannot, therefore, be blamed for those who fail to respond. There are, therefore, imperfections but what you get is as near-perfect as is possible to achieve.

Book publishers also list their own particular areas of expertise. If you write, say, children's fiction there is no point in submitting your work to a publisher who concentrates solely on, say, Greek history (or whatever). Having identified your market, there is also advice on how to present your manuscript and other tips.

Altogether, therefore, we have the widest possible appreciation for the aspiring writer (and artist!) and had I been in possession of a copy some 30+ years ago!, my own particular journey would have been so much smoother!

In short, all you have to do is ask yourself; `Can I afford to be without a copy of this book?' and proceed from there. And, if you are still disheartened, just consider how many times the first Harry Potter novel was rejected!

And good luck.

NM

PS: My first copy was given to me as a Christmas present and I can think of no better gift for any aspiring writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great To Find This Book Available For the Kindle, 7 Nov. 2014
By 
Andrew McCann (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Writers' and Artists' Yearbook has proved to be an invaluable asset to me for over forty years and has initiated many new ways of working at different times, as trends and opportunities have changed.

It is important to note that I do not purchase it every year, my previous edition being the 2009 one, but this serves to provide me with a reasonable overview of the manner in which publishing and related media have changed in recent years.

Although those with more precise information requirements would benefit from purchasing this worthy publication annually, it must be extremely difficult for the publishers to maintain accurate up-to-date content consistently, as it takes considerable time to publish and distribute a book of this nature.

It was particularly pleasing to find the 2015 version available as a Kindle download. The links between the different parts of the book and the Internet make it extremely easy to navigate.

Personally I would like to see regular updates being applied to electronic versions of the book during the course of a year to address the issue of ensuring that it is as up-to-date as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Older over Newer, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writers' and Artists' Yearbook 2015 (Paperback)
As a writer this is a key to helping unlock the doors. Last year I made the bad mistake of buying the kindle version. It was horrible to use and it might be suitable for some, but it wasn't for me. It's great to pick up a book, to feel the pages turn in your fingers and it's much easier to use then the kindle edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a useful starting point but I agree with other comments that ..., 25 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writers' and Artists' Yearbook 2015 (Paperback)
It's a useful starting point but I agree with other comments that it's clearly NOT updated every year. At the end of her article on writing features for newspapers and magazines Merope Mills is listed as the Executive Editor of the Saturday Guardian and formerly the editor of the Guardian's Weekend Magazine, yet in The Guardian's listing she is still named as the editor of the Weekend Magazine. I feel I have to double check all information before contacting someone which makes the purchase a little pointless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 5 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Writers' and Artists' Yearbook 2015 (Paperback)
Excellent book (a family member Xmas gift), a must for all hopeful authors, full of useful tip and information of where to go and what to do to get publishes and also I believe for artists too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 Jan. 2015
By 
This review is from: Writers' and Artists' Yearbook 2015 (Paperback)
Brilliant! I had a copy in the early nineties and rang just about every publisher in London. New one has lots of political angles which will help you negotiate around the BBC and the agents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended., 5 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writers' and Artists' Yearbook 2015 (Paperback)
I have been using this important Yearbook for some years. I find it most helpful
as it gives up-to-date information every time. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is as good today as it has always been, 14 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writers' and Artists' Yearbook 2015 (Paperback)
This is as good today as it has always been. I have one from every decade. I still didn't get my book published but that is down to my own laziness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT completely revised and updated as claimed!, 7 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writers' and Artists' Yearbook 2015 (Paperback)
I buy this book every year (though I’m beginning to wonder why).

I also work for one of the publishers listed. It’s not a small or obscure publisher – it turns over hundreds of millions of pounds a year and has five different offices up and down the UK (plus one in Ireland and one in the Netherlands).

To check the claim that this book is “completely revised and updated every year” I keep an eye on my company’s listing, and am disappointed to find that every year they keep republishing (and charging me for) the same out-of-date information that hasn’t been correct since 2010.

We’ve now been through FOUR managing directors since the one listed here, and the Editorial Director listed hasn’t been with the company since 2010.

So what does “completely revised and updated” mean? It certainly doesn’t seem to mean that the information has been checked for accuracy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 20 Dec. 2014
By 
Paul Power "Paul" (Chichester, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writers' and Artists' Yearbook 2015 (Paperback)
Up to its usual high standards packed full of essential information and contact details along with some great essays and 'how-to' features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Writers' and Artists' Yearbook 2015
Writers' and Artists' Yearbook 2015 by Www Writersandartists Co Uk (Paperback - 3 July 2014)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews