Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My comments remain similar to those given to earlier editions!
I am a product of that old British `Sec Mod' educational system which provided no formal qualifications whatsoever - not even a certificate of education. Consequently, when (many years later) I sat down to write my first book - people laughed. I was serving in the army at the time and writing about a subject (scuba diving) in which I was very proficient, highly qualified...
Published 11 months ago by Ned Middleton

versus
35 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Out of date last year and even more out of date now
You've got to wonder how much research they actually do for this thing.

I noticed in the 2013 edition that the information for the publisher I work for had been wrong since 2010. Received the 2014 edition this morning to find that it STILL contains the same incorrect information as last year! We've had three different managing directors since the one listed...
Published 13 months ago by Pseudo


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My comments remain similar to those given to earlier editions!, 2 Sep 2013
By 
Ned Middleton (British professional underwater photo-journalist & author) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2014 (Writers' and Artists') (Paperback)
I am a product of that old British `Sec Mod' educational system which provided no formal qualifications whatsoever - not even a certificate of education. Consequently, when (many years later) I sat down to write my first book - people laughed. I was serving in the army at the time and writing about a subject (scuba diving) in which I was very proficient, highly qualified and widely experienced and one senior officer actually said to me "By what right do you seek to write a book about Scuba Diving?" Now, thirty years on, I was recently described as and award-winning, best-selling author.

YOU can do the same if YOUR drive to write is strong enough and, if it is, you should read all the reviews for this work (good and bad!) and then ask yourself this single question: `Can I afford to be without a copy of this book?'

This work is not just a collection of addresses for various book publishers and magazine editors. Instead, it contains almost everything you might need to know when contemplating writing for the very different categories of; Newspapers, Magazines, Books, Poetry, TV, Film, Radio, Theatre et al. The advice given and lists of outlets in each of those areas is then followed by sections on; Literary Agents, Art & Illustration, Societies, Prizes and Festivals, Online, Resources, Copyright & Libel and Finance. Altogether, the wide ranging degree of helpful advice covers almost every element of the publishing world.

Certainly, if you already have a copy of last year's edition you will find few changes but consider this; The publisher contacts each contributor every year in a bid to ascertain the most up-to-date information for inclusion and every year several of these fail to update their own particular entry. The book is not, therefore, perfect but it is the best there is - by far.

Leaving aside those lists of potential outlets for your work, there are many lessons to be learned from within. If like me, for example, you write books aimed at the scuba diver, there is no point in submitting your work to a publisher who concentrates solely on, say, religious architecture (or whatever). Having identified their specific market, the writer must also learn how to present a manuscript (A4 paper, double spaced typing with a 3 mm margin all round). In other words, that prospective publisher is saying; "Do it my way and I may get around to reading it but, irritate me, and I can't be bothered!"

Nobody in the world knows all there is to know about the complicated subject of publishing. This book, however, will give the writer - most especially the aspiring writer (and artist!), the widest possible appreciation of what is involved and had I been in possession of a copy - 30 years ago!, my own particular journey would have been so much smoother!

Now consider this review alongside all those others - and ASK yourself that question!

And good luck.

NM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 May 2014
By 
nicola power (Firenze, Italy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is invaluable to any writer of anything, if you want to publish. This book gives advice on how to present your writing, which agents and publishers to go to, it is extra encouragement for those a bit shy of publishing their first book or prose whether fiction, autobiography, biography or poetry. I would never have attempted to publish without this book. I am a new writer but I have been writing for 20 years without publishing. This book gave me the impetus to start to seek out agents and publishers and to enter my first competition. If you don't have an up to date volume of this book, don't bother with the library's out of date copy because if you get the name of the editor wrong because it's out of date you could find your work in the bin. Please always consult this book when contacting agents and publishers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for magazine & newspaper writers, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2014 (Writers' and Artists') (Paperback)
This book is perfect for finding a list of magazines and newspapers to contact about writing work, and also film companies to approach with screenplays and ideas for a series (my big dream!)

The book is well laid out, and it's simple to navigate between different sections. It seems very geared up towards self-publishing, which of course is the new Gold Rush, but there's still a lot for those of us interested in writing for print publications as well as online.

I would definitely recommend it to any style of writer, especially authors (self-pubbers will pick up some tricks), and magazine and newspaper writers looking to broaden their client base by reaching out to prospective new publications.

It even offers tips on how to market yourself, how to pitch an idea, and what not to do. Very useful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have, 21 Oct 2013
This review is from: Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2014 (Writers' and Artists') (Paperback)
The Writers and Artists Yearbook is widely regarded as an essential tool for everyone wishing to pursue a writing career.
Excellent reference book. Great value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, as Usual!, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2014 (Writers' and Artists') (Paperback)
I've been buying this book for years, and I'm never disappointed. It's like a writer's bible. It's cram full of everything you need to know, especially when it comes to 'how to do things properly'. All the rules, guidelines, tips and guides to writing are there. A wealth of Publishers, whether it be a novel, or tv and radio. And, of course, it's not just for writers, but artists, and photographers. I would definately recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Writers' and Artists Year Book 2014, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2014 (Writers' and Artists') (Paperback)
An essential companion for anyone who wants to see their writing published this book lists newspapers and magazines that buy and publish articles, not only in Britain but in all major countries. Also listing publishers of books and a guide to self publishing no writer can be without it
Also containing sections on subjects of interest to writers such as legal requirements and how to maintain your accounts this book is a great help
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Writer's Essential reference book, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an essential advice and reference book for any writer who wishes to develop the craft and market their work. Published annually to ensure that writers receive the most up-to-date information available. The book is quite big and bulky. So I am particularly pleased with the Kindle edition which means I can dip in and out at my leisure and pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An indispensable guide to all aspiring artists, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2014 (Writers' and Artists') (Paperback)
As an aspiring fantasy novelist, this book served as a true insight into the publishing world and what sort of competition actually exists. It even goes as far as the incorporate online ways in which to promote yourself as a novelist, which many aspiring writers don't seem to realise how important it is to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only book for Artists & Writers, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2014 (Writers' and Artists') (Paperback)
Everything you need to know in one book gave all the tips & links to everything I needed to know for Illustrating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2014 (Writers' and Artists') (Paperback)
Some fantastic information. The list of contacts, companies and events is invaluable and the articles are very informative and have helped me tremendously in deciding how to publish my book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2014 (Writers' and Artists')
Used & New from: 5.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews